Posted (edited)

Very excited for tonight, but also feeling slightly sick with nerves.

I'm missing next weeks game because I'm overseas for work, so here's hoping we win tonight and I feel ever more annoyed about missing out next week.

I think tonight will prove once and for all if a strong winning midfield (hopefully ours), can compensate for a poor forward line.

Edited by Jaded

Posted

Not worried abt the forward line so much, its up to the mids I reckon these days

, Essendon had not much of a forward line last night and won well.

Posted

Notice Georgiou on the bench i wonder if he might play forward at times..

Might be the sub?

Posted

Might be the sub?

A KPD as a sub? Yeah, nah..

JKH will be the sub. Would prefer it to be Byrnes though.

Posted

Someone posted this on the Melbourne facebook page "St. Kilda are gonna Roos. They are Gawners, will not be able to get it Dunn against such an inVinceable team. Howe Cross their fans will be."

I found it pretty funny :)

Posted

A KPD as a sub? Yeah, nah..

JKH will be the sub. Would prefer it to be Byrnes though.

Hopefully Roos pulls the trigger early.

Posted

Excited, nervous, can't wait.

Georgiou has spent no time with forwards or mids during all the preseason training sessions. He is a backman at SANFL level, recruited to booster our backline, has played all preseason down back and will play backline tonight.

Posted

Predictions as to who gets the votes?

i reckon

3. Bernie Vince

2. Jack Trengove

1. Jeremy Howe

Posted

Excited, nervous, can't wait.

Georgiou has spent no time with forwards or mids during all the preseason training sessions. He is a backman at SANFL level, recruited to booster our backline, has played all preseason down back and will play backline tonight.

I'm sure

I'm concerned that the Sainters will come out hard, but I think they'll run out of legs before the end.

Posted (edited)

Reading the Geelong Advertiser yesterday and told the missus how much things have suddenly changed as 9 out of their 10 tipsters picked Demons to win. She asked who tipped against us. It was Mark Neeld.

Edited by Daryl Keith
Posted

Reading the Geelong Advertiser yesterday and told the missus how much things have suddenly changed as 9 out of their 10 tipsters picked Demons to win. She asked who tipped against us. It was Mark Neeld.

HAHAHAHAHHAHA OH MY GOD!

Posted

What a pathetic bloke. We gave him an opportunity that millions would dream of, and I bet he feels hard done by. Truth is he just wasn't good enough.

I had respect for him having a crack until I've read that. Seems he blames everyone but himself for making the worst football team in history... Pity

Posted

he's still trying to motivate us.

Posted

Surely not?

Posted

The side picked is exactly the side I would have picked based on available players. Its not the best in name but it is the best based on fitness and filling the required roles of the side.

I go tonight confident. I go expecting to win and win well. Leaving with a loss will not be satisfactory under any circumstance. If we adhere to a consistent level of good intensity and adherence to the game plan the result will look after itself.

GO DEE's. Give em hell.

Posted

The side picked is exactly the side I would have picked based on available players. Its not the best in name but it is the best based on fitness and filling the required roles of the side.

I go tonight confident. I go expecting to win and win well. Leaving with a loss will not be satisfactory under any circumstance. If we adhere to a consistent level of good intensity and adherence to the game plan the result will look after itself.

GO DEE's. Give em hell.

If we win well, we may even end up top of the ladder momentarily. Now that would be a nice boost for membership!

Posted

The Toump will 100% be selected (and not as a sub). If you are in any doubt about that listen to this interview with Jack Grimes on SEN, during which (from 10.42) he is asked about Watts, The Toump and Viney. He gives them all a wrap but in a nutshell he says about The Toump (paraphrasing):

'he would have been in the top couple over the preseason in terms of form and consistency - he'd be a walk up start for round 1 i reckon and he's earnt a lot of respect over the pre season'

Now all he has to do is get his hands on the footy during a game and show all the doubters right?

Posted

Mate, you need to get out more, and stop worrying so much!

No I just need the game to start, so I stop dribbling

Posted

If we win well, we may even end up top of the ladder momentarily. Now that would be a nice boost for membership!

I chose to live in the moment!!

Posted

Gary Lyon certainly rates Jimmy Toumpas, suggesting in todays Age " For Jimmy Toumpas to continue to develop and showcase his skills under pressure"

Yep, well lets hope so!

I will be watching for signs of this.

Posted

Gary Lyon certainly rates Jimmy Toumpas, suggesting in todays Age " For Jimmy Toumpas to continue to develop and showcase his skills under pressure"

Yep, well lets hope so!

I will be watching for signs of this.

I think the Toump will be fine, he hasn't even started his 2nd season yet. however I'd like to see him spend more time developing in the 2's.

Posted

Having Roos in charge will guarantee Toump develops well and I'm confident he will blossom into the role.

The Watts and Trengoves of the team have been poorly developed like all our high draft picks, and hopefully Roos can finally unlock their full potential.