Neeld's other legacy

Posted

This deserves it's own thread because I have something positive to say about Mark Neeld and so many other threads are being sidetracked with people blackening his name (often with good reason).

I know from talking to players that he was wrong for many of them and wrong for our club. Maybe he listened too closely to Mad Mick, but in any event he came in with all guns blazing and shot himself and the club and us in the foot.

But...three things he did should stand us in good stead: he won us Mitch Clark and he backed up with Chris Dawes. If fitness and good health follow these two will be lasting positives for us.

Third: he sacrificed a big part of his first draft to warehouse Jesse Hogan. That was the act of a man putting the good of the club before his immediate benefit. We should acknowledge that and pay due credit.

Now I'll just reach for my umbrella to shield myself from the s#*@ storm to follow...

I think you are safe...it depends on whether WYL has taken his tablets today....and it doesn't mention *******Cam Schwab*******

Oh No But you just did!

This deserves it's own thread because I have something positive to say about Mark Neeld and so many other threads are being sidetracked with people blackening his name (often with good reason).

I know from talking to players that he was wrong for many of them and wrong for our club. Maybe he listened too closely to Mad Mick, but in any event he came in with all guns blazing and shot himself and the club and us in the foot.

But...three things he did should stand us in good stead: he won us Mitch Clark and he backed up with Chris Dawes. If fitness and good health follow these two will be lasting positives for us.

Third: he sacrificed a big part of his first draft to warehouse Jesse Hogan. That was the act of a man putting the good of the club before his immediate benefit. We should acknowledge that and pay due credit.

Now I'll just reach for my umbrella to shield myself from the s#*@ storm to follow...

frabz-brace-yourself-35b62d.jpg

I can see what your saying but as you pointed out, Clark and Dawes so far have been injury prone and hardly have played. We gave up pick 12 for Clark and pick 20 for Dawes.

On Hogan its too early to say. Hasn't played an AFL game yet even though he has showed real talent at VFL level the step up from that league to AFL level is HUGE. We did give up pick 3 for him which would have nabbed us Ollie Wines. Wines, Viney and Toumpas would have been a pretty handy onball unit as well.

Unfortunately the negatives far outweighs the positives with Neeld. The problem was Mclardy, Schwab and Lyon told Neeld to give the boys a good kick up the ass when he was appointed, which wasn't Neelds caliber. He tried to be someone he wasn't and that gets shown out big time to players. Why would players listern to a bloke trying to be a hardass when he was a [censored] as a player.

I can see what your saying but as you pointed out, Clark and Dawes so far have been injury prone and hardly have played. We gave up pick 12 for Clark and pick 20 for Dawes.

On Hogan its too early to say. Hasn't played an AFL game yet even though he has showed real talent at VFL level the step up from that league to AFL level is HUGE. We did give up pick 3 for him which would have nabbed us Ollie Wines. Wines, Viney and Toumpas would have been a pretty handy onball unit as well.

Unfortunately the negatives far outweighs the positives with Neeld. The problem was Mclardy, Schwab and Lyon told Neeld to give the boys a good kick up the ass when he was appointed, which wasn't Neelds caliber. He tried to be someone he wasn't and that gets shown out big time to players. Why would players listern to a bloke trying to be a hardass when he was a [censored] as a player.

Picks 12 and 20 under previous Melbourne recruiting teams would have delivered less games than what Clark and Dawes have played. That said, when those picks were given up, no one knew Clark would get struck down like he did (people have very quickly forgotten the form he showed over the first part of 2012) and Dawes adds a professionalism to the playing group not seen for a long time. The games he got on the park he showed he is a worthwhile investment, and we should back our clubs fitness team to get them right. I see a lot of criticism at jamar for having a "flash in the pan" season warranting all Australian form, let's hope that the injury riddled seasons are a "flash in the pan" in contrast to a long prosperous and healthy career to both these players.

On Hogan its too early to say. Hasn't played an AFL game yet even though he has showed real talent at VFL level the step up from that league to AFL level is HUGE. We did give up pick 3 for him which would have nabbed us Ollie Wines. Wines, Viney and Toumpas would have been a pretty handy onball unit as well..............AAAAAHHHHHH......you have watched him play live, yes or at training.......mate if he plays I reckon a Rising Star nomination in the first 5 rounds..

I am satisfied with the drafting/trading during Neeld's tenure. The old hacks he bought in cost us no more than a spot on the list, so while they weren't a success, they didn't set us back.

On Hogan its too early to say. Hasn't played an AFL game yet even though he has showed real talent at VFL level the step up from that league to AFL level is HUGE. We did give up pick 3 for him which would have nabbed us Ollie Wines. Wines, Viney and Toumpas would have been a pretty handy onball unit as well..............AAAAAHHHHHH......you have watched him play live, yes or at training.......mate if he plays I reckon a Rising Star nomination in the first 5 rounds..

I don't give a [censored] about Rising star nominations. And your obsessions of getting defensive with players is seriously getting beyond the joke Saty

And of course I have seen him play live and he looked brilliant and will be a star! But we will have still deal with scrutiny of Freo and West Coast knocking on his door all the time especially with Freo in need of key forwards with Pav nearly gone. I really do hope he signs that 5 year deal soon..

I would add that he got the list a lot fitter and improved the professionalism of training. Roos will reap the reward of that work.

Also by being such a hard ass and seemingly overseeing an atmosphere where there was not a great deal of fun the players will get a short term shot of relief and revitalization, that again Roos will reap the benefit of.

Also, whilst i know its not in the spirit of the thread, it has to be said if were not for how dismal his time was the AFL would not have stepped in and got us Jackson and therefore no Roos (not to mention 2-3 players)

Of course there were some gains under Neeld...(on paper anyway)

In theory Mitch Clark and Chris Dawes were solid Pick ups...They both must play next year to be a good investment though.

Hogan should be a beauty.....That goes for Toumpas as well.

I am still worried about all these decisions though....They are all IFS.

The Good clubs get value and results.

I do not take tablets Satry

So far nothing to worry your umbrella!

OD I know you are a real MN and CS fan LOL

But what in Gods name is this thread all about?

If recruit goods players who can not actually play is the path way to success, could someone give Roos a jumper and get him on the list.

And Jess Hogan who played Zero games at this time may well become a champion. But he could also not be good enough at AFL level. Only time and playing AFL games will tell us.

IMO Mr Neeld was the worst coach ever for this club.

n

OD I know you are a real MN and CS fan LOL

But what in Gods name is this thread all about?

If recruit goods players who can not actually play is the path way to success, could someone give Roos a jumper and get him on the list.

And Jess Hogan who played Zero games at this time may well become a champion. But he could also not be good enough at AFL level. Only time and playing AFL games will tell us.

IMO Mr Neeld was the worst coach ever for this club.

n

Hmm almost agree with you. However I guy called jones would give him a run for his money

I think you are safe...it depends on whether WYL has taken his tablets today....and it doesn't mention *******Cam Schwab*******

Of course there were some gains under Neeld...(on paper anyway)

In theory Mitch Clark and Chris Dawes were solid Pick ups...They both must play next year to be a good investment though.

Hogan should be a beauty.....That goes for Toumpas as well.

I am still worried about all these decisions though....They are all IFS.

The Good clubs get value and results.

I do not take tablets Satry

no tablets

just the spikey mcviegh blurter injection?

no tablets

just the spikey mcviegh blurter injection?

hasn't he gone quiet thankfully.

Your point? Or was it just attempted humour?

Neeld may have done some spade work but as has been said on here before, the negatives clearly outweighed the positives.

Thanks to the OP for bringing out the usual suspects.

The wortht offender theems to have gone mything

Lets give credit where credit is due, we would not have Roos if it was not for Neeld.

Or MM,CS,DB,GL,AFL,&PJ!

Oh....and of course Neeld should have had a premonition that Clark would suffer a rare foot injury (after being a the dominant forward to date, one of the best we have had in recent years)....what a moron for not having predicted this.

(Like ND should have known that Luke Molan would break his leg and bugger up his shoulder).

Thanks to the OP for bringing out the usual suspects.

If you are referring to me, it's not a case of being negative for negative's sakes.

Too often on here, bogus versions of history too often take precedence. The biggest ones that annoy me are:

1) Neale Daniher destroyed the club. (I tend to agree with you that he stayed too long but he was a good, not great, coach)

2) Cameron Schwab is/was hard done by.

3) Tanking really was a great idea and all the journalists who called us out on it are arrogant flogs with barely two brain cells to rub together. (However, I didn't like how Caro pursued us during the investigation as she seemed to take things way too personally and was way too self righteous).

4) The Neeld era really wasn't a rolled gold disaster.

To be fair, pitmaster wasn't suggesting it was a success but as far as I am concerned, the records needs to be kept straight at all times so this bogus history will not take root again. Did Neeld do some good things? Yeah but those good things are like finding the odd curio or antique after a house fire. They help ease the pain but they don't change the fact your house has burnt down

Cameron Scheab was not hard done by. He recieved 2 contracts after 186.

He did very nicely.

Cameron Scheab was not hard done by. He recieved 2 contracts after 186.

He did very nicely.

Read my post again WYL.