Posted

Just read this article in the Herald Sun about Paul Roos upsetting Sydney because of trying to lure young swans academy players. Lloyd Perris etc.

Personally I love this, this shows to me Roos is 100% committed to the Dees and will do anything needed to make us a formidable outfit again.

I know ppl will say of course he is 100% committed but I personally thought he still had a soft spot for the swans and would steer clear of them for that reason.

Also shows he isn't afraid of poaching swans players, staff etc.

Thoughts??

Personally, Thumbs up Roosy ???

Sydney chairman Richard Colless slams Paul Roos for trying to lure emerging Swans prospects

• Like 19

Posted

Haha i believe Roos has a complete hatred for Colless! would be a bargain if we could land Perris.

Legal rights my ass!

Posted

Wow... Colless reckons;

- talking to an undrafted kid in an effort to convince him to enter the general draft (not some kind of direct poaching) rather than being committed to a single club where he would be behind ten other similar types of players

would ruin the legacy of

- transforming a club and driving it to it's first premiership in it's present incarnation, establishing a resilient high-performance culture and graciously stepping aside for a carefully developed assistant in possibly the smoothest coaching succession in the history of the game

A-grade hysteria from a habitual sook. Moving on...

Posted

If Colless is angry now imagine how he will be when we undercut them and take Lloyd Perris in the draft before they get a chance LOL

Loving it

Posted

So Colless reckons "taking players from the academy he has helped build is an absolute breach of protocol and a gentleman’s agreement".

I reckon not aiming for the best available would be an absolute breach of his contract as senior coach the Melbourne for the next two years.

Toughen up Princess Colless!!

Posted (edited)

The wheel is turning.

Other clubs are starting to hate us.

Imagine how much worse its gunna get if we actually perform on the paddock.

I am actually starting to enjoy being a Dees supporter again.

Onward and upward.

Edited by DemonOX
Posted

LOL

Really starting to love the Roos!

:ph34r: :ph34r: :ph34r: :ph34r:

Posted

It's laughable.

We have AFL officials and club presidents travelling on expensive overseas junkets supposedly to study methods to make their competition more even. The first thing they do on return is to fight against proposals that would help equalise the competition and maintain the status quo of inequality.

They rail against an idea that half the clubs have taken advantage of over the past decade (two even won premierships) on the basis that they compromise the recruiting system but when a club approaches an 18 year old legitimately to seek placement in an open draft (and away from a position that heavily compromises the draft), this Richard Colless squeals like a stick pig.

I didn't hear him whine, complain or even open his mouth when the AFL conspired with another club (heavily supported financially by ... well, er ... the AFL) to poach a teenage first draft pick when he was finishing off his first season away from Melbourne with obscene offers that we had absolutely no chance of matching. Then we're told we wasted previous priority picks (he was one of them) so we don't deserve further assistance when we're down.

Go for it Paul Roos and, as for you Colless, all I can say for now is "go Dockers".

Posted

544887_thumb.png

"so Lloyd, how stoked are you that you will be playing for me at the mighty Demons?"

"shhh. Mr Colless is just over there"

Posted

And Colless is NOT gonna be happy when George Stone comes on board. He really ain't gonna like the Dees at all!

Posted

Roos started the Swans academy. For the the reason of labelling future targets and putting on a scholarship that no other clubs can touch. Brilliant.

Doesn't stop him from convincing the elite of them to join the draft so his new club can take him. "Priceless".

So the Demon academy starts when Paul? This is where our Building the Future Fund money should go. Getting a batch of talented youngsters on scholarship that don't have to go in the draft.

Keep them all to ourselves and screw the rest. Beautiful

I wonder when the AFL will close the loop hole when a Victorian club starts doing it.

I LOVE YOU ROOSY

Posted

It's a professional sports industry, people get poached, coaches players it's just what happens

you'd think old mate would have more to worry about like the fact they're playing imo the best team in the comp in perth tonight and it's gunna be a struggle.

Posted

It's laughable.

We have AFL officials and club presidents travelling on expensive overseas junkets supposedly to study methods to make their competition more even. The first thing they do on return is to fight against proposals that would help equalise the competition and maintain the status quo of inequality.

They rail against an idea that half the clubs have taken advantage of over the past decade (two even won premierships) on the basis that they compromise the recruiting system but when a club approaches an 18 year old legitimately to seek placement in an open draft (and away from a position that heavily compromises the draft), this Richard Colless squeals like a stick pig.

I didn't hear him whine, complain or even open his mouth when the AFL conspired with another club (heavily supported financially by ... well, er ... the AFL) to poach a teenage first draft pick when he was finishing off his first season away from Melbourne with obscene offers that we had absolutely no chance of matching. Then we're told we wasted previous priority picks (he was one of them) so we don't deserve further assistance when we're down.

Go for it Paul Roos and, as for you Colless, all I can say for now is "go Dockers".

I agree Jack ............ and Colless doesn't seem too keen to relinquish the $900,000 cost of living dispensation (read 'salary cap rort') graciously handed to the Swans each year by the AFL.

Posted

I agree Jack ............ and Colless doesn't seem too keen to relinquish the $900,000 cost of living dispensation (read 'salary cap rort') graciously handed to the Swans each year by the AFL.

Just what I was thinking. That $900,000 is about their ability to buy a better standard of player, thus keeping Sydney in the top rank of clubs as continued assurance for the game in New South Wales. What it's NOT about is cost of living, or equality.