The Successor

There are a lot of candidates worth talking to.

Burns Tudor Ling Black Simpson.

If Sumich gets the Eagles job then the Succession plan would be right up Burns alley.

Similarly for Tudor & Simpson depending on who gets the Lions job.

Ling or Black as Mid Field coaches. They could wait in the wings if the succession plan goes awry.

Either way there is a lot of talent out there.

I wouldn't consider a senior coach as understudy to ROOS.

Once a head coach. They have too many ideas set in stone.

So forget Voss, Ratten, Williams, Craig etc..

Edited by Chippy

Adam Simpson doesnt excite me

and if he wore short shorts?

I am probably the only person in the extended Melbourne Football Club community who is a little underwhelmed with the Roos appointment. Had we got him for 5 years I'd be happier, but can't shake the feeling that he's not really committed to this and has been persuaded by the AFL and money to have a 'hit and run' go at fixing the enormous problems with the club. Personally would have preferred Williams who I feel would have made a big commitment to turning around the ship in a meaningful and lasting way (and who also has a very good record as a coach).

Given the path we are taking, the choice of successor will determine the success or failure. I believe a couple of criteria the MFC need to tick off in a future coach are:-

1. Has been part of team success either as a player or coach.

2. Has demonstrated in their own football career that they have been able to extract the most out of their ability.

My wishlist would be topped by Cameron Ling who ticks off the above 2 points no problems. My second choice is one that I haven't heard talked about, but Darren Milburn I believe is currently an assistant at Adelaide and would be a perfect candidate for the role. I always hated him as a player, but he was ruthless, successful and always gave it everything. I reckon he has the sort of personality that could extract ultimate effort out of a group.

I am probably the only person in the extended Melbourne Football Club community who is a little underwhelmed with the Roos appointment. Had we got him for 5 years I'd be happier, but can't shake the feeling that he's not really committed to this and has been persuaded by the AFL and money to have a 'hit and run' go at fixing the enormous problems with the club. Personally would have preferred Williams who I feel would have made a big commitment to turning around the ship in a meaningful and lasting way (and who also has a very good record as a coach).

Given the path we are taking, the choice of successor will determine the success or failure. I believe a couple of criteria the MFC need to tick off in a future coach are:-

2. Has demonstrated in their own football career that they have been able to extract the most out of their ability.

My wishlist would be topped by Cameron Ling who ticks off the above 2 points no problems. My second choice is one that I haven't heard talked about, but Darren Milburn I believe is currently an assistant at Adelaide and would be a perfect candidate for the role. I always hated him as a player, but he was ruthless, successful and always gave it everything. I reckon he has the sort of personality that could extract ultimate effort out of a group.

Watch our members, sponsors and overall attractiveness as a club go BOOM under Roos and you will change your mind, would be willing to bet we get 40k members in 2014, i for one am upgrading my membership for next year because of it

Your choice of Williams over Roos would place you in the minority group, rufus, but your are entitled to your opinion.

Unlike Roos, Williams has two distinct personalities, one of which borders on irrational, if not 'crazy'. We'd be unlucky enough to get 'crazy' Williams.

Watch our members, sponsors and overall attractiveness as a club go BOOM under Roos and you will change your mind, would be willing to bet we get 40k members in 2014, i for one am upgrading my membership for next year because of it

Yep that is certainly true. I am glad the club is going to see a boost in memberships and sponsorship's as a result of the signing. Without that happening, our chances of survival were getting shaky. The Roos signing buys us some time, but we need to see some genuine and long term changes to the attitude of our playing group. Fingers crossed Roos has enough time and we have someone of quality to take over from him and continue to drive it forward. If our players slip back into the level of non competitiveness and general ineptitude they have displayed over the last five or so seasons they will kill our club eventually.

Interesting thought Darren Milburn, who with Ling are obviously graduates of the right 'culture', and success. I would still be putting my money on Brett Kirk however. Are there any other ex-players from Roos Swans era that are coaching 'staffers' at other clubs? Kirk was captain at the Swans, has years of the Roos ethos in his makeup already, and is clearly very close with Roos. I would naturally assume he's the first one to think of.

Also, is age, or lack of, a factor with a successor?

Adam Simpson doesnt excite me

I agree ... beige as beige

i dont know if he has the manic obsessiveness like lyon longmire and clarko et al.

meat and 3 veg

I dont think you are alone...quite a few here questioning the quik fix 'succession' plan. How can a prince succeed the throne without having it?

At this stage there's not a lot to go on. But Roos did say that he guaranteed success, if it didn't happen during his tenure as head coach, then it would happen with his successor. He also mentioned that there's the possibility of him staying on, in some capacity, beyond his term as head coach.

Yes I know it's just talk from one press conference. But Roos seems like the kind of guy who genuinely means what he says, if we're not on track by the time his contract finishes, I fully expect him to stick around to make sure we become as successful as possible.

Get excited mate, Simpson is a great get if we pull it off, he would be perfect to work with our young midfield

id love him as midfield coach

I as talking about him being our next head coach after Roos, that doesnt excite me

I agree ... beige as beige

i dont know if he has the manic obsessiveness like lyon longmire and clarko et al.

meat and 3 veg

Unsure what manic obsessiveness Longmire has? To me he seems reasonably cool and calm and at times that might be an advantage. Footy is an unpredictable game, adding complex structures therefore is in a lot of ways illogical.

I personally think Simpson would bring a very good mix of fire and composure and would also combine the Clarkson game plan with the Roos game plan. That's a pretty nice mix.

He'd also be the midfield coach for 2-3 years until he became the head coach. That's the most positive thing of the succession plan, the CFO who's across all the most important aspects then becomes the CEO and the company continues without missing a beat.

Roos may stick around the club after the 3 years in another capacity.

Does that make more whelmed?

Is there any word on what qualifies a player or assistant to be a likely coach?

I'd love Captain Kirk to be the successor simply for the romance and symetry of it, but have no idea if he can actually coach well at this level... Is he?

And why are people saying Ling would be a good coach?

Edited by PaulRB

I'd love Captain Kirk to be the successor simply for the romance and symetry of it, but have no idea if he can actually coach well at this level... Is he?

1. Drive to do it.

2. Played in the spirit you want players to play

3. A clear communicator

4. The perfect combination or ruthlessness and compassion

5. A teacher who understands fundamentals

6. Belief in yourself, an ego but understated

7. Less relevant for the senior assistant but a game plan and if really lucky an innovation that works

Everyone thinks Ling would be a great coach because he fits most of those categories and even more he's a premiership captain.

But he won't take the job because he fails point 1. Right now he wants to keep doing media and running his pubs. And good luck to him

I wonder how many people wouldn't have been underwhelmed by Clarkson, Lyon or Longmire as coaches immediately following their playing careers.

None had done anything that made them jump out as potential coaches during their playing days.

Simpson is much the same.

The fact he is so highly rated as an assistant has me completely "whelmed", because it doesnt seem based on a preconception from his playing days. Rather people see him as beige.

Clarkson, an ex-Melbourne midfielder has done well at Hawthorn and didn't Todd Viney also play a role under his watch before heading to Adelaide? Is Todd completely out of the question? At least Melbourne was never embaressed by his midfield perfomance as a player [or his leadership qualities]?

Brett Kirk is an assistant coach at Freo under Ross Lyon, so maintaining the Roos connection.

Clarkson, an ex-Melbourne midfielder has done well at Hawthorn and didn't Todd Viney also play a role under his watch before heading to Adelaide? Is Todd completely out of the question? At least Melbourne was never embaressed by his midfield perfomance as a player [or his leadership qualities]?

Todd is completely out of the question. Apart from anything else his son is playing at the club.

Jr McDonald??

I have a feeling Voss could be right in the hot seat here............

I hope so.

I hope so.

Nup!