Posted

Spoke to a current player today , he said Mitchie will start at Casey.

New players to come in to the team he thinks are :

Cross - absolutely flying

Vince - really good

Tyson - doing well

Hogan - gun

Clark - foot is fine, hamstrings struggling because of extended lay off.

Well that's disappointing for Michie if this is in fact what he's been told. To say there's no chance of him playing round 1 when we're 7 weeks out must be depressing. What if he tears it up in the NAB and practice games?

Just doesn't add up.

Posted

Is that an indication that we won't be seeing Michie during the practice games?

I can't imagine he'll miss round one if he shows good form throughout the pre-season games... Unless of course this player knows something he didn't share with you about Michie. Perhaps he's injured?

Care to share who the player was?

Not injured, just seemed to think that he is doing ok and will most likely start at Casey.

He may be wrong , Mitchie may get his chance in the practice matches and do really well

Time will tell....

Posted

Well that's disappointing for Michie if this is in fact what he's been told. To say there's no chance of him playing round 1 when we're 7 weeks out must be depressing. What if he tears it up in the NAB and practice games?

Just doesn't add up.

No one said that Mitchie was told he is no chance for round 1 , do not try and mis quote me, the player I spoke to today said he thinks Mitchie will start at Casey , that is his opinion he may be wrong...

Posted

No one said that Mitchie was told he is no chance for round 1 , do not try and mis quote me, the player I spoke to today said he thinks Mitchie will start at Casey , that is his opinion he may be wrong...

I like your report GiG, but in all fairness to McQueen, you did post it as a definitive statement (no "thinks"): "Spoke to a current player today , he said Mitchie will start at Casey."

Posted

I like your report GiG, but in all fairness to McQueen, you did post it as a definitive statement (no "thinks"): "Spoke to a current player today , he said Mitchie will start at Casey."

Exactly "he said" the coach didn't say, anyway just trying to share some info. Next time I won't bother ...

Posted

I am confident that Roos will start Round 1 with the best midfielders at his disposal. possibly the best time to judge their relative worth is when they all play at Casey on the same day in the practice math[es] which has Box hill Hawks vs the Scorpions followed by the Dees vs the Hawks.

Posted

Exactly "he said" the coach didn't say, anyway just trying to share some info. Next time I won't bother ...

You're misquoting yourself mate.

Lighten TFU.

Posted

I would hate to go through life always requiring proof before I believed.

I think after 7 yrs of very below average performances (and I am being very kind) and the some of the quality recruiting u cannot blame any Dees supporter for requiring a little "less talk more action".

Posted

No one ever mis quotes on Demonland GG!!!

Geez

Posted

Saw him at Falls a few weeks back. He's a big unit, has a great size on him and really stands out in a crowd.

Hoping he has a huge influence at our clubs, I think he'll kill it.

Falls Festival? Or maybe Falls Creek, working on MFC's stereotype come winter??

There's a reason Freo wanted to keep him.

Then why only one game?

Injury -> lack of preparation, and something we haven't had for goodness knows how long, a stable and settled, successful, mature midfield.

Posted

Viv will be a huge get for MFC. I followed him at Peel and he was double teamed almost all the games he played in the Wafl. Came over and watched the one game he had against Geelong. He was only told at 10 am that he was playing and was easily their better player in the second half (biased but close to truth). He is an excellent ball player who kicks to the jumper, has absolutely no other thought than for the team and I am tipping a 22 game player this year. Freo did not want to let him go.

Posted

He is a big bodied, classy player who after being dogged by injuries his whole career, has played fantastically well in the WAFL and also in his one AFL game.

Also we only used pick 54 on him, so it's a win/win situation for us.

FWIW I believe he will have a very good year, but we have to lower our expectations as even though he has been on an AFL list, he has only played the one game so he is essentially new to the pace of the AFL.

Posted

Viv will be a huge get for MFC. I followed him at Peel and he was double teamed almost all the games he played in the Wafl. Came over and watched the one game he had against Geelong. He was only told at 10 am that he was playing and was easily their better player in the second half (biased but close to truth). He is an excellent ball player who kicks to the jumper, has absolutely no other thought than for the team and I am tipping a 22 game player this year. Freo did not want to let him go.

A fella I know, caught up with him for a couple froffs the other night, has followed Michie. He thinks I will like him a lot says he's hard at it like Viney and he was a great pick up. This guy knows his footy.
Posted

Spoke to a current player today , he said Mitchie will start at Casey.

New players to come in to the team he thinks are :

Cross - absolutely flying

Vince - really good

Tyson - doing well

Hogan - gun

Clark - foot is fine, hamstrings struggling because of extended lay off.

Surely, barring injury, Cross & Vince & Tyson will be the first 3 new players added to the midfield as dead certs.

Add them to Jones, Viney, Trenners, Grimes (HBF) and Watts as certainties among existing players.

That means maybe another 3-5 midfield positions, including interchange, up for grabs among about 9-10 prospects including Michie.

Posted

I think after 7 yrs of very below average performances (and I am being very kind) and the some of the quality recruiting u cannot blame any Dees supporter for requiring a little "less talk more action".

Who suggests otherwise ?

I'm not talking about club prognostications.

Posted

Don't let these pedantic twits get you down. It happens all the time. I look forward to your comments in the future.

Posted

Don't let these pedantic twits get you down. It happens all the time. I look forward to your comments in the future.

Fair dinkum, somedays it's just all too hard.

Posted

Fair dinkum, somedays it's just all too hard.

Had had the same feel yesterday.

Posted

Had had the same feel yesterday.

Thanks, DF. That gave me a good chuckle.

Posted

Less talk and more action - on a discussion forum? Give over!

Posted

Roger, are you friends with the Fat Slags, Mrs Brady Old Lady, Spoilt [censored], etc?

Friends? They're family!

I'm particularly close to Biffa Bacon, Finbar Saunders, Sid (the Sexist) and Millie Tant (along with the above)

Posted

Forgive me if this has been mentioned but I just noticed that Viv Mitchie scored 8.01 in his agility test for the draft camp in the year he was drafted by Fremantle, ranking him 2nd for that year and 18th over the past 10 years. This probably makes him the most agile player on our list.

Posted

The third would be Ross Lyon's strong development program for young kids coming through, especially ones who have had barely one pre-season to their name.

Not sure where this rumour arose. Lyon arrived at the Saints when all their gun early draft picks from early 2000s were starting to show something.

Pretty sure it was reported that the Saints drafting (or was it development?) during Lyon's time was a disaster - think it was Waters when he arrived at the Saints, who said that there were virtually no players still at the club from the 2005-2009 ? drafts. Thus he had a doughnut list age age/experience wise.

And now Lyon has taken over a very good list already up and about.

Perhaps Lyon is best at getting results from established players.

Posted

Everyone who says that Freo didnt wanna lose him, well then why did they trade him for a lowly pick?

He may prove a good recruit but I don't see why anyone would be really excited about him