View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

The Trade/Draft Rumour Mill

Here's a pitch from wide left field. Dunn an occasional hit out in the midfield in a non tagging role???

If he wins the ball anywhere from 60 metres in he could slot a few goals for us?

Sure - if he is prepared to get barked at by Clark, Dawes and Hogan. Personally I would not take that risk.

I always saw Garland as the 3rd tall back, c an pinch as a 2nd but only on right matchups. these days its more likely to find that tho.

people are angry with Pederson because he came via the loss of ribvers & moloney & the retirement of Green etc. so the timing of all this is used to frown on pederson. I'd like to know how much he's on as I don't think it would be that much.

I don't think he cost us much really, & if the worst he is, is depth, than thats OK. we need mature bodied depth as well. I'm hoping for more from him.

If by "mature bodied",you mean "can stomach more pies than every other player on the list combined" then, by all means describe him that way.

dunn to the saints for P55 & its a deal ?

Dunn has become our 4th tall defender. Now that we have delisted Sellar and Davis - Dunn and Pedersen are our only back depth.

If your happy with having just 4 tall defenders on our list and Pedersen as 4th tall then no problem.

At this stage I would probably rather Dunn but things can change quickly.

I think for pick 55 its not worth it unless we can get another Michie type with that pick.

Edited by Young Dee

Bugg and Buntine..... Well let's hope that doesn't prevail!!! We need a S.Selwood, D.Mundy, S.Mitchell type player with this pick 2. Inside midfielder with elite fitness and skills and a prolific ball winner.....that is what we require!

Giants are keen on one of Collingwoods picks 10 or 11 for Adams, if this is the case it could be factored into the pick 2 deal. Pick 9 and 10 and maybe a player for pick 2?

Could get us a Crouch and a Freeman.

Edited by olisik

Oops I seem to have somehow found my way into the Cam Pederson thread.

At risks of disrupting that riveting debate, could I ask if anyone has any trade/draft rumours or updates?

SHould change the Thread title name

NO rumours here

Dunn has become our 4th tall defender. Now that we have delisted Sellar and Davis - Dunn and Pedersen are our only back depth.

If your happy with having just 4 tall defenders on our list and Pedersen as 4th tall then no problem.

I think for pick 55 its not worth it unless we can get another Michie type with that pick.

leave pick 55 alone

Not that it's his fault, but I'd say his three year contract has played a role in the frustration of supporters. There's also the fact that he's had bugger all impact onfield too.

Its hard to come into a club cold, & out of form, with the club you arrive at in disarray. How can you try to find any sort of form & growth, in what we've been over plenty of years.

We haven't really developed our players to anywhere near their potential, since after Neitz & Schwarta. One or two exceptional's along the way.

it was a little shot at one of my least favorite players.

In our recruiting this trade period I expect we'll have a plan in place to find a step-in replacement for him asap.

he is a liability. & I would be really surprised if Roos is fully confident in him, or anyone who doesn't like the contested head over the ball footy.

he should be gone as soon as we can manage it.

Its hard to come into a club cold, & out of form, with the club you arrive at in disarray. How can you try to find any sort of form & growth, in what we've been over plenty of years.

We haven't really developed our players to anywhere near their potential, since after Neitz & Schwarta. One or two exceptional's along the way.

I agree, but blokes like Garland improved. AFL is too short for a mature-aged recruit to come in and struggle to impact straight away. He hardly cemented himself in one of the worst sides of all time.

For the record, I'm neither here nor there with Pedersen. He's no better or worse than Dunn or Tapscott. I'd prefer he wasn't on our list, but there are quite a few of those and until we improve substantially, we will struggle to attract decent players to replace these guys.

I think he is currently a better if slightly different player to tapscott

If by "mature bodied",you mean "can stomach more pies than every other player on the list combined" then, by all means describe him that way.

Yeah, it's all Pedersen's fault that he got taken by the club and just may not have been good enough to make it at AFL level... but given time and the right coaching he might be able to make it yet. If you want a good example of how a very average player can blossom under Roos, look no further than LRT at the Swans.

And I agree with you whole heartedly... we SHOULD all make it personal and start bagging him for his poor physique and his poor play... I mean to say, we should be sending the link to these shots off to Jenny Craig so she can come to his rescue.

I agree, but blokes like Garland improved. AFL is too short for a mature-aged recruit to come in and struggle to impact straight away. He hardly cemented himself in one of the worst sides of all time.

yes but in a side needing to change out players so the culture could be dissected & removed for transplant, change was necessary. & we've seen this year that so many don't want to come hear atmo.

we can't attract the Adams's & Caddy's, the Boak's etc.

we have to take what we can, in order for changes sake. the more players of the old club move, the quicker the culture can be morphed into a better one. could also be a reason why some head strong players have been overlooked, for more quiet types who are more coach-able.

the quicker we can get the place & culture looking lean & mean, the quicker players will want to become Demons.

he's better than dunn. he just hasn't produced yet.

He's shown he knows how to play the game intuitively @ VFL level. dunn is always like a chook in a hey-shed when under pressure. just no footy IQ. if twiggy has the ball & theres trouble about, he'll find it.

I think he is currently a better if slightly different player to tapscott

Possibly. How about we agree that neither are convincing AFL players at the moment?

yes but in a side needing to change out players so the culture could be dissected & removed for transplant, change was necessary. & we've seen this year that so many don't want to come hear atmo.

we can't attract the Adams's & Caddy's, the Boak's etc.

we have to take what we can, in order for changes sake. the more players of the old club move, the quicker the culture can be morphed into a better one. could also be a reason why some head strong players have been overlooked, for more quiet types who are more coach-able.

the quicker we can get the place & culture looking lean & mean, the quicker players will want to become Demons.

Culture changer and "lean & mean" is probably not something I would associate with Pedersen though.

Who gives a stuff about Pedersen right now? This is a rumour thread, not a Pedersen thread. I click the link to see if there has been any news and we all have to sift through waves and waves of pointless crap.

Culture changer and "lean & mean" is probably not something I would associate with Pedersen though.

haha, I was talking about the list & club.

he is a part of the change, to turn over the list, as is Mr Byrnes.

even if they aren't stars they will be depth once we get better, in the best 15 players bracket. as we develop the upper level of our list with no pretenders these depth guys will play better.

its hard to play well as a battler, when many of the top players are Krarpp.

Yeah, it's all Pedersen's fault that he got taken by the club and just may not have been good enough to make it at AFL level...

Who cares whether it's his "fault" or not. It's about "output".

He's a good VFL player.

Mate of mine at the gym said he heard on the radio a three way deal which included Melbourne's pick 2 to Port Adelaide in exchange for Hamish Hartlett and pick 13? Said he heard it on the radio on one of the news stations reporting it. Not sure if he misheard or not but can't find any information regarding this, did anyone happen to catch or hear about this?

Who gives a stuff about Pedersen right now? This is a rumour thread, not a Pedersen thread. I click the link to see if there has been any news and we all have to sift through waves and waves of pointless crap.

You come into a rumours thread not expecting pointless crap?? At least the discussion about Pedersen et al, relieves the boredom.

Who cares whether it's his "fault" or not. It's about "output".

He's a good VFL player.

I don't disagree... I just have an issue of people turning things personal where the player is concerned.