Posted

Heard about Lyon a couple of weeks back, mentioned it on this thread. Wife wants out of WA. We'll wait and see

Might have to start hanging around the singles bars with 'Woosha'....

...you think he will really come back, she might but I can't see him following. Same story was going around about Mick many years back, he did come back but not until he finished his business with WC.

Posted

i wouldnt mind simpson tbh the sorta bloke the players would respect

Posted

i wouldnt mind simpson tbh the sorta bloke the players would respect

It will therefore be interesting to see how much our selection is beholden of the AFL.

Posted

On this morning's footy show on 9 they were saying that the list of candidates is growing beyond the experienced names, and that Adam Simpson is "firming" (as the possible coach, that is)

I reckon there's a fair chance we might be sounding Adam Simpson out as an assistant for a succession plan, if Hayes and Ling aren't interested, but there's zilch chance we'd be looking at him for head coach.

Just won't happen.

Posted

i think the AFL will have to sign off on it either way

Posted

John Longmire?

Posted

On this morning's footy show on 9 they were saying that the list of candidates is growing beyond the experienced names, and that Adam Simpson is "firming" (as the possible coach, that is)

So PJ has said on otc that Melb is going to employ an EXPERIENCED coach as its what we need and chanel 9 say AS is firming as a possible head coach.

If PJ is true to his word we will not c an untried HEAD coach at the MFC.

If we do end up with an untried coach then PJs word (what he says) is worth jack shite.

Hopefully PJ is true to what he says.

Posted

wouldnt mind an eade and simpson combo or williams and simpson? succession plan type deal

Posted

wouldnt mind an eade and simpson combo or williams and simpson? succession plan type deal

Yeah, but would Williams or Eade take the gig, knowing they'll be turfed out in 2 or 3 years?

I don't think so..

Dream team for me. Simpson, Kirk, Ling.

Posted

Knowing Melbourne we will end up with Craig after some wait.

Then we will slowly discover that Roos, Eade, Williams etc were never even contacted

I would personally like a coach lined up following round 23 or even earlier. The coach should have time to analysis the list before coming on board and then maybe have time to start considering game plans. That way they already have some idea of the list and what they plan to do and of course they have a whole offseason.

But I guess we don't live in a perfect world and there is almost no chance of that happening.

Some good calls there young dee - knowing the MFC I am sure they haven't even started looking haha

The MFC need to clean up it's backyard first appoint Pres etc - then decide the direction the club is taking - then appoint the correct coach. No more half ass'd bull dust.

Posted

Some good calls there young dee - knowing the MFC I am sure they haven't even started looking haha

The MFC need to clean up it's backyard first appoint Pres etc - then decide the direction the club is taking - then appoint the correct coach. No more half ass'd bull dust.

The AFL are doing all this now...They cannot afford another "non" season from a club..

The broadcast deal is worth too much for that.

Posted

Yeah, but would Williams or Eade take the gig, knowing they'll be turfed out in 2 or 3 years?

I don't think so..

Dream team for me. Simpson, Kirk, Ling.

Jumbo just curious why are u so keen on another untried when we have failed miserably with two untrieds in the past?

I think I would give it away if we went that way again.

Posted

I agree the President appointment is the first sign that the MFC has got some sort of 'process' together....

What is the schedule and timeframe on this??? I pressume the sooner the better....

Is it the situation of a poisoned chalice which no one wants to drink and anyone who do wants to drink we are immediately suspicious of??

It would be good at have a couple of serious candidates...I am not sure how serious the "eyebrows" is. (BTW - how can you grow eyebrows

so long in this day an age? Last time I was at the hairdresser they gave it to me for not getting even just a slight trim...)

Posted

Jumbo just curious why are u so keen on another untried when we have failed miserably with two untrieds in the past?

I think I would give it away if we went that way again.

They were clearly the wrong appointments, DO.

The names mooted around have had very high profiles as players and I think that our boys will respond to someone who has walked the walk, not just talked the talk.

Sorry about the cliche, but I'm genuinely excited by a Simpson appointment if we can't get Roos...

Posted

They were clearly the wrong appointments, DO.

The names mooted around have had very high profiles as players and I think that our boys will respond to someone who has walked the walk, not just talked the talk.

Sorry about the cliche, but I'm genuinely excited by a Simpson appointment if we can't get Roos...

As a player was Simpson was a bit Beige....most non NMFC supporters commentators didn't even know he was captain let alone on the field. Not saying he doesn't know his stuff just saying he may not have the profile as you may imagine to walk in the room with an aura of a Carey or Archer

Posted

As a player was Simpson was a bit Beige....most non NMFC supporters commentators didn't even know he was captain let alone on the field. Not saying he doesn't know his stuff just saying he may not have the profile as you may imagine to walk in the room with an aura of a Carey or Archer

Interesting, i used to love watching Simpson play for NM and rated him on par with Carey and Archer as their best player, great captain, loved everywhere he goes by all accounts, been part of very successful enviorments and not just one, wouldn't be upset if we signed him and hung onto Neil Craig.

Posted (edited)

Interesting, i used to love watching Simpson play for NM and rated him on par with Carey and Archer as their best player, great captain, loved everywhere he goes by all accounts, been part of very successful enviorments and not just one, wouldn't be upset if we signed him and hung onto Neil Craig.

If and it is a big if..it were to happen it would be more than likely Craig as coach with Simpson the understudy.

I wouldn't imagine any of the others, Williams, Eade or Ratten would be interested in this type of set up.

I also don't think we will appoint an untried coach not even with a mentor but it may be a senior coach with someone like Simpson as coach in waiting.

Edited by rjay

Posted

I am totally opposite to excited Jumbo.

We will have to agree to disagree.

To give u some idea of the reaction in my household when I advised them that an inexperienced coach was a possibility was:

Kids - If we get another untried we are done. My son adds I really don't like following Melb its really hard atm. Kids are young.

The Mrs - They have got to be kidding themselves, what a joke, u can not be serious. After all the great decisions in the last 7 yrs u would think they would learn from it.

So as u can see not a positive response.

Also don't think other supporters would be to excited by this either.

Posted

If and it is a big if..it were to happen it would be more than likely Craig as coach with Simpson the understudy.

I wouldn't imagine any of the others, Williams, Eade or Ratten would be interested in this type of set up.

I also don't think we will appoint an untried coach not even with a mentor but it may be a senior coach with someone like Simpson as coach in waiting.

Yeah i tend to agree mate, would be great to get Simpson on board but i see no reason why if Roos says no, we wouldn't just move on to Williams and Eade who both want the job.

Posted

A good coach will have the kids following the club again, a good coach will have the Mrs thinking what a good decision it was because they will have the team playing well and winning no matter of they are a new coach or not. Would it go against all that has been said to date and raise the eyebrows... Abso bloody lutely, history will be the judge one way or the other but it is if not the most important decision in the top 3 of our history.

Personally I could care less who it is as long as they can get the job done!

Posted

So everything else the HUN writes is crap but this isn't?

I would dance the happy dance if we got him but I don't think it will happen.

Clarkson is where we should be sending our dollars.

Clarkson! mmmmmmmmmmm yes, he'd punch his mother in the face.
Posted

if we go untried im done

there is no chance I will be giving my hard earn't to the club to pay out another flop

Posted

Clarkson! mmmmmmmmmmm yes, he'd punch his mother in the face.

Wut...?

Posted (edited)

if we go untried im done

there is no chance I will be giving my hard earn't to the club to pay out another flop

Id be asking the question of PJ if this were the case. Hes promised us experience. No ifs and buts with this

Either he delivers...or I will be a non member spectator

Edited by belzebub59