WELCOME TO DEMONLAND - PAUL ROOS

Noticed a couple of opposition teams have started list trimming already, i was curious if we would be in the process of doing that or if we'd be waiting on our coach first?

you bet your sweet bippy we are

Noticed a couple of opposition teams have started list trimming already, i was curious if we would be in the process of doing that or if we'd be waiting on our coach first?

Coach first I would think. Although we could trim a few spuds first without any trouble - ie. Gillies.

The other thing is when your VFL team is still alive it's nice to not announce delistings. Their is no real benefit in doing it early.

Hogan is as contracted as Fitzpatrick who re-signed last week - he's signed till the end of 2015.

Hogan was offered an extension in May.

Really? i thought he said about a month ago no extension was offered and he had no intention of signing one until he had started playing?

Due to Mad Monday celebrations for the players they have decided to put it off to tomorrow. Watch Fox footy tonight if you can

0 from 3.

Your strike rate equals your credibility

Really? i thought he said about a month ago no extension was offered and he had no intention of signing one until he had started playing?

He was definitely offered an extension.

It's probably the only positive thread that is over 10 pages

That could change very quickly if Roos serves up a big bowl of disappointment early next week.

He was definitely offered an extension.

There you go :) not too concerned about him, i reckon we will pay huge dollars if we need to hang onto this fella.

Coach first I would think. Although we could trim a few spuds first without any trouble - ie. Gillies.

The other thing is when your VFL team is still alive it's nice to not announce delistings. Their is no real benefit in doing it early.

Its a process.. has it started...of course it has .Some names will write themselves onto the dnr list. Others will need scrutiny

Chan 10 just reported the deal is as good as done and Roos will coach :) Melbourne wants to announced it later this week.

Can we get a run down clock added to the forum set up for all the supposed press conferences so we can watch it in anticipation then get disappointed, then see the next one pop up and get all excited again etc etc

0 from 3.

Your strike rate equals your credibility

0 from 3 what? I was told that the deal is done. Timing of the announcement is the only impediment. Roos and PJ have differed on this

Chan 10 just reported the deal is as good as done and Roos will coach :) Melbourne wants to announced it later this week.

Mate you have made my year :)

The football media are doing what they usually do - making it up as they go along and hoping they're right.

As per Ross Lon to Freo, the majority of time they have no idea what's going on.

Its interesting watts and Hogan are still holding out on resigning... Do they doubt as well?

Hogan is as contracted as Fitzpatrick who re-signed last week - he's signed till the end of 2015.

That may be, in fact I am sure it is.

But it doesn't lessen the fact that equating the contract situations of Watts and Hogan is misleading.

One is out of contract at the end of next month, the other - the end of next month two years from now.

There is no harm in context, unless you are trying to make a point that context will harm.

Not sure if it's been mentioned, but my ears pricked up last night watching OTC when Roos said:

"it's time to put up or shut up, I DEFINITELY WANT TO DO IT, it's just a matter of seeing if the family's on-board"

That seem the most conclusive evidence yet that short of a curve ball, he'll be coaching.

The football media are doing what they usually do - making it up as they go along and hoping they're right.

As per Ross Lon to Freo, the majority of time they have no idea what's going on.

The Ross Lyon example was a classic. No one but Lyon and Fremantle knew about the deal yet when announcing it Damian Barrett preceded it with something along the lines of "I had word today that...".

Edited by Clint Bizkit

In the Twitter era its all about being first, not right.

The world moves so quickly now that no one remembers when false truths are uttered.

This is precisely the reason semi literate knobs like Jon Ralph have managed to eek out a career.

Not sure if it's been mentioned, but my ears pricked up last night watching OTC when Roos said:

"it's time to put up or shut up, I DEFINITELY WANT TO DO IT, it's just a matter of seeing if the family's on-board"

That seem the most conclusive evidence yet that short of a curve ball, he'll be coaching.

Yes, only one other poster has mentioned this I think.

My ears did the same.

Either contract issues, his ego in relation to PR, or the presence of his family is holding up the announcement.

Rob waters reported melbourne has cancelled interviews with other coaches. Apparently Adam Simpson was to have an interview but its now been cancelled.

I get the feeling melbourne want to announce something at the best and fairest but roos is waiting till his family get back next tuesday.

DB reported on the sunday footy show that only $400,000 can be used to put towards a coach so im assuming that melbourne cannot be that broke if Roos comes on board then im guessing members with money will throw in some cash.

But I do hope melbourne explain it because im sick of people saying that the AFL is paying for Roos and keeping us alive and how can they afford him.

Healy on 3aw pretty much just said its done and they will have Paul Roos on next Tuesday night.

It's happening.

More of what we already know i suppose, if it's done call a bloody press confrence

Rob waters reported melbourne has cancelled interviews with other coaches. Apparently Adam Simpson was to have an interview but its now been cancelled.

I get the feeling melbourne want to announce something at the best and fairest but roos is waiting till his family get back next tuesday.

DB reported on the sunday footy show that only $400,000 can be used to put towards a coach so im assuming that melbourne cannot be that broke if Roos comes on board then im guessing members with money will throw in some cash.

But I do hope melbourne explain it because im sick of people saying that the AFL is paying for Roos and keeping us alive and how can they afford him.

Paul Roos coming on board is going to generate income through extra members, positive sponsorship and increased gate takings due to confidence. His wage will be paid for easily through the increased revenue.