Windy Hill at 1:00 PM

ESSENDON

Backs Coghlan Steinberg Toy

Half backs Davis Fahey Freezer

Centreline Dalgliesh Duscher Kavanagh

Half forwards Collyer Shinners Hardingham

Forwards Dell'Ollio Daniher Jetta

Followers Hill Hams Merrett

Interchange (from) Bate Gumbleton Lovett-Murray McPhee O'Brien Sikora Thompson Tipungwuti* Van Unen

CASEY SCORPIONS

Backs Panozza Davis L Tynan

Half backs J Tynan Strauss Clisby

Centreline Blease Couch Nicholson

Half forwards Rodan Kent Page

Forwards Best Fitzpatrick Hogan

Followers Spencer McKenzie Magner

Interchange (from) Gent Hill Kearns* Nicholls Pollard Riseley Smith Stark Taggert

* 23rd player

The Casey Development League (reserves) team plays Frankston for the second time in three weeks tonight under lights at Casey Fields. They also met there in a practice match a few weeks before the season started. The players should definitely be familiar with each other.

AFL DEVELOPMENT LEAGUE

CASEY SCORPIONS v FRANKSTON

Friday 19th April

Casey Fields at 6:00 PM

CASEY SCORPIONS

Backs Waters Corrigan Fowler

Half backs McInnes Deaurago Corry

Centreline Matthews Pollard Allan

Half forwards Troutman Jackson Long

Forwards Meadows Smith Boland

Followers Hill Hughes Lindsay

Interchange (from) Anderson Blackie Drew Fusinato Hillard Irwin Land McFarlane McPhie Riseley P Rosier Rutherford Taggert

FRANKSTON

Backs Hill Beech Cunningham

Half backs Newman Jennings Giobbi

Centreline Buchan Clement Fox

Half forwards Cass Calvert Miller

Forwards Matheson Farmer Sutton

Followers A Forato Williams Bateman

Interchange (from) Clausen Cooper Edwards Johnson Maynard Rennie Smrdel Tuddenham

Posted

No Barry. Rest or mystery injury of the week!

Begging for good performances by Tynan and Taggert. Blease and Strauss particularly need to show consistency.

Posted

I can't believe Kent can't get a game and they are continue playing Toumpas! I like Toumpas and think he is gonna be a ripper player for us but what ever happened to giving the in form player a game as a reward?

Posted

I can't believe Kent can't get a game and they are continue playing Toumpas! I like Toumpas and think he is gonna be a ripper player for us but what ever happened to giving the in form player a game as a reward?

I can understand keeping him in the team against GWS. If we were playing someone else I would definitely like him to be dropped, but in this case I think his selection is warranted.

Posted

I reckon the MFC interchange may be Rohan Bail, Matt Jones, Michael Evans & Cam Pederson. unless Jamar pulls up sore.

Posted

Hopefully Tynan and Taggert will get a chance to show us just what folk who follow them are excited about: most of us have had about zero opportunity to make a call.

Posted

Kent has been told to work on going the other way, ie defensively, he needs to show this, once he does consistently he will get a game at AFL level, you ask for the players to be developed properly, this is it

Posted

I hope there isn't the same situation as with jack Watts last week, if Toumpas isn't going to play for the 1st's i really hope he gets a run here, he might be able to get some good form happening and show the supporters how good he is going to be, building confidence at the same time

Posted

Kent has been told to work on going the other way, ie defensively, he needs to show this, once he does consistently he will get a game at AFL level, you ask for the players to be developed properly, this is it

I cannot for the life of me see how this level of performance is keeping Kent from getting a go (yes Toumpas was Sub last week):

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-melbourne-demons--jimmy-toumpas

I can only presume that it's a 'selection upon draft order' thing. Cretinous stuff, but I guess we're used to it.

Posted

I cannot for the life of me see how this level of performance is keeping Kent from getting a go (yes Toumpas was Sub last week):

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-melbourne-demons--jimmy-toumpas

I can only presume that it's a 'selection upon draft order' thing. Cretinous stuff, but I guess we're used to it.

No, I questioned as well, but it seems that they want players when they come in to be able to conistently play the 4 qtrs, yes agree we haven't got many doing that at present anyway, but I think also Kent was told he wasn't playing both ways, again he is not on Pat Malone, I think the Footy Dept really likes him, but once he is in, they want him to stay in......I think they are looking for 22 who can stay together and be consistent, nowhere near that yet........I am going to Windy Hill to get a first hand look at him playing at VFL level, haven't managed yet except for praccy game

Posted

No, I questioned as well, but it seems that they want players when they come in to be able to conistently play the 4 qtrs, yes agree we haven't got many doing that at present anyway, but I think also Kent was told he wasn't playing both ways, again he is not on Pat Malone, I think the Footy Dept really likes him, but once he is in, they want him to stay in......I think they are looking for 22 who can stay together and be consistent, nowhere near that yet........I am going to Windy Hill to get a first hand look at him playing at VFL level, haven't managed yet except for praccy game

Might shoot over meself (much easier for me to get to than Casey); young Hoges is worth close-up look too.

Posted

Is this game broadcast on ABC? pretty [censored] off toumpas has to sit out this game.. Don't like this [censored] of dropping players all together and not even playing them at VFL level!

Posted

Great news for the MelbourneFC/Casey Scorpions alignment!

The Casey Development League side (ressies) thrashed Frankston tonight at Casey Fields by 52 points.

Casey Scorpions 0.1.1 1.2.8 8.6.54 12.11.83

Frankston 2.3.15 3.5.23 3.5.23 4.7.31

Goals

Casey Scorpions Smith 3 Drew 2 Hughes Jackson McInnes Matthews Meadows Pollard Troutman

Frankston Rennie 2 Farmer Forato

Best

Casey Scorpions Boland Waters Irwin Lindsay Corry Drew

Frankston Cunningham Rennie Jennings Newman Farmer Forato

Rory Taggert did not play in this game. I reckon we can safely assume he'll be in the Casey one's tomorrow.

Posted

Is this game broadcast on ABC? pretty [censored] off toumpas has to sit out this game.. Don't like this [censored] of dropping players all together and not even playing them at VFL level!

No, Geelong vs Box Hill

Posted

Neelds tactics are really starting to [censored] me off. Why not give Toumpas are run for 2 games at Casey?

I can't figure Neeld out

It might be time for a rest. If we include preseason games, the season is already seven weeks long. Add that to a few months of preseason training and that's a lot of senior football for a teenager.

Give him a rest, bring him back in the twos and then, pending form, give him a run in the ones.

Posted

It might be time for a rest. If we include preseason games, the season is already seven weeks long. Add that to a few months of preseason training and that's a lot of senior football for a teenager.

Give him a rest, bring him back in the twos and then, pending form, give him a run in the ones.

I agree, Neeld did say at the start of the season that Viney and Toumpas would be taken slow and that he was not expecting big things from them. If that means giving viney a rest ever month (4 games) then thats fine with me. Lets try and build these players for the future - maybe that was the problem with Trengove and Scully. We were working them so hard that they couldn't improve (like when you study for so long without a break that you are no longer learning anything)

Posted

That would be greatly appreciated.

See if you can spot this so called deficiency of Kents (defensive work)

Posted

That would be greatly appreciated.

See if you can spot this so called deficiency of Kents (defensive work)

Been to a few parties like that....