Posted

Watch this space...........

Was just sitting next to Matthew Green – Chief Operations Officer, Ben Groom - General Manager - Strategy, Tom Parker - Strategic Relationship Manager on my flight back from Sydney, fancy that.

A Dees social club is high on the priority list and it was talked about most of the flight with some ideas of places. Unfortunately my lips are sealed as to where but the club is being active in this area.

They are up here to also do the Kakadu Trek with some business partners.

hopefully we'll be able to buy memberships from there....... Hehehehehe.....

• Replies 87
Posted

I went to the Bentleigh club a few times and liked it except one of the times they wouldn't show the game in the main area (which has at least a few screens) with the bar and instead was reverted upstairs in a small, quiet room with a handful of depressed supporters sitting on chairs in front of a projector screen. Hopefully that atmospheric glitch was mended, and we got thrashed by the Lions too

Posted

A social club is a great idea and would fill an obvious void. Why should we be worse off than filth or tiger supporters. The problem goes back to the notion that Demon supporters were mostly MCC members and therefore had a " social club" already available. However, the majority of MFC supporters are not MCC members and, consequently, have few after game options. I am a trident member but the Betty Cuthbert bar is all done at 3/4 time. I would love a 'venue" to kick on afterwards. My wife ( a good bloke ) would also come along. The club would get far more money out of me.

Posted

My sister won $9000 on the pokies at The Bentleigh Club. I was [censored] as she has a mountain of money and supports the Hawks.

Argh good on her!! If only the club allowed Dee supporters to win the money with a pokie tax (on top of the pokie revenue) going back to the club.

Posted

A social club is a great idea and would fill an obvious void. Why should we be worse off than filth or tiger supporters. The problem goes back to the notion that Demon supporters were mostly MCC members and therefore had a " social club" already available. However, the majority of MFC supporters are not MCC members and, consequently, have few after game options. I am a trident member but the Betty Cuthbert bar is all done at 3/4 time. I would love a 'venue" to kick on afterwards. My wife ( a good bloke ) would also come along. The club would get far more money out of me.

As I said earlier we blew it when we past on the Pub next to the Hilton.

It is just too hard around the MCG

Cannot see anything changing this decade

Posted

My sister won $9000 on the pokies at The Bentleigh Club. I was [censored] as she has a mountain of money and supports the Hawks.

Argh good on her!! If only the club allowed Dee supporters to win the money with a pokie tax (on top of the pokie revenue) going back to the club.

Bad luck. Unfortunately you cannot choose your siblings.

Posted

She obviously has good taste

Posted

Is your wifes name Sweet but Pessimistic?

Just wondering if opposites attract?

Posted

As I said earlier we blew it when we past on the Pub next to the Hilton.

It is just too hard around the MCG

Cannot see anything changing this decade

Well maybe we have to spend a bit to make a bit. The Bentleigh Club and Casey are on a side of Melbourne that is far removed from me. I'm sure I'm not the only supporter in this predicament.

Posted

Surely your not talking about the Wees and Poos OD

Yep they are everything I want the MFC to be.

I can think of no better model to emulate.

Posted

Well maybe we have to spend a bit to make a bit. The Bentleigh Club and Casey are on a side of Melbourne that is far removed from me. I'm sure I'm not the only supporter in this predicament.

Me too mate when I go to watch Casey Games ( a couple a year ) I leave the night before.

I just think unless you have a venue close to the ground people will not go after a match.

Every Km you are away from the G the attendance falls dramatically.

If the venue was in easy walking distance I would go If I have catch transport I would not go, Unless it was close to my direct route home.

The Tigers have the perfect spot, pity they own it and not the MFC

Perhaps we could build a facility there!!!

Posted

Me too mate when I go to watch Casey Games ( a couple a year ) I leave the night before.

I just think unless you have a venue close to the ground people will not go after a match.

If the venue was in easy walking distance I would go If I have catch transport I would not go, Unless it was close to my direct route home.

I imagine docklands is our only hope.

Posted

Unless we are playing at death Park I would not go there too far away

Now others might travel that distance but unless it was GF night I doubt I would attend very often

Posted

Yep they are everything I want the MFC to be.

I can think of no better model to emulate.

I agree the Hawks are a club to be respected. But my sister winning that amount of money from the MFC, gives me a little bit of a bad taste in my mouth.

I'll add, that not one cent of her considerable amount of money goes to the Hawks either. She decided to support the Hawks since the 80's as they were successful. My dad, a Saints supporter, and my mum, a Dee supporter were disgusted in her since she became a Hawk. Thankfully she is the black sheep

Posted

I agree the Hawks are a club to be respected. But my sister winning that amount of money from the MFC, gives me a little bit of a bad taste in my mouth.

I'll add, that not one cent of her considerable amount of money goes to the Hawks either. She decided to support the Hawks since the 80's as they were successful. My dad, a Saints supporter, and my mum, a Dee supporter were disgusted in her since she became a Hawk. Thankfully she is the black sheep

Well best you learn to do some shearing!

Posted

Just had a thought BBo

We could buy a membership at the bombers new joint at Tulla, Nice location, on the way home.

We could call in there on the way home from Darwin and give them the tom [censored] after we have won 12 games on end for the tenth year in a row.

Sounds fun to me.

Of course by then I will probably need a ramp

Hope they have one in the plans.

Posted

Just had a thought BBo

We could buy a membership at the bombers new joint at Tulla, Nice location, on the way home.

We could call in there on the way home from Darwin and give them the tom [censored] after we have won 12 games on end for the tenth year in a row.

Sounds fun to me.

Of course by then I will probably need a ramp

Hope they have one in the plans.

Good idea OD and I wont mind giving you a push up the ramp. However, you are on your own with the colostomy bag.

Posted

Good idea OD and I wont mind giving you a push up the ramp. However, you are on your own with the colostomy bag.

Oh god I had not thought of that option.

Posted

Cricketers or the royal?

Posted

About time, & & & & & As Long as it is 'NOT',,, down near Docklands !!!

We need something near training, & close walking distance to the "G"... & Richmond station.

Lets step back in time, and have a Thursday Night Team announcement Dinner, simultaneously as the news is read, for a Saturday game, & a Friday dinner for a Sunday game, with the boys doing a quick loosen upper for 35 mins just prior to the announcement. A Bar for a 2 Hr happy hour after work, 8.00 PM close.

After games, with 3 Hr after games,,,,

Posted

I agree, & I hope the powers that 'Be', do not try to kill 5 birds with one throw of the Net.

Docklands won't work for most of our loyal supporters.

Stay in Richmond, near AAMI Park, OR, Stewart ST next to the Richmond Station... might be OK...

http://maps.google.com/maps?oe=utf-8&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a&q=stewart+st+richmond&um=1&ie=UTF-8&hq=&hnear=0x6ad6429307c45bfd:0x7dbf3ed18b28403c,Stewart+St,+Richmond+VIC+3121,+Australie&sa=X&ei=yB7HUNWENe2OiAfWnIGgDQ&ved=0CC4Q8gEwAA

# IF, they ever build a concourse (with covered area), across the Rail Yards, between the Richmond Station to the walkways, & The Tennis centres, to the MCG,,, that could be a good spot for us..

...the concourse would make a great outdoor area for Sunday Markets, & maybe even the Fresh Fruit Market, cafe's etc for the sports precinct days...

Posted

I still think that as the (former) MFC Footy Club, we were too meek simply letting Richmond FC use 'our' ground for its home games. Surely, as a quid pro quo they could let us erect a nice little 'Red and Blue' Clubhouse alongside their oval and also use it for training.