View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

WELCOME TO THE MELBOURNE FOOTBALL CLUB - JIMMY TOUMPAS

Prendergast is gone, mate.

The days of the club making stupid decisions are also gone.

If Toumpas is available at pick 4 I don't believe Melbourne would overlook him. It would be sheer madness.

lol

I remember reading various reports that Toumpas was one of our best trainers over the pre-season. Obviously its better to be a good trainer - than to be a poor trainer. But being a trainer doesn't necessarily translate into being a good footballer. And in Toumpas case it hasn't translated at all. Training is just one aspect of what it takes to be a good footballer.

Having been down to training the past couple seasons i can say that Toump looked the goods on the track. Rarely missed a target, ran hard and vocal.

On the field he was a deer in the headlights who tried too hard to be fancy when he just had to execute the teams fundamentals. Good luck to him at Port. Hope he goes well...just not against us.

We're amassing a decent array of Headlights. This deer is no threat to us.

Some idiots operated on his hips and physios told home to run like he had a carrot up his clacker.

Edited by Diamond

Some idiots operated on his hips and physios told home to run like he had a carrot up his clacker.

Wot
  • 5 months later...

On 22/11/2012 at 8:21 PM, Household Demon said:

he is a massive risk and looks soft, i dont like him at #4

Look at this 3 and a half years on! 
Guess someone was right

3 minutes ago, Household Demon said:

Guess someone was right

Well it was your call Mark so i would be too proud!!

change your profile Avatar before opening this can of worms!! :)

Assuming nobody saw the showdown yesterday? Any ideas how he played?

43 minutes ago, Household Demon said:

Guess someone was right

You've bumped 2 Jimmy Toumpas threads to give yourself a pat on the back... how's life under the bridge??

56 minutes ago, Forest Demon said:

Assuming nobody saw the showdown yesterday? Any ideas how he played?

Ranked 28 in the player rankings for the match (on 61 with Kyle Cheney) and 17 possessions (Cheney 13). Not exactly stellar but not as bad as some others.

1 hour ago, Household Demon said:

Guess someone was right

Your a sad individual.

• 1 month later...

Not wanting to start the Toumpas debate again, but saw this in the HUN today, in an article about Aish.

toump.PNG

1 minute ago, Mono said:

Not wanting to start the Toumpas debate again, but saw this in the HUN today, in an article about Aish.

toump.PNG

But you just did lol

11 minutes ago, Mono said:

toump.PNG

It was a wasted 3 years and proved Neeld was clueless...

5 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

On that subject, I noticed Mitch Clark is 2 - 4 week away.

Edit- And another thing. Geelong have 8 players on the injured list, they are all knee and below the knee.

Edited by ManDee

12 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

The club was rapt that it got Toumpas who the football community in general rated highly. What it shows me now is that our recruiting is so much more targeted. We have non-negiotiable attributes like football IQ and skills, competitiveness, body size and then look at positions that can be played, coachability, family background (ha ha $cully would never get in) etc. 

We are less likely to be concerned about where the mock drafts and other experts rate players. We rely on our own analysis.

The club has hardly put a foot wrong since the days of Lucas Cook, Gysberts, Strauss and Toumpas.

I have always believed the pressure on a club to go with the orthodox picks in the top 5 or 6 is huge. Number 1 for example has been average since Hodge IMO. ANd a raft of good players have come at pick 7.

I reckon in years gone by we would never have picked Oliver but we wanted him and went out of our way to ge the picks to get him. Great stuff.

Edited by jnrmac

23 hours ago, Mono said:

toump.PNG

I've always said that Aish reminded me of Toumpas.

However, that article compared Aish with Heeney was odd in itself but to then throw Toumpas under the bus like that as well was pretty low.

Edited by Clint Bizkit

49 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

The club was rapt that it got Toumpas who the football community in general rated highly. What it shows me now is that our recruiting is so much more targeted. We have non-negiotiable attributes like football IQ and skills, competitiveness, body size and then look at positions that can be played, coachability, family background (ha ha $cully would never get in) etc. 

We are less likely to be concerned about where the mock drafts and other experts rate players. We rely on our own analysis.

The club has hardly put a foot wrong since the days of Lucas Cook, Gysberts, Strauss and Toumpas.

I have always believed the pressure on a club to go with the orthodox picks in the top 5 or 6 is huge. Number 1 for example has been average since Hodge IMO. ANd a raft of good players have come at pick 7.

I reckon in years gone by we would never have picked Oliver but we wanted him and went out of our way to ge the picks to get him. Great stuff.

Yes we are now targetting attitude as high as football ability

which is what always should have happened. Toumpas should never have been a top 10 pick, and those who rated him that way were either blind or on serious narcotics 

I use Jayden Hunt and Wagner as examples. 

ATTITUDE. 

This has been done to death surely

We've learnt

and moved on as a club

Let's move on also......

Alright - I am going to open the old chestnut.

I agree some of our choices were poor but besides targeting better picks one other thing has changed dramatically.

We now no longer take in talent and just expect them to flourish - the noise coming out of the club regarding McCartney's influence is loud and very clear and we have spent a small fortune on getting a 1st "development team" in place. Roos from day one has banged on about teaching and developing and that is music to my ears.

James Harmes -  TWO YEARS ago Melbourne told James Harmes to lift his professionalism or else he would find himself looking for other employment opportunities.

That is fairly straight talk but can you imagine anyone in our pre Roos club having that talk with Col Sylvia ? 

Edited by nutbean

22 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

which is what always should have happened. Toumpas should never have been a top 10 pick, and those who rated him that way were either blind or on serious narcotics 

So what you are saying is that the entire football industry that watches and comments on under age football is blind or on narcotics.

I certainly agree that he has been a major disappointment but ...

"He was drafted by Melbourne with the fourth selection in the 2012 AFL Draft, after playing for Woodville-West Torrens in the South Australian National Football League. He made his SANFL senior debut late in the 2011 season and he played in Woodville West-Torrens' 2011 premiership side in only his fifth game.[1] He was the captain of the South Australian team at the 2012 AFL Under 18 Championships[2] and was named in the All-Australian team at the conclusion of the tournament.[3] "

Played in a senior comp in 2011, Captained his state and made all Australian and he didn't have "attitude" ?

People have pointed to his hips and said that should have rung huge warning bells  - why doesn't the same apply to Max Gawn who had a knee reconstruction prior to being drafted ?

Some are rewriting history about a very very talented under age footballer who has become a very very disappointing AFL footballer.

Edited by nutbean

1 hour ago, jnrmac said:

The club was rapt that it got Toumpas who the football community in general rated highly. What it shows me now is that our recruiting is so much more targeted.

What it shows me is that recruiting in Australian Football is still coming to terms with true professionalism. The nature of the talent pathways for junior footy players makes it difficult to determine which players will thrive at senior level and which ones are just schoolboy champions. I think the club and the comp as a whole are getting better at this though.

I agree, we would never have taken Oliver a couple of years back, so great to see the club back themselves in with a high draft pick and see it pay off immediately. Kudos to the drafting/recruitment team and FD.

15 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Yes we are now targetting attitude as high as football ability

It's not just attitude, it is a set of attributes that are now looked at instead of just raw talent. Attitude is a key one but there are several others recruiters would look at - such as the ability to win contested footy mentioned above.

1 minute ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

The nature of the talent pathways for junior footy players makes it difficult to determine which players will thrive at senior level and which ones are just schoolboy champions. 

This .......

5 minutes ago, nutbean said:

So what you are saying is that the entire football industry that watches and comments on under age football is blind or on narcotics.

I certainly agree that he has been a major disappointment but ...

"He was drafted by Melbourne with the fourth selection in the 2012 AFL Draft, after playing for Woodville-West Torrens in the South Australian National Football League. He made his SANFL senior debut late in the 2011 season and he played in Woodville West-Torrens' 2011 premiership side in only his fifth game.[1] He was the captain of the South Australian team at the 2012 AFL Under 18 Championships[2] and was named in the All-Australian team at the conclusion of the tournament.[3] "

Played in a senior comp in 2011, Captained his state and made all Australian and he didn't have "attitude" ?

People have pointed to his hips and said that should have rung huge warning bells  - why doesn't the same apply to Max Gawn who had a knee reconstruction prior to being drafted ?

Some are rewriting history about a very very talented under age footballer who has become a very very disappointing AFL footballer.

Toumpas has NEVER had an attitude for the contest at AFL Level & that is where it counts...

Lets not forget his quarter at Etihad v the Saints.

Wish him the best.

They can't all be JV or Clayton Oliver.