Posted

Adding Steele to the structure would add some real mettle to the playing group..

Yep, I don't see Beams as more than support.

Posted

Beams.

I hope all this talk about getting Beams is for the Ben variety. Buggered if any other Beams' would offer much more. (I await the criticism!).

His salary may be pricey, but pick 12 has been a bargain for what Mitch has brought to the Dees.

I reckon we're going to be a big player in a lot of these player movements. Boak surely must be our first choice of big name, biggest problem is his desire to go "home" home to Geelong and the fact the cats can offer him finals footy and challenging for premierships.

I reckon Caddy we're a big chance, we definitely have more to offer GC than the bombers and there is the PSD factor where (at this stage) we'll have first pick of the Victorian teams.

Can we get over this fact that Boak is from the Geelong area, therefore, if he wants to move back to Victoria that the logical Club that will get him is Geelong. Last time I drove it, the distance between Melbourne and Geelong down the highway was only about an hour, and given the "new" bypass, he could get to the surfcoast in a fairly short amount of time.

If our recruiters are going to count Boak out because of the "go home to Geelong" factor, we'll be screwed. I somehow doubt they are that stupid.

The Suns are the one team that I virtually haven't seen this year. I've watched heaps of GWS, but not the Suns.

I know Caddy had a reputation for being a tough on-baller and was a top 10 draft pick, but is he more of the same ? We're desperate for legspeed into our midfield. Is Caddy quick, or does he just have average pace ? Viney's pace is ok, but he's not quick and Trengove, Moloney, Jones, Howe, etc also don't have blistering speed.

If Caddy isn't quick I'm not sure he adds much value.

I'm not surprised by this. After watching your boy Jeremy run around for a couple of hours, I'd expect you need to have a break from any for of TV let alone another AFL match. Perhaps even throw in a cold shower there somewhere too.

Posted

Maybe it's just coincidence, but I've seen way more of GWS than Gold Coast this year too. Does that mean I need a cold shower ? Caddy isn't overly quick, but he is hard and has smarts. It's obvious the main ingredients we lack in our midfield dynamic are speed and smarts. The comments on Viney are valid, he is relatively quick across the ground, but not what you would reference as elite speed.

You will notice, if you haven't already that GWS spread very well when in possession. They have speed. And I believe it will trouble us this week if our mids aren't getting their share of the ball out of the middle.

Posted

Boak would obviously be a good get, but i reckon his asking price will be pretty bloody steep. Caddy will be cheaper (and prob not as good i suppose) and he fits the right age profile ie we would get 10 years from him if he stays ft whereas we might only get 6-7 from Boak who is 3 and a bit years older i think. to be honest i haven't really seen much of Boak either so i'm not in very good position to judge value

IMO we need both 'fresh draftees' with high class, but also hard bodies who are good players as well, to give us an imediate lift on the ladder.

Boak would certainly help out with this, but would cost one of those early picks.

Posted

Yep, I don't see Beams as more than support.

Can you find Dawes in the structure?

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Unfortunately, your content contains terms that we do not allow. Please edit your content to remove the highlighted words below.
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

• Recently Browsing   0 members

• No registered users viewing this page.
  • Demonland Forums  

• Match Previews, Reports & Articles  

TRAINING: Wednesday 18th December 2024

It was the final session of 2024 before the Christmas/New Years break and the Demonland Trackwatchers were out in force to bring you the following preseason training observations from Wednesday's session at Gosch's Paddock. DEMONLAND'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS TRAINING: Petracca, Oliver, Melksham, Woewodin, Langdon, Rivers, Billings, Sestan, Viney, Fullarton, Adams, Langford, Lever, Petty, Spargo, Fritsch, Bowey, Laurie, Kozzy, Mentha, George, May, Gawn, Turner Tholstrup, Kentfi

Demonland |
    Training Reports

TRAINING: Monday 16th December 2024

Demonland Trackwatchers braved the sweltering heat to bring you their Preseason Training observations from Gosch's Paddock on Monday morning. SCOOP JUNIOR'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS I went down today in what were pretty ordinary conditions - hot and windy. When I got there, they were doing repeat simulations of a stoppage on the wing and then moving the ball inside 50. There seemed to be an emphasis on handballing out of the stoppage, usually there were 3 or 4 handballs to

Demonland |
    Training Reports 1

TRAINING: Friday 13th December 2024

With only a few sessions left before the Christmas break a number of Demonlander Trackwatchers headed down to Gosch's Paddock to bring you their observations from this morning's preseason training session. DEMONLAND'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS PLAYERS IN ATTENDANCE: JVR, Salem, McVee, Petracca, Windsor, Viney, Lever, Spargo, Turner, Gawn, Tholstrup, Oliver, Billings, Langdon, Laurie, Bowey, Melksham, Langford, Lindsay, Jefferson, Howes, McAdam, Rivers, TMac, Adams, Hore, Verrall,

Demonland |
    Training Reports

TRAINING: Wednesday 11th December 2024

A few new faces joined our veteran Demonland Trackwatchers on a beautiful morning out at Gosch's Paddock for another Preseason Training Session. BLWNBA'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS I arrived at around 1015 and the squad was already out on the track. The rehab group consisted of XL, McAdam, Melksham, Spargo and Sestan. Lever was also on restricted duties and appeared to be in runners.  The main group was doing end-to-end transition work in a simulated match situation. Ball mov

Demonland |
    Training Reports

TRAINING: Monday 9th December 2024

Once again Demonland Trackwatchers were in attendance at the first preseason training session for the week at Gosch's Paddock to bring you their observations. WAYNE WUSSELL'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS Looks like very close to 100% attendance. Kelani is back. Same group in rehab. REHAB: Spargo, Lever, Lindsay, Brown & McAdam. Haven’t laid eyes on Fritsch or AMW yet. Fritsch sighted. One unknown mature standing with Goody. Noticing Nathan Bassett much m

Demonland |
    Training Reports

TRAINING: Friday 6th December 2024

Some veteran Demonland Trackwatchers ventured down to Gosch's Paddock to bring you the following observations from another Preseason Training Session. WAYNE WUSSELL'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS Rehab: Lever, Spargo, McAdam, Lindsay, Brown Sinnema is excellent by foot and has a decent vertical leap. Windsor is training with the Defenders. Windsor's run won't be lost playing off half back. In 19 games in 2024 he kicked 8 goals as a winger. I see him getting shots at g

Demonland |
    Training Reports

TRAINING: Wednesday 4th December 2024

A couple of intrepid Demonland Trackwatchers headed down to Gosch's Paddock for the midweek Preseason Training Session to bring you the following observations. Demonland's own Whispering Jack was not in attendance but he kicked off proceedings with the following summary of all the Preseason Training action to date. We’re already a month into the MFC preseason (if you started counting when the younger players in the group began the campaign along with some of the more keen older heads)

Demonland |
    Training Reports 2

BEST OF THE REST by Meggs

Meggs' Review of Melbourne's AFLW Season 9 ... Congratulations first off to the North Melbourne Kangaroos on winning the 2024 AFLW Premiership. Roos Coach Darren Crocker has assembled a team chock-full of competitive and highly skilful players who outclassed the Brisbane Lions in the Grand Final to remain undefeated throughout Season 9. A huge achievement in what was a dominant season by North. For Melbourne fans, the season was unfortunately one of frustration and disappointment

Demonland |
    AFLW Melbourne Demons 3

TRAINING: Monday 2nd December 2024

There were many Demonland Trackwatchers braving the morning heat at Gosch's Paddock today to witness the players go through the annual 2km time trials. DEMONLAND'S PRESEASON TRAINING OBSERVATIONS Max, TMac & Melksham the first ones out on the track.  Runners are on. Guess they will be doing a lot of running.  TRAINING: Max, TMac, Melksham, Woey, Rivers, AMW, May, Sharp, Kolt, Adams, Sparrow, Jefferson, Billings, Petty, chandler, Howes, Lever, Kozzy, Mentha, Fullarton, Sal

Demonland |
    Training Reports 1
  • Tell a friend

Love Demonland? Tell a friend!