Daniel Nicholson

Posted

A very reliable player, never goes to ground and competes 100%.

Can break tackles and has great speed, why hasn't he been playing from the get go.

I have been a critic of his kicking but his kicking was outstanding tonight. What was really great to see was he took on opponents one-on-one, believing he could win and he usually did. If you watch the replay histeam focused gut running was of high quality. A really good game.

Not reliable by foot near goal in the past but we need his pace and have to persist with him. That disallowed shot at goal was a ripper, maybe he has worked on that skill failing.

Gun, he is a jet, and not only does he provide dash and something offensively, he negates his opponent and does the one percenters

He and Blease have both begun to learn when its appropriate to use their pace, and conversely when to take the safe option. Nicho definitely has a future.

I love the kid. He isn't afraid to run, he breaks the lines, he is smart with where he runs to in spreading from stoppages, he is strong/courageous to boot (I reckon he blocked the holes in front of Hurley, Ryder and Crameri about four times last night), throws himself into stoppages when needed.

Of course, like many of our defenders, his kicking is a really weak point, but I thought it was worse last year than what I've seen this year, and I think he's improved his run and carry game and his strength.

Definitely worth persisting with. I think the run we are getting from Nicholson, Blease, Jones and Grimes, and to a lesser extent, Morton and Bail, is important to our team.

Second game back and it was a ripper. His run and spread was excellent and provided the gut running we have desperately lacked. His kicking is of course his achilles heel but tonight it was good. Anybody who has watched this kid train wouldn't be surprised by what they saw tonight. One to watch.

one of the fittest blokes on the list and his ability to spread and take the game on is a credit to himself. i rate him highly and glad he is back in the side. must play for the rest of the year along with blease.

Love Nicho but thought his confidence took a big dive after the Geelong game last year. It's a tough game and he needs to push himself 100% of the time and he will make it onto the senior list as a good player for us. He really works hard and has pace to burn, he has a good long kick but as is mentioned sometimes misses the mark. Plenty of room for improvement and the temperament to make the improvement.

Really like him. He's a modern day footballer... tough enough, gut runs enough, very fit but importantly he has useful pace. I think the yanks call it "quickness" as opposed to speed... I still don't really understand the difference. Maybe they mean acceleration... If that's the case, Nicho has it... so once he knows how to shut a small forward down, he can be a punishing defender I reckon.

Definite keep, in a list riddled with players that need to go.

He also had a one match internal suspension which delayed him playing for Casey for an extra week when he was coming back from injury too. Hopefully, he has learnt from that tough love. Looks good, just maybe needs to try not to do too much with the footy all the time by foot.

He is a fantastic acquisition for the club.

Cool, calm, composed, courageous - a great fit for our defence.

Really like him. He's a modern day footballer... tough enough, gut runs enough, very fit but importantly he has useful pace. I think the yanks call it "quickness" as opposed to speed... I still don't really understand the difference. Maybe they mean acceleration... If that's the case, Nicho has it... so once he knows how to shut a small forward down, he can be a punishing defender I reckon.

Definite keep, in a list riddled with players that need to go.

I think it is quickness of thought and decision making and not just raw leg speed. He has it.

Him in the backline means Grimes can get in the guts...

That's good.