Posted

Leigh Matthews....can't stand the thug. What he did to Peter Giles, Steve Smith and Neil McMullin.

Someone with a peripheral interest said to me yesterday...."why don't you try him as coach? All the other well-performed coaches have been signed up!"

"Too old....the game's paased him by" , I said.

"What does that matter? All the senior coach does is motivate. The assistants plan all the tactics. He just co-ordinates it all." he said.

I thought about this. Think of the incredible success he had at Brisbane. Think of his greatness as a player. The guy's a winner. Perhaps he's got what we lack.

Perhaps it's worth giving him a chance to take up one last challenge?

What do Demonlanders think?

• Replies 57

Posted

Leigh Matthews....can't stand the thug. What he did to Peter Giles, Steve Smith and Neil McMullin.

Someone with a peripheral interest said to me yesterday...."why don't you try him as coach? All the other well-performed coaches have been signed up!"

"Too old....the game's paased him by" , I said.

"What does that matter? All the senior coach does is motivate. The assistants plan all the tactics. He just co-ordinates it all." he said.

I thought about this. Think of the incredible success he had at Brisbane. Think of his greatness as a player. The guy's a winner. Perhaps he's got what we lack.

Perhaps it's worth giving him a chance to take up one last challenge?

What do Demonlanders think?

This is being discussed now on the Malthouse thread.

Posted

I like Leigh Matthews.

I admit he was a "thug" but (believe it or not!) he grew up barracking for the Demons as a kid. Of course he ended up being a champion player for Hawthorn and won Premierships at Collingwood and the Brisbane Lions.

But why not give Leigh Matthews a call? Why not at least look at that option?

He is a 4 time Premiership coach!

You don't get any better credentials than that!

Mark Robinson from the Herald Sun agrees. As can be seen from this article here: http://www.heraldsun...f-1226137241269.

Posted

Never forget watching him play - against MFC - all those years ago

Ran past a Demons player having his first game for the MFC

Whacked him in the side of the face as was his wont - broke his jaw, and the guy never played again

Often wondered what happened to that player

Posted (edited)

I like Leigh Matthews.

I admit he was a "thug" but (believe it or not!) he grew up barracking for the Demons as a kid. Of course he ended up being a champion player for Hawthorn and won Premierships at Collingwood and the Brisbane Lions.

But why not give Leigh Matthews a call? Why not at least look at that option?

He is a 4 time Premiership coach!

You don't get any better credentials than that!

Mark Robinson from the Herald Sun agrees. As can be seen from this article here: http://www.heraldsun...f-1226137241269

Leigh Matthews takes the Hard Jobs and succeeds.

He got rid of the colliWobbles! He took on the Lions and stitched them together and formed them into a champion team, much to Nathan Buckleys displeasure. 3 Peat!

He's a Successor!

Posted

Thomo would cancel his membership and I'd buy another to make up for it. Might have been an absolute dog as a player, but I'll bet there was a few dogs played for MFC and every other team in those days, as that's the way footy was back then. Frankly, I don't remember him as a player cause I'm 31, but I do remember him as a premiership coach. And that is enough for me. Sign him the F up. He would be the rocket up the khyber pass that our boys need I reckon. As JJC said, he's not the tactical coach, he's the motivator. Get him!

Posted

Any idea promoted by Mark Robinson has a lot of work to do to gain enough credibility for me to even consider it.

Especially when he is on record as saying no, no, no, no. That's it for him. Sells papers and gets everyone talking though...

It won't be long before the spotlight rumour mill shines back on someone like Paul Roos.

Posted

Never forget watching him play - against MFC - all those years ago

Ran past a Demons player having his first game for the MFC

Whacked him in the side of the face as was his wont - broke his jaw, and the guy never played again

Often wondered what happened to that player

It was Neil McMullin. I think it was his fourth game. Never played again. Became a surgeon at the Childrens Hospital. Still a keen Demon supporter.Occasionally has boarded young interrstate Demon reccruits. Has retired from surgery to become a player manager.

I wonder if Neil would like "Barney" as coach!

Posted

Thomo would cancel his membership and I'd buy another to make up for it. Might have been an absolute dog as a player, but I'll bet there was a few dogs played for MFC and every other team in those days, as that's the way footy was back then. Frankly, I don't remember him as a player cause I'm 31, but I do remember him as a premiership coach. And that is enough for me. Sign him the F up. He would be the rocket up the khyber pass that our boys need I reckon. As JJC said, he's not the tactical coach, he's the motivator. Get him!

Doubt it will happen but would love it if it did .

Make no mistake Kento , Matthews as a player was awesome .

From wikipedia

As a player he is the official "Best player of the 20th century", according to the AFL, is a Legend in the AFL Hall of Fame, is on the Hawthorn and AFL Teams of the Centuries, has polled the most Brownlow votes without winning a Brownlow and is one of the most successful AFL coaches of all time.[1] In 2008, Matthews was named second, behind Wayne Carey, as part of Mike Sheahan's list of the top 50 players of all time, published in the book 'The Australian Game of Football', which was released by the AFL to celebrate 150 years of Australian rules football.
Posted

Lost all respect for Leigh Matthews when as 16 year old i went to Princess Park to see us play the Hawks and Steve Smith (in a master move from Barass - i think he was coaching) was giving him an absolute bath. The ball 30 metres away, Smith had thumped the ball away from Matthews for the umpteenth time and LM round armed him knocking him out. He had no chance, never saw it coming and had to be carried from the ground.

Couldn't beat him fairly so king hit him. Don't believe the rubbish about the era etc etc. Dog's act pure and simple. Never saw Robbie do anything remotely similar (or Keith Greig, Wilson, Brian Wood, Greg Wells and any number of other top players)

Posted

I would cancel my membership. Absolute dog.

Yeah cause the nice coaches tactic has worked

For the last 48 years, who knows maybe lethal

Could punch Cale in the side of the head and

Let him know he's [censored] ways will not be tolerated!!!!

Guest Jack Donaghy
Posted

Fortunately, I think even Matthews has more tact than that.

Posted

You can't judge a person by what they do on the sporting field. You can only judge them by what they do off the field.

If there were stories of LM king hitting unsuspecting people in public places then sure, write him off as a thug. But if it's all left on the field, don't make the judgement.

A little bit of white line fever would be good for our kids and it might bring in that bit of mongrel that I feel the boys most certainly need. If they could learn to turn it on when they walk out there and then turn it off when all is done and dusted, this group would stop playing like football is a job and start playing the game like it's a passion.

Nothing wrong with that.

Posted

Leigh Mathews is my number 1 choice, however, he stated on radio;

quote "I have no desire to coach" - Leigh Matthews

It sounded authentic

Posted

Leigh Mathews is my number 1 choice, however, he stated on radio;

quote "I have no desire to coach" - Leigh Matthews

It sounded authentic

It always does sound authentic until he changes his mind, then again it could be another smoke screen to take the attention away from Malthouse.

Guest Jack Donaghy
Posted

When he's involved in the coach selection process at another club (adelaide), I doubt he'd even contemplate an offer.

Posted (edited)

Lost all respect for Leigh Matthews when as 16 year old i went to Princess Park to see us play the Hawks and Steve Smith (in a master move from Barass - i think he was coaching) was giving him an absolute bath. The ball 30 metres away, Smith had thumped the ball away from Matthews for the umpteenth time and LM round armed him knocking him out. He had no chance, never saw it coming and had to be carried from the ground.

Couldn't beat him fairly so king hit him. Don't believe the rubbish about the era etc etc. Dog's act pure and simple. Never saw Robbie do anything remotely similar (or Keith Greig, Wilson, Brian Wood, Greg Wells and any number of other top players)

Yeah mate , I saw that aswell from the cheer squad behind the goals while wearing Steven Smiths number on the back of my duffell coat .

I was ropeable at the time but it doesn't take away the fact he was a brilliant 4 time Premeirship player and 4 time Premiership coach .

The man knows all about success .

Edited by Fork 'em

Posted

If not MM then Id entertain Mathews. A premiership would be adequate compensation for his actions on Flower that arvo at artic park.

Do I dare suggest Laidley as game day under Mathews ?

Posted

Absolutely loved Matthews ( except when he hit my boys).

1/ When he played he dished it out but copped plenty in return and never as much as said boo... ( unlike Greg Williams)

2/ I even like his refreshing honesty now - "what do you think of the assessment that when you played you were a bit of thug" - answered "unfortunate but fair - if I could have my time again there a few actions I would take back".

Matthews is honest and open.