Posted

Personally I'd like to keep him for the next 1 - 2 more years, he's a great backup up if Moloney or Mckenzie go down or lose form. Without Junior we need to keep some grunt around. With the likes of Tapscott, Gysberts and Blease coming through he's a polar bear facing climate change.

and that's what the thread was about, keep him until we have a ready replacement or he becomes like a D Swan player. I can't see another on our list of his ilk so he stays. He gives his all to the club we love, and deserves to keep his spot on the list. LOVE YOU JONESEY!

Posted

and that's what the thread was about, keep him until we have a ready replacement or he becomes like a D Swan player. I can't see another on our list of his ilk so he stays. He gives his all to the club we love, and deserves to keep his spot on the list. LOVE YOU JONESEY!

No I don't think you do know what the thread is about - I'll give it one more try with a different tack - you like to have a VB with your counter lunch, it's just not the same without it and you've just got to have it. But things have changed at the pub and you can't just buy a pot - you have to buy a six pack and you can't take it home with you and what's more it's going to cost $40. Still got to have that VB?

Posted

No I don't think you do know what the thread is about - I'll give it one more try with a different tack - you like to have a VB with your counter lunch, it's just not the same without it and you've just got to have it. But things have changed at the pub and you can't just buy a pot - you have to buy a six pack and you can't take it home with you and what's more it's going to cost $40. Still got to have that VB?

As the OP i reckon he probably does know what thread is about...

Interesting analogy - I'm off to the pub.

Posted

As the OP i reckon he probably does know what thread is about...

Like the first dog in space knows what rocket science is about.

Posted (edited)

Agreed. Showed plenty in the last 2 games of this year + the entire of season 2009 to make me think he was be an awesome player.

Not because he'd actually come out and dominated afl games regularly, but because he has shown some elite attributes for afl, that could very well 'come together' one day in the near future

haha plenty in 2 games.

Surely jones has had more input to our season than morton, (disregarding morton didn't play for ages)

Jones > Morton. this year

And also i dont know how to do 2 quotes in 1 post but RPFC are you having a laugh mate? cant command a spot in the 22 if you are 20, but being aged 22 to command a spot is over the hill?

you are a fair dinkum joke pal

Edited by Deelirium

Posted

haha plenty in 2 games.

Surely jones has had more input to our season than morton, (disregarding morton didn't play for ages)

Jones > Morton. this year

Jones had a better year than about 25 Demons - including Watts - does this mean that Jones has more to give in the future because he gave more in 2010?

And also i dont know how to do 2 quotes in 1 post but RPFC are you having a laugh mate? cant command a spot in the 22 if you are 20, but being aged 22 to command a spot is over the hill?

you are a fair dinkum joke pal

I have not said Jones is over the hill, in fact I said he could be apart of our flag team.

But he isn't Flag Core and that makes him vulnerable.

I wouldn't be comparing Jones and Morton. Completely different players, with wildly different attributes and weaknesses.

And I think you are straying from the 'JCB Abverb Rule'...

You need to say that what I write is a 'fair dinkum joke pal,' not myself - or else you're attacking a fellow poster and people are very sensitive about that...

One might even offer to punch you in the face for even a perceived attack resulting from the inability to read the 'tone' of text.

Fair Dinkum Joke, signing off...

Posted (edited)

Jones had a better year than about 25 Demons - including Watts - does this mean that Jones has more to give in the future because he gave more in 2010?

I have not said Jones is over the hill, in fact I said he could be apart of our flag team.

But he isn't Flag Core and that makes him vulnerable.

I wouldn't be comparing Jones and Morton. Completely different players, with wildly different attributes and weaknesses.

And I think you are straying from the 'JCB Abverb Rule'...

You need to say that what I write is a 'fair dinkum joke pal,' not myself - or else you're attacking a fellow poster and people are very sensitive about that...

One might even offer to punch you in the face for even a perceived attack resulting from the inability to read the 'tone' of text.

Fair Dinkum Joke, signing off...

Ok great, better than 25 players,

What you write is a fair dinkum joke. And this isn't based on just this post alone, rolling over the dean bailey thread and others moaning and groaning about jones, and boosting cale morton like its the second coming. I have to say, whilst we're on personal attacks, i will take your lawyer approach to it and say this: "A certain user who may, or may not be called RPFC, writes tripe"

And i usually let peoples opinions slide, because hey, sometimes i just don't agree. But its because you post sooooo much crap that i just had to say something

Your opinion is rubbish. Not you. Your opinion.

By the way i like your new sign off, should be your username.

One might even kick your teeth out if you threatened someone like that too.

Edited by Deelirium

Posted

Hahhahaha

textbook ignorance.

That post, I mean.

Not the poster.

Seriously Deelirium, I think you're missing the point here.

Most of that post by rfpc is jocularly referencing a range of ridiculous posts by other posters.

The demonland equivalent of quoting Family Guy in conversation.

Besides that, I do see merit in his argument.

No one has said Jones is over the hill, but his scope for improvement and his limitations has been measured.

As such, he isn't "flag core", but still a handy player.

Morton has much much more potential to improve.

He is expected to grow into a player that is very much "flag core" by the nature of the attributes he has displayed to this point, and what he could potentially do with them as he develops.

Re: going "the ball", not "the man"... Fair enough, the opinion is the ball.

But you "go at it" with considered arguments. Otherwise you might be unwittingly "going" yourself.

(yes, guilty as charged)

Posted

Ok great, better than 25 players,

What you write is a fair dinkum joke. And this isn't based on just this post alone, rolling over the dean bailey thread and others moaning and groaning about jones, and boosting cale morton like its the second coming. I have to say, whilst we're on personal attacks, i will take your lawyer approach to it and say this: "A certain user who may, or may not be called RPFC, writes tripe"

And i usually let peoples opinions slide, because hey, sometimes i just don't agree. But its because you post sooooo much crap that i just had to say something

Your opinion is rubbish. Not you. Your opinion.

By the way i like your new sign off, should be your username.

One might even kick your teeth out if you threatened someone like that too.

Apparently the 'tone' in text is hard to see for a number of people...

I would be far more respected on this forum than you Deelirium.

In both content and tone.

Is that fair dinkum enough?

Jeez...

Posted

Our side is talented, but not exactly "tough". Jones is too tough to say goodbye to. If he goes, and Beamer gets injured, we pretty much have an engine room full of school boys. Good luck getting into the top 8 with no physical presence inside.

Posted

Our side is talented, but not exactly "tough". Jones is too tough to say goodbye to. If he goes, and Beamer gets injured, we pretty much have an engine room full of school boys. Good luck getting into the top 8 with no physical presence inside.

My thoughts too. I would assume that the FD would be doing everything they could to keep him and would only consider a trade if he told us there was no way he was staying.

Posted (edited)

I don't think Jones will go. If he does, it would be disappointing but it wouldn't hurt the team too much. He is a great player but not exactly the heart & soul of the club, we don't exactly win games off the performance of Nathan Jones. Would love to see him stay but wouldn't be overly disappointed to see him go (with fair compensation of course).

Edited by Deez Nutz

Posted

Colin Sylvia says hi.

Posted (edited)

McKenzie, Frawley, & I think thats as far as it seems to go?

Outside of mainly Beamer, it gets thin, then Jones in the mids, then thin air.

Oh yeah, & Col.

Posted

My thoughts too. I would assume that the FD would be doing everything they could to keep him and would only consider a trade if he told us there was no way he was staying.

We definately need him at the moment, but I think he might struggle in another 2 years.

So I'm wondering if his value is highest now. Don't want to sound like a merchant, but we are on a serious rebuild that has to work.

Jones is currently on about, 92 senior games. So I'd probably see him staying on.

Posted

Don't forget Brad Green in the tough man equation.

He can easily go into the middle if needed.

Posted

Don't forget Brad Green in the tough man equation.

He can easily go into the middle if needed.

Green is courageous, but not what I would call tough. He is not a big inside ball winner.

Posted

We're talking about a specific kind of toughness here. Sylvia's main toughness is in marking contests, and he certainly does well in high-speed collisions on a wing, with some of the most ferocious tackling going round at the moment. But he's rarely the last guy getting up off the deck to contest the next stoppage. McKenzie and Jones are the real inside players. Moloney does this a bit too. Frawley is tough, but one-on-one against the bigger players and in pack-marking contests. Green likewise does the glorious things, and knows how to take a tackle, but he's far more use doing exactly this in the forward line. Any team in the league would love to have that left boot in there. Can you imagine if we traded him when we were going to? He would have won a Coleman.

Posted

Clubs are built around their 'culture'

We have sacrificed enough winning culture to get a list that can develop into a premiership list, and we need to push forward to in developing a strong club culture for Melbourne. Trading Nathan Jones would be a massive step back in developing the 'culture'. He bleeds red and blue, he is a club man and is still young and can easily be in our top 10, and besides all that he is an absolute workhorse who just wants to win. I can understand being ruthless about older blokes and letting them go, but Nathan Jones isn't in that category and that's they won't trade him unless he is happy where he is going and wants to go there...