Skip to content
View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

CASEY: Rd 01 vs Footscray VFL

8 hours ago, sisso said:

How bad is Melky? Just a knock or something more serious?

Bad enough that he could not kick on his right foot. Right knee bandaged after seeming to hurt it quite early in the game.

i was hoping to see Ah-Mu play in this game. i couldn't see where he may have been injured…was he available for this game ?

On 21/03/2026 at 18:16, dazzledavey36 said:

Adams, Laurie and Henderson will be the first three chopped at the end of the year. Just real nothing players. I had hopes for Laurie but I have already accepted I am wrong on this one.

AMW was super as was Heath. Moniz-Wakefield is exactly what we are missing down back. Speed, toughness and a good user as well.

I'll give you speed and toughness with AMW, although he generally doesn't play near anyone. Which will fit right in to our current backline.

Completely disagree about his ball use. Kicks a lovely drop punt that routinely goes straight to the opposition or to complete mismatches. I'd have him forward once he gets match fitness because I just don't see him ever defending or using it well enough to not be a liability down back and god knows we could do with someone with some speed and combative style in the forward line.

Also think there's a chance Jack Henderson stays on if we get him back fit, he was ok given how much preseason he's missed. He's never going to be more than depth at AFL level but if there's a team that needs some half forward depth it's us. I had it confirmed he was injured in the Essendon AFL game last year and they mucked around trying to manage him through VFL games last year until they finally gave up on it.

4 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

I'll give you speed and toughness with AMW, although he generally doesn't play near anyone. Which will fit right in to our current backline.

Completely disagree about his ball use. Kicks a lovely drop punt that routinely goes straight to the opposition or to complete mismatches. I'd have him forward once he gets match fitness because I just don't see him ever defending or using it well enough to not be a liability down back and god knows we could do with someone with some speed and combative style in the forward line.

Also think there's a chance Jack Henderson stays on if we get him back fit, he was ok given how much preseason he's missed. He's never going to be more than depth at AFL level but if there's a team that needs some half forward depth it's us. I had it confirmed he was injured in the Essendon AFL game last year and they mucked around trying to manage him through VFL games last year until they finally gave up on it.

Think you watched a different game with Moniz-Wakefield.

He went at 84% disposal efficiency and had 0 turnovers for the game.

Ball use is fine, he's been a pet hate of yours for a long time.

ANW and Bonner were clearly our best two players.

Heath also had an impact , although was dragged and pulled at every ruck contest with the umps ignoring it and letting the Dogs ruck interfere in must contests.

XT was okay and you could see signs of his future role as a steady half back.

Berry was quite good. Could see him competing hard and trying to create run

Tommy Matthews energy and goal sense will be an asset in his future. You could see a Papley like player in his future.

On 20/03/2026 at 09:40, Palace Dees said:

I was much more into VFA than VFL in the 60's and 70's because of my father's involvement. Mad Preston supporter until I played with Coburg (also red and blue - Essendon style) in '72 and so swapped. I used to go every week, even to Port where you took your life in your hands. They were the worst bunch of supporters ever! Thugs, like their team.

It was Channel 0 (later 10) that broadcast the VFA in those days. Remember Phil Gibbs and later Phil Cleary? I loved the 16 man a side game. So fast and open. Played like the AFL is this year with the addition of the obligatory all-in 'blue' each week.

Anyway, where am I? Crikey, the calendar says 2026! Time for a shower.

"Nurse! 👋"

That is a magnificent photo of Geof Tempest and the late Johnny Booth playing for the Caulfield Bears in the Geelong hoops. I think that photo was in the first semi at Junction Oval in Tony Jewell's last year as coach before he went to Richmond. Go Bears

1 hour ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Think you watched a different game with Moniz-Wakefield.

He went at 84% disposal efficiency and had 0 turnovers for the game.

Ball use is fine, he's been a pet hate of yours for a long time.

He’s not a pet hate, I like him, but he’s a developmental player with a heap of work to do even before missing an entire year. People see 30 touches and think he’s ready to be a consistent AFL player.

Where are you seeing 0 turnovers? The afl app has everyone listed as 0 turnovers. Otherwise disposal efficiency means little for a half back who had 3 contested possessions and a stack of kickouts.

Just now, DeeSpencer said:

He’s not a pet hate, I like him, but he’s a developmental player with a heap of work to do even before missing an entire year. People see 30 touches and think he’s ready to be a consistent AFL player.

Where are you seeing 0 turnovers? The afl app has everyone listed as 0 turnovers. Otherwise disposal efficiency means little for a half back who had 3 contested possessions and a stack of kickouts.

Just now, DeeSpencer said:

His kicks were fine mate. Again, you're looking for the smallest of margins

The fact that he was able to come back after a horrific injury and play at the standard and impact like he did is a testament of his character and resilience.

The fact that you're still looking at picking through minor deficiencies after a 12 month layoff is just bizarre.

Anyone is always going to make minor mistakes on their first game back in 12 months.

On 21/03/2026 at 17:09, binman said:

Agee on Taylor - i was disappointed with his game, though was better in the second half. Agree he needs to get AFL fit and strong, but i was more concerned with his body language, which i thought was poor at times. And I'm hoping perhaps he was under the weather or some such as his intensity and competitiveness was not what i expected it to be, both from the perspective of it being his first game and that competitiveness was supposed to be his one wood.

There's something about Taylor and his demeanour that is gnawing at me. Almost like he expects it to come (not unusual in talented juniors). He has good traits and skills but I hope he gets the right nurturing before we blood him on the ones.

On 19/03/2026 at 15:10, binman said:

barracked for Port Melbourn as kid, because they were red and blue

Same here. Exact reason. They used to get some decent crowds. Or mabe the grounds were just smaller. I think I remenber my dad taking me to some grounds where people could watch from there cars . Would that have been vfa?

And toot like hell after a goal.

I remember having a gutful of jam donuts.

Dogs are a powerful unit and had nearly a full strength team (squad only missing Weightman & Vandermeer). And at home are always very tough.

Forwards. Casey really missed “the talls”. AJ, Jeffo & Kentfield (not sure also why young Ah-mu wasnt playing , assume also injured). The lack of a quality tall target inside 50 was noticeable. Bowden & Pipicelli are new to the level and were competing but not threatening. Goals were created often through smart play or running opportunities. Cross, Matthews and Craven crafted goals but often the dogs repelled our attack with intercept marks.

Tall defence was an issue. Adams can negate but he seemingly didn’t spend much time in the gym over summer. There is a big doubt that he’ll be an answer as an AFL key defender. With May retiring and Tmcd on his final year, hard to see why they didn’t bring in a key defender as the SSP signing.

Of course the ridiculous fixture had us playing this week (when MFC goes to Perth) and a bye week 2 when MFC play Carlton in Melbourne. Tmcd as a travelling emergency would have been a big presence for Casey, either back or forward. So he might have to wait until April to get a game now.

Midfield. Also the Dees and Casey have recruited in a lot of half forwards and “flamkers”. Laurie was the only experienced midfielder in the team with Onley very raw (and building after last years injury) and D’Angelo a young suburban player coming up. Stanley is more of a wingman (he looked good in patches and will be an asset). Lual Is also an outside type who was a little disappointing given his AFL experience . Henderson battled on but again back after an injury so will get better. Cheffers looked good with the footy and is one youngster to keep an eye on.

Our standouts were clearly Bonner, ANW and Heath. Bonner won the footy and ran hard to create and overlap. His left foot is still AFL quality. AMW return was excellent. He’s super competitive. He hit targets. Another few games and he’ll be promoted. Heath is strong and despite being grabbed and pulled by his opponent, he won the ruck dual (no help from the umps). It’s tempting to have him v blues to support Max (and keep Petty & JVR away from 2nd ruck duties)

Box Hill Hawks in a fortnight. Another very tough assignment coming up.

Many seem to have forgotten that, pre-injury, Andy had already played a handy string of games in the Ones (Rounds 17-22, 2024). This included a 16 possession (9 contested) game against eventual Premiers, Brisbane. In pre-season, 2025, he was looking like a permanent addition to our backline.

24 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

Bit harsh they’ve only got two

21 minutes ago, waynewussell said:

Many seem to have forgotten that, pre-injury, Andy had already played a handy string of games in the Ones (Rounds 17-22, 2024). This included a 16 possession (9 contested) game against eventual Premiers, Brisbane. In pre-season, 2025, he was looking like a permanent addition to our backline.

16 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

ANW and Bonner were clearly our best two players.

Heath also had an impact , although was dragged and pulled at every ruck contest with the umps ignoring it and letting the Dogs ruck interfere in must contests.

XT was okay and you could see signs of his future role as a steady half back.

Berry was quite good. Could see him competing hard and trying to create run

Tommy Matthews energy and goal sense will be an asset in his future. You could see a Papley like player in his future.

It was interesting when you compare Berry with XT. Berry just that little bit older and thus a solid body and XT with a slim teenager build. In a game where Dogs were packed with experienced AFL players and bulked up VFL types, it as no wonder Berry looked better than XT. XT might get an AFL game ahead of Berry on a skill level, but next year it will be interesting as Berry will have picked up more skill and Taylor's body will have filled out.

On 21/03/2026 at 17:09, binman said:

I went and kept a close eye on our listed players.

AMW was excellent all day and looked a cut above. Looked fit too. he'll be in the ones next week or the week after i reckon.

I thought Paddy Cross was pretty good, and Laurie was good too.

Agee on Taylor - i was disappointed with his game, though was better in the second half. Agree he needs to get AFL fit and strong, but i was more concerned with his body language, which i thought was poor at times. And I'm hoping perhaps he was under the weather or some such as his intensity and competitiveness was not what i expected it to be, both from the perspective of it being his first game and that competitiveness was supposed to be his one wood.

Mathews worked hard and is a natural crumbing small forward. A lot to like.

Ricky Mentha was poor. Had a couple of bad fumbles and looked little lost a times.

I thought Heath played well - a big unit for young guy. Seemed to dominate the tap outs but was not on the same page with our mids and the Dogs just sharked him all game.

Agree on Heath. Can't believe some on here thought he had a bad game. Dogs mids were just too good, but I noted Moose's follow up work from a throw up, below the knees and hands, and his ability to go contest to contest. Was relentlessly mauled around the back of the neck by his centre bounce opponent. Lot to work with there and I would be happy to see him in the ones to relieve a bit of pressure on the other Max, and allow us to park a ruckman in the fwd line - surprised King didn't put Ganwy down there while we were bombing it in.

I thought our effort against a strong AFL listed player side was great.

3 hours ago, Redleg said:

I agree. Good depth on that list.

Edited by layzie

Have not watched a 2nd s game in years ,what stood out to me ,bowling green surface to play on ,most players looked really skinny and the amount of interchanges happening ,also what's the point of having half the team not being able to have a crack in the 1 s

3 hours ago, Redleg said:

it's funny, isn't it - we've gone from a super strong midfield full of big bodies to very little depth

i was surprised that laurie was preferred as a half forward; i just can't see him getting a go at that role in the afl - he's a centre clearance type who needs to play a sam mitchell-type role

if only he had sitchell's skills and smarts...

16 hours ago, JOHNNY DEE said:

,also what's the point of having half the team not being able to have a crack in the 1 s

certainly doesn't make for team cohesion when as a Casey player you know that no matter how well you play you can be dropped for a returning AFL player and of course you rarely train as a team.

But it is the modern world and if anything I suspect they will look for more cost cutting measures rather than improve the comp

Simply playing on inner city grounds would make me happy

51 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

certainly doesn't make for team cohesion when as a Casey player you know that no matter how well you play you can be dropped for a returning AFL player and of course you rarely train as a team.

But it is the modern world and if anything I suspect they will look for more cost cutting measures rather than improve the comp

Simply playing on inner city grounds would make me happy

Cost cutting for what, and realistically should you not have a back up for every position for 1st team or is Aussie Rules going to evolve into a totally midfield game .