View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

2 hours ago, DubDee said:

I'm glad Stinnear is getting looked at for opportunities.

Great coach and seems like a great fella

Reinvented the W team many times and the team spirit and game plan is always solid

Yep and those opportunities should have been with our club.

Love the bloke and agree there's more to achieve with this group

You'd think we would have re-signed him by now.

Hope the whispers don't unsettle the team. Maybe it might steel them?

Can't wait for the game tomorrow.

30 minutes ago, FarNorthernD said:

My wife has a betting account. It has us at 11/1 !!. I don’t bet but put 100 on it as completely ludicrous odds.

Amen, it's a two horse race.

Madness.

• Author

❤️💙GAMEDAY!!!❤️💙

We’re in a [censored] Prelim!!

Yesterday at Gosch’s there was an air of quiet confidence. No one’s getting ahead of themselves, they’re all grounded and are well aware of the gravity of the task ahead.

Among his many talents Mick is skilled at keeping them from being overwhelmed on an occasion like this*

I hung out with the girls in the tent before they started training and I couldn’t have been prouder of them. They’re so mature and so united and the overriding feeling was, in a word…

BELIEF

These players genuinely believe they can get the job done. It’s so good to see and hear.

*Then at the other end of the scale is the DA. 100 Mick Stinears couldn’t quell the manic excitement of us nut-jobs 😁

Slightly off topic, but just a thought that crossed my mind.  If Carlton win tonight (and I know Brisbane are warm favourites) it will be the first time there have been two Victorian teams in the AFLW Grand Final.  As such would the league consider playing the match at docklands?

I’m pretty sure the reason they would say no is that docklands needs to attract a certain number of fans to break even due to its high running costs, and they don’t trust the AFLW Grand Final to reach that number.  A bit of internet research has suggested that number is 20,000.  However I assume that is based on a men’s home and away match, which has an adult ticket price of $27, whereas the cost of an adult ticket for the AFLW Grand Final is $35.  As such the break even crowd for the women’s GF should be around 15,500.  Given Princess Park has attracted over 12K of its supposed 13K capacity for the last two Grand Finals featuring a non-Victorian club, I would think there’s a fair chance you’d get your 15.5K for two Vic teams.  Certainly enough of a chance to take the risk, I would think.  If the AFL actually wanted to take the opportunity to maximize exposure for the biggest game of the AFLW season, of course.

Oh, and it seems docklands is free next weekend.

Edited by Craig T

• Author

The DA will be in the Gardiner stand, the one with the ancient wooden benches.

All good. A few splinters in the bum never killed anyone, that I know of anyways.

GO THE MIGHTY DEES…

GIVE ‘EM HELL!!!

Princes Park does not look inviting on television.

If they are going to use it for showcase games perhaps they could work out some different camera positions that featured the crowds as the background rather than the Carlton training facility

• Author
8 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Princes Park does not look inviting on television.

If they are going to use it for showcase games perhaps they could work out some different camera positions that featured the crowds as the background rather than the Carlton training facility

Yep the eyesore that is the CFC monstrosity of a building is something no one should be made to look at for more than a couple of seconds 😁

I'm quietly confident

Is it rare a team is rank underdog in a prelim. no expectation means we can play with total freedom and abandon.

We need a good start. red hot tackling. make the most of our opportunities.

if we can get ahead then North will start to feel the pressure and hopefully buckle.

its happened many a time before. the underdog slaying the much more fancied favourite.

We can do it. We just got to believe and hopefully with some luck (including with the umps) we can win this.

Go dees you good things

45 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

The DA will be in the Gardiner stand, the one with the ancient wooden benches.

All good. A few splinters in the bum never killed anyone, that I know of anyways.

GO THE MIGHTY DEES…

GIVE ‘EM HELL!!!

Hey Ghosty, can you walk around to the Gardiner Stand from Gate 6? Or have to enter in Gate 2?

Cheers, see ya there!!

CARNAMIGHTYFKINDEEGRRRLS!!!

13 minutes ago, BDA said:

I'm quietly confident

Is it rare a team is rank underdog in a prelim. no expectation means we can play with total freedom and abandon.

We need a good start. red hot tackling. make the most of our opportunities.

if we can get ahead then North will start to feel the pressure and hopefully buckle.

its happened many a time before. the underdog slaying the much more fancied favourite.

We can do it. We just got to believe and hopefully with some luck (including with the umps) we can win this.

Go dees you good things

I think they'll do everything to shut down Kate Hore

A critical part of us winning this match will be Hanksy getting off the chain.

She's had a couple of quieter weeks of late. I reckon a 25 to 30 possie game by her will be key to us getting over the line.

And Banno. Banno needs to kick a couple.

We can definitely do this. We have the belief and the momentum.

Hope everyone that can gets along and cheers them home.

• Author
Just now, Deemented Are Go! said:

Hey Ghosty, can you walk around to the Gardiner Stand from Gate 6? Or have to enter in Gate 2?

Cheers, see ya there!!

CARNAMIGHTYFKINDEEGRRRLS!!!

You can walk around inside the ground 👍🏽

• Author

I’m currently on a train to Ikon and sitting next to me absolutely chewing my ear off is Jas Garner’s brother and I’ve never wanted to kill someone so badly in my life.

• Author

So nervous! Haven’t eaten a thing, running on coffee and Red Bull in unhealthy amounts. I’m seeing heaps of North fans and have yet to see a single Dees fan. I hope this isn’t indicative of the crowd today.

Fffff-ar out! Two boys heading to Ikon on the train were in Bulldogs regalia and now I just saw a couple both wearing Essendon caps. That means I’ve seen more Bulldogs and Essendon fans than Dees fans and those teams aren’t even in the finals. So far I’ve seen only one Dees fan and that’s when I caught my reflection in a window.

Edited by Ghostwriter

20 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

I’m currently on a train to Ikon and sitting next to me absolutely chewing my ear off is Jas Garner’s brother and I’ve never wanted to kill someone so badly in my life.

You could, it might put her off her game (joking)

I guess you'd get arrested and then you'd miss the game too which would not be cool.

Unless you can fight the cops off with floggers for 4 qtrs?

But then you'd still miss the granny, unless you got bail somehow.

Mmmm

Maybe just yell at Jas over the fence. Something derogatory about her bro saying that she's up herself or something.

Enjoy every moment GW

8 minutes ago, Brownie said:

Thanks so much @Brownie. Wotherspoon has serious football intelligence. She has shades of Gretsky's "going to where the puck will be". She's fast. Confident. Her tackles stick. Kicks beautifully to advantage. Seriously good judgement of the ball coming in - Strong hands taking the ball at the highest point. And she looks a brilliant team mate.

Gall was obviously crucial to Spoony being the Dees #12 draft selection. Consider ourselves very fortunate. As is typical of this team, Spoony considers herself lucky to be with the Dees.

20 hours ago, Robbie87 said:

Doesn't Mick live on the Surf Coast? If so, could be forgiven for a gig closer to home. Agree with others Denby was stiff - thought she was very good, composed last week. Thought for sure Ebert would be the one making way for Maeve - but as others have said, Denby a possible late inclusion. Get the sense there is a little bit of hope in naming Maeve. I think with Banno you get a bit more speed and versatility than Gall, plus running Campbell and Pearce, with backup from Harris, we might have the talls sorted? Tough call for the ones that miss out though...

Yep, Anglesea! It would do my head in driving to Casey from there all the time.

Great day for football, thanks for the update’s Ghostwriter, really hoping that you get the chance to celebrate with the girls after the final siren.

Go you Mughty Dees.❤️💙🔥

Just now, DeeZone said:

Great day for football, thanks for the update’s Ghostwriter, really hoping that you get the chance to celebrate with the girls after the final siren.

Go you Mighty Dees.❤️💙🔥

At the ground near the Drmon Army 😀