View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

16 hours ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

Name one credible source who has used this word?

Myself as I work in the Industry. Not saying they can’t develop into superstars but what we have noticed tracking this years draft over the last few years is that there are limited standouts compared to other years. I do this for a job and have been for a long time. Trust me I hope I’m wrong just that this year doesn’t look to go as deep.

19 hours ago, roy11 said:

Out of curiosity, for the draft enthusiasts amongst us, for comparative purposes, are there any other "weak" drafts from the past you recommend we check out?

Yeah mate sure.

yes there were some stars etc but these are off the top of my head. I work in the industry and have so for quite a while. They are all good footy players but some years are just leaner on stand out talent.

1 minute ago, deelusions from afar said:

When we say we want a player... surely this will go down to the final day. Will come down to how much the Suns really want Petracca.

Easily gets to the weekend. Just have this odd feeling that after the w/e a few of the coconuts might drop from trees.

Im sure everyone ( clubs ) want their wants to happen and are very mindful of next wed's deadline. A few clubs have played too cute in the past and will want to avoid that (again) .

I reckon next Monday ( mad Monday) will be when the serious stuff goes down.

Can't see much happening this week....

We'll see i guess.

4 minutes ago, deelusions from afar said:

When we say we want a player... surely this will go down to the final day. Will come down to how much the Suns really want Petracca.

Melbourne have the upper hand which is great. Worse case is they miss out and Petracca stays for another year. I’m hoping the Suns are desperate enough to part with Humphries and that he would be good with moving to us

Picks just ain't gonna cut it for mine. If that happens it's gonna be ugly in 2026.

probably a bit random, but dangerfield was traded at 25, and traded for .. "Cats have given up young midfielder Dean Gore as well as picks No.9 and No.28 to snare the superstar midfielder."

if GC offer 6&7 (0.0000001% chance) then MFC should take it at run before they change their mind.
a more likely offer would be 6 OR 7 + late first round, assuming no other players are involved from GC

20 minutes ago, Frustrated Demon said:

Melbourne have the upper hand which is great. Worse case is they miss out and Petracca stays for another year. I’m hoping the Suns are desperate enough to part with Humphries and that he would be good with moving to us

Do you believe there’s any chance Humphrey leaves GC for us? Show Down Clint Eastwood GIF

3 minutes ago, Roost it far said:

Do you believe there’s any chance Humphrey leaves GC for us? Show Down Clint Eastwood GIF

The key will be that he asks to be traded then it’s up to Gold Coast with how they handle the request.

19 minutes ago, Norm Smith's Curse said:

Picks just ain't gonna cut it for mine. If that happens it's gonna be ugly in 2026.

Me neither...

...unless Taylor is extremely confident that at, say, 6 and 7, which will become 9 and 11 or 10 and 12, he's able to get two players he genuinely loves...

...or...

...we can turn whatever picks we get into at least one well-above-average mature player.

GC are zero chance of trading both 6 and 7 given they'll need at least one of those picks for points.

7 and next year's first is a reasonable deal for Petracca - although it would be nice if we could squeeze a second rounder out of them as well.

Allows us to add another top end talent this year, with flexibility to either do the same in the less compromised 2026 draft, or use the picks to acquire established talent when King has had the chance to make us an attractive proposition.

For mine both these statements have merit. I’m in the need a player camp but I don’t see a world where Petracca comes back to us.

If we accept 6 and 17 then we’ve blinked first by a wide margin. The club has to get a starting 18 player out of GC in any deal.

Take the picks, dump the entire salary and get to work on next year’s trade and free agency period.

2 minutes ago, Lefty said:

First training session at Gosch's is going to be super awkward.

First soccer session may be icy as well.

6 and 17 is not enough to get the Trac deal done, but if I was the Suns, it’s all I’d be offering!

1 minute ago, KoltTheRam said:

First soccer session may be icy as well.

happy soccer GIF

You don’t court a player like Trac and make him commitments to the point where he nominates you as his preferred club, if you’re not serious about getting a deal done.

GC would have gone into the meeting with Trac knowing our bottom line, and pick 6 and 17 is not it.

The media really are ****wits. The derision MFC gets from 99% of them is ridiculous. If Tracc was at the Pies Korn etc would say he is worth 3 top 10 picks.

Just now, Jaded No More said:

You don’t court a player like Trac and make him commitments to the point where he nominates you as his preferred club, if you’re not serious about getting a deal done.

GC would have gone into the meeting with Trac knowing our bottom line, and pick 6 and 17 is not it.

I completely agree, i think todays meeting would have been a lot about the MFC setting an asking price as well, which i am sure would be something along the lines of a really good player and a top 10 pick.

How about

Pick 6 and 7 to WCE for Pick 2 and 16 to GCS

Pick 2 and future 2nd to mfc for Petracca

1 minute ago, Demonland said:

You can guarantee the Suns will be pumping up this kids tires over the next few days.

Channel 9 Reaction GIF by Married At First Sight

Tim Lamb said in an interview last week that we deliberately looked to get out of this draft. Would be weird if all we did this offseason was get back into it.