View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Please to GWS. If he is to come good again be good at GWS. Would hate to go up against a prime (or close enough) again Oliver wanting to prove the club wrong on Kings Birthday and rack up 35 disposals, 80% efficiency, 5 scoring involvements and a goal.

Would legitimately be vomit inducing.

For mine... 'tis ok if more than one club interested.

Pies is not a good fit for clarry in terms of pressure and expectation

better to head to GWS and rebuild his career away from the limelight

Regardless of what anyone thinks about the decision to move on Oliver, the club better be prepared for an absolute tsunami of angry feedback if they let him walk to the Pies especially if it is for nominal draft picks and we are picking up a huge portion of his salary for 5 more years.

Clarry mate PLEASE you cannot end up at the Filth

share no GIF

1 minute ago, Jaded No More said:

Clarry mate PLEASE you cannot end up at the Filth

share no GIF

So I see that you still haven't been able to do much work the last few days.... 😁

1 minute ago, Gorgoroth said:

So I see that you still haven't been able to do much work the last few days.... 😁

Stressed Spongebob Squarepants GIF

I'm doing fine

On 04/10/2025 at 11:40, Dr. Gonzo said:

He's been taking the [censored] for years/taking the club for a ride on a huge contract. As soon as he's confronted with an honest conversation from his new coach he has a sook about it.

Would it have been better if King wasn't honest with him about his role in the team going forward and then waited until next season/preseason to bring it up and hold him accountable to something that hadn't been discussed previously? The babying of guys in their late 20s is crazy. Yes there has to be an element of respecting someones mental health, I'm not de ying that - but it is a two way street, you can't just continue enabling someone's bad behaviour it doesn't serve either party well.

Spot on and we'll put Dr.

So we got a player from The Pies that they believe is passed it, and they look like getting one from us who just needs to get his head right. We lose both ways.

17 hours ago, Wrecker46 said:

What about in the 2022 final when he banged one home from 55m out on the boundary to win us the game and Max Gawn for some unknown reason touched it on the goal line and it cost us the season if not the premiership

2023 semi against Carlton. Remember it well. One of about 10 moments that prove it’s a game of inches including the recalled Neal Bullen goal and us hitting the post 7 times (and on the flip side Kennedy and Owies nailing them from 50 out on the boundary). So unlikely that we lost that game, it seemed scripted.

People forget Oliver was probably our best performer over those 2 finals that year even after the long injury lay off. His 2024 was poor but he was playing with a broken hand, ribs and underdone. Apart from that 1 year his average output is as good as any player in history. Still can’t believe we’re so keen to ship him off and I can only assume there’s off field or medical factors involved, unless our football department doesn’t understand what wins games of footy.

16 hours ago, demon3165 said:

58 goals from 2015 to 2025; is that a good stat for an elite midfielder? Stats are mostly a load of [censored]. People complained about Daicos not winning the Brownlow, but he couldn't win his own B&F. As I have said before, Oliver is one of the best below-the-knee players since Greg Williams, but he doesn't hurt you forward of the ball. Daicos has kicked 63 goals in four years now; if we could have a mix of both players into one, that would be a dream. Sometimes people need new challenges, and if he stays, he might become an even better player. If he wants to stay, all he has to say is 'I'm staying.' Full stop.

It’s never been his role to be forward of the ball to get into areas to kick goals.

Compare any of these stats for Oliver against any other elite mid and he’ll either be right up there or on top - disposals, contested possessions, tackles, pressure acts, score involvements, score chain starts, intercept possessions. He’s basically unrivalled in being elite at all of these things and we don’t have anyone else who fits the role of he leaves.

Has something happened here, it just seems very strange for the club to not only want Oliver to move on, but willing to pay a big chunk of his salary too.

I understand if they think we need to go in a new direction, but surely we at least ask for a good pick if we are paying his salary. But it sounds like thats not happening.

Please GWS take him, I can't have him dominating against us on Kings Bday when we are paying for it.

7 minutes ago, 0livers Army said:

It’s never been his role to be forward of the ball to get into areas to kick goals.

Compare any of these stats for Oliver against any other elite mid and he’ll either be right up there or on top - disposals, contested possessions, tackles, pressure acts, score involvements, score chain starts, intercept possessions. He’s basically unrivalled in being elite at all of these things and we don’t have anyone else who fits the role of he leaves.

That's because of our game style, not what suited him. If anyone thinks he will go to another club and play the same way, they are wrong. Most stats are a load of [censored], full of cheap possessions. Then, take into account wasteful disposals, wrong decisions, and where he gets them; certainly not in the front half. That's running patterns, pure and simple. The same goes for Viney: if the game is not a contested game, scrimmage to scrimmage, he's a liability. Can Oliver change his role? The answer is yes, it just takes hard work.

Just now, demon3165 said:

That's because of our game style, not what suited him. If anyone thinks he will go to another club and play the same way, they are wrong. Most stats are a load of [censored], full of cheap possessions. Then, take into account wasteful disposals, wrong decisions, and where he gets them; certainly not in the front half. That's running patterns, pure and simple. The same goes for Viney: if the game is not a contested game, scrimmage to scrimmage, he's a liability. Can Oliver change his role? The answer is yes, it just takes hard work.

You can get away with having contested game players in your midfield, but it needs to be balanced. He may not need to change too much at another club.

6 minutes ago, roy11 said:

You can get away with having contested game players in your midfield, but it needs to be balanced. He may not need to change too much at another club.

His running patterns will change to be more attacking, that's today's game styles, as it is now opposition sides run off him, If that's all you think Oliver can do, why has King, as far as we know, want him to play a different role.

All I will say here is I absolutely love Clarry the player however, if he has found the secret to getting his life together then he needs to label it, copyright it and sell it. For a player that was getting paid so much $$$$ and on a long term contract, the club had to draw the line in the sand. I am all for the trade to occur, but again it must be worthwhile for us. Not expecting overs but should GWS be interested, their first round draft pick or a decent player needs to be returned.

I wish him all the best, but it is no coincidence that the drop off occurred after the premiership as the players "Celebrated" a little too hard. Some were able to return and cast their sites on the year ahead, some were not. I remember watching that following year and I am not sure if I am alone, but even though we had won 11 straight, it just didnt look and feel the same.

Edited by Demon Forever

53 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Elite game, didn't poll a coaches vote 🤔

Shows how far the standards have slipped

2 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Elite game, didn't poll a coaches vote 🤔

Shows how far the standards have slipped.

1 hour ago, Adam The God said:

As Steven King said in his SEN interview the week, the modern game is about margins and as King said, we had more than a handful of losses by a kick.

So yes, we were a touch away.

But the team King looks like having will be quite different to the Trac and Clarry team of 2025.

And sadly, without both, we are certain to be last 4. Apart from Mighty Max, where are our midfielders going to come from? Can't expect Viney to be able to do the job on his own.

5 hours ago, Coolx2 said:

Oliver's currency is falling away , we won't get much for him and we shouldn't accept peanuts. Looks to me that Oliver will be staying with the Demons unless he is willing to take a huge pay cut. We (MFC) should not be paying a chunk of his wage. However the club's plan was to imaginary let him go, knowing that other clubs wouldn't give much for him.

Soon we will have a thread WELCOME BACK CLAYTON OLIVER.

Lets hope so!