View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

10 minutes ago, Slartibartfast said:

I sense I shouldn’t get involved but he wasn’t loyal to the end. He was loyal to the extent he didn’t want to leave but he certainly wasn’t loyal to his team, his teammates or his contract.

It’s sad that an absolute hero has left us under these circumstances but King did exactly the right thing to restore locker room harmony and a team first philosophy. And I’m the first to admit I wouldn’t have done it, but it was 100% right.

Fair enough, loved the comment that you wouldn't have done it!

9 hours ago, picket fence said:

Still not happy!☹️

Loyalty is everything ! He wanted to stay. Stuff you King!!

Im sad he is gone too PF, but at the end of the day, i think this separation is best for both camps. He was just not going to get the best out of himself staying at Melbourne. IMO I dont think he's going to do much better at GWS, but if he does, then i'll be happy for him.

Was just a shame the way the wheels came off in the end. Wont be the last player it happens to , but [censored] why did it have to be Clarry.

On 30/11/2025 at 17:52, Temporarily Hopeful Demon said:

There were plenty of other players who helped us win the flag mate. It was a team effort.

And I disagree he's our best player in a lifetime but that's for another day.

Agree - If the best player in the clubs long and proud history is one that couldn't kick to AFL standards then we truly are a joke.

Oliver can get it when fit and handball (I do question how many of those were blatant throws) but the game now relies of kicking ability - his Achilles heel imho

3 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

What a ridiculous comment.

If the Giants laugh about that stuff then good for them, but it was an immature act.

20 hours ago, picket fence said:

I am putting $100.00 on Clarry to win the 26 Brownlow at $81.00 total potential return $8,100.00.

Not denying he's a good player, but in order to get a ROI on your investment Clarry will need to kick more than his 4 goals a season. Probably one of the reasons he's polled all of 2 votes across 2 years.

It's simply not enough for a midfielder, and he's shown that he is a capable goal kicker.

1 hour ago, DistrACTION Jackson said:

If the Giants laugh about that stuff then good for them, but it was an immature act.

Much ado about nothing right here. GWS parodying the Mitch Cleary thing is GWS doing GWS things. I can’t see why Melbourne supporters are offended by Clarrie’s comment. He no longer plays for us.

PS: today Salo said he and Fritta and Langers along with several others are still close friends with Clarrie and keep in regular contact with him. Salo said there’s no feeling of bad blood against Clarrie amongst the playing group. I reckon supporters should maybe keep this in mind when slow (no) news days result in silly articles such as the one above.

IN MY EVER SO HUMBLE OPINION.

59 minutes ago, Ghostwriter said:

Much ado about nothing right here. GWS parodying the Mitch Cleary thing is GWS doing GWS things. I can’t see why Melbourne supporters are offended by Clarrie’s comment. He no longer plays for us.

PS: today Salo said he and Fritta and Langers along with several others are still close friends with Clarrie and keep in regular contact with him. Salo said there’s no feeling of bad blood against Clarrie amongst the playing group. I reckon supporters should maybe keep this in mind when slow (no) news days result in silly articles such as the one above.

IN MY EVER SO HUMBLE OPINION.

Not offended, it’s just part of the issue he had with us. Minimising crazy actions and no accountability.

2 hours ago, DistrACTION Jackson said:

It's the honeymoon period. Honestly if the person of your dreams is an hour late for your first date would you tell them off and probably regret losing them over that? Of course ten years after marrying them you probably would say a bit if they did the same .... same as Melbourne would for that confrontation .

20 minutes ago, DistrACTION Jackson said:

Not offended, it’s just part of the issue he had with us. Minimising crazy actions and no accountability.

The guy is a genuine sook because once again he would have had to be sat down and told to pull his head in like he has a hundred times over his career

The guy will never learn, thank God he's GWS problem child to look after.

I'll take "Things GWS thinks they can laugh off" for $1000, thanks.

What is having nil community support.

And for the bonus round;

What is chronic failure in the face of every advantage.

On 28/11/2025 at 18:22, jnrmac said:

Yeah sorry, that was in 2021. Like Clarrie and Tracc you're living off past glories. The footy world has moved on. Since Clarrie was '2 way running' Brisbane have won 2 flags How are we travelling?

Well to be fair we came incredibly close to winning three on a row but injuries ( Milkshake) and BBB and Tmac having nightmare finals seasons and then Gus been almost killed.....we cold have made it imho.

The midfield really only started to implode i 24 and last year. Maybe in late 23 there were a few signs but nothing drastic.

Oliver from his last two years efforts won't be missed although in another environment he may reinvent himself as he's still young.

Tracca will do better in another club as I feel he has an attitude rightly or wrongly towards the MFC. So he will be missed.

Anb has moved on as well so it will be interesting to see how our MF goes.

But let's be honest, this last season it was in significant trouble.

25 minutes ago, Previously known as LITD. said:

Well to be fair we came incredibly close to winning three on a row but injuries ( Milkshake) and BBB and Tmac having nightmare finals seasons and then Gus been almost killed.....we cold have made it imho.

The midfield really only started to implode i 24 and last year. Maybe in late 23 there were a few signs but nothing drastic.

Oliver from his last two years efforts won't be missed although in another environment he may reinvent himself as he's still young.

Tracca will do better in another club as I feel he has an attitude rightly or wrongly towards the MFC. So he will be missed.

Anb has moved on as well so it will be interesting to see how our MF goes.

But let's be honest, this last season it was in significant trouble.

Came incredibly close to winning 3 in a row!?

Haha what planet were you on at the time mate? we were not even close, at all. Couldn't even win another final let alone winning 2 finals in a row just to get to another grand final.

Talk about massive overreaction.

35 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Came incredibly close to winning 3 in a row!?

Haha what planet were you on at the time mate? we were not even close, at all. Couldn't even win another final let alone winning 2 finals in a row just to get to another grand final.

Talk about massive overreaction.

To be fair we lost 4 close finals, any one of which we might have won. Yes we lost them ALL and I get it… that’s all that counts. But I do think we were close in 22 and 23.

I don’t understand the point of this thread continuing.

He was a great player for us he has gone to another club

For gods sake move on people

37 minutes ago, Wells 11 said:

To be fair we lost 4 close finals, any one of which we might have won. Yes we lost them ALL and I get it… that’s all that counts. But I do think we were close in 22 and 23.

2022 we were cooked. We weren't even close. Goody [censored] that year big time by not managing players throughout the year when they were clearly sore and gassed and it bit us in the [censored] come finals.

2023 we couldn't even get the basics right and kick straight.

You can pretend we were close but reality is we weren't. We played like a team that got caught up in the moment once the heat was applied to us.

8 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Be interested to see if GWS are still laughing it off if/when you put them through what you put our football club through.

My primary-school-aged children are more accountable than this bloke.

21 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

He’s devastated by the loss of Clarrie, as am I, and going by your avi and previous username I’m guessing you might be as well. We all express ourselves differently. PF knee-jerkkz in uppercase threats to leave Demonland. Again, harmless.

Was referencing an old poster called Deeluded whose name was apt and who made PF look like a calm, wise sage

19 minutes ago, Somereset said:

Was referencing an old poster called Deeluded whose name was apt and who made PF look like a calm, wise sage

I miss him...

Was one of my favourite players, and honestly expected him to keep improving or at least keep up his high standards.

Feel like he let us down in the last 3 years....he has been symbolic with so many of our issues, all the while under performing.

When he was getting platitudes from Goodwin for a 13 possession game where he tagged someone....made me think the club is actually stuffed atm.

What must have other blokes been thinking....especially the fringe ones that seemingly could never get a look in.

Wish him all the best, but hope he never gets back to his best....that would be a slap in the face.

After all said and done though he went down quite a few notches....and sadly could not even rate him top 10 Demon players. Way he was tracking early on he was headed for top 3.

Good luck Clarry, good luck hitting the side of the barn!

4 hours ago, FlowerPower said:

I don’t understand the point of this thread continuing.

He was a great player for us he has gone to another club

For gods sake move on people

This is mine and a few others problem. Best player I've seen since Rob Flower and he is playing elsewhere, just can't quite move on!

36 minutes ago, NeveroddoreveN said:

When he was getting platitudes from Goodwin for a 13 possession game where he tagged someone....

It's Goodwin's job to back his players, especially publicly. King will do the same, as does every coach, especially when players are struggling.

BTW, in how many other games did Clarry get sent out to play as a tagger?

7 hours ago, bing181 said:

It's Goodwin's job to back his players, especially publicly. King will do the same, as does every coach, especially when players are struggling.

BTW, in how many other games did Clarry get sent out to play as a tagger?

Not when said player destroys the culture at a club

On 14/12/2025 at 23:47, picket fence said:

Still not happy!☹️

Loyalty is everything ! He wanted to stay. Stuff you King!!

I respect that you place a high value on loyalty. That is how I was raised. However, I've slowly learnt that loyalty can be misplaced and even exploited. Loyalty can prevent us from seeing clearly and acting appropriately.

A successful leader has to tread a fine line between engendering loyalty from their team but not becoming beholden to loyalty.

Personally, I think King did what Goodwin couldn't. I wonder how much that played into the board's decision to change coach.

1 minute ago, speed demon said:

I respect that you place a high value on loyalty. That is how I was raised. However, I've slowly learnt that loyalty can be misplaced and even exploited. Loyalty can prevent us from seeing clearly and acting appropriately.

A successful leader has to tread a fine line between engendering loyalty from their team but not becoming beholden to loyalty.

Personally, I think King did what Goodwin couldn't. I wonder how much that played into the board's decision to change coach.

Interesting perspective!😊