View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

1 minute ago, sue said:

I think the committment issue is paramount. If we took Buckley and he still had half an eye on Tassie he might bolt in 2 or 3 of years when Tassie might actually have a team (or being closer to player related decisions at least). Particularly if things weren't going well at Melb.

Exactly. Speaks volumes that Guerra has said that we want a coach for the next decade.

Buckley would have been one foot out the door if things didn’t go to plan at Melbourne, and the salary at Tassie kept increasing.

I rather be left at the alter than go thru a messy divorce later.

54 minutes ago, Go Ds said:

Just get the '2' on your left cheek and for the last 2 digits wait ! 😉🤣🤣🤣

Show real commitment celebrate flags 2026-2030 a true dynasty! If we miss any of the years put a line through it!

I have to say I’ve been very impressed with Guerra’s media appearances

And yes I know there will be many other metrics by which we’ll judge his performance, but it can’t be understated how important it is to have a CEO who articulate the club’s vision and decision making processes with confidence and clarity

A big step up from he who shall not be named…

19 minutes ago, Demonland said:
No image preview

'We got our man': Dees CEO reveals why Steven King was ch...

Demons CEO Paul Guerra joined 3AW Football to discuss the overall process and spoke about what impressed him and the selection panel the most about King's pitch.

I’m so glad they didn’t go with Buckley now, and I wanted him bad for us. I thought he would bring strength, people wishing to trade in for him etc etc.

but this podcast really shows that he was playing both sides. Not invested. Really displays how he was thinking compared to Kingy who clearly smashed it. He “blew them away”. Clearly put in 200% effort and that’s a credit to his mental state and how bad he wanted to be at the club.

Don't understand some of the criticism on King continuing his role with Geelong for the remainder of their finals campaign. Firstly, as GW has mentioned, it is a sign of good character that he isn't jumping ship without regard for his current employer. But I think more importantly, he is gaining even more valuable finals coaching experience which will assist him as senior coach at the Dees.

In fact, despite my disdain for them, I now hope that Geelong go the whole way and win it all. This is experience that can only help us as we will have coach who knows exactly what it takes to get to and win on the big stage. King could be fresh off a flag at the most successful and well-run club of the last 20 years and bring those standards, systems and composure to us - which we desperately need.

7 minutes ago, Demon Time said:

Don't understand some of the criticism on King continuing his role with Geelong for the remainder of their finals campaign. Firstly, as GW has mentioned, it is a sign of good character that he isn't jumping ship without regard for his current employer. But I think more importantly, he is gaining even more valuable finals coaching experience which will assist him as senior coach at the Dees.

In fact, despite my disdain for them, I now hope that Geelong go the whole way and win it all. This is experience that can only help us as we will have coach who knows exactly what it takes to get to and win on the big stage. King could be fresh off a flag at the most successful and well-run club of the last 20 years and bring those standards, systems and composure to us - which we desperately need.

Did yze continue with us after taking the tigers job? I can’t remember

15 minutes ago, demoncat said:

And yes I know there will be many other metrics by which we’ll judge his performance, but it can’t be understated how important it is to have a CEO who articulate the club’s vision and decision making processes with confidence and clarity

I really loved his word smithing. He deflected when required, answered when required, supported when required (Goodwin and buckley).

Brilliant start.

15 minutes ago, Ted Lasso said:

Did yze continue with us after taking the tigers job? I can’t remember

We decided to end our season early instead

52 minutes ago, Demon Time said:

And much like Guerra, he can do work behind the scenes while still doing his job at Geelong.

The fact that Geelong want him around still, shows how valued he is and why Geelong is so successful. They don’t begrudge their people success, and they don’t risk their own chance at success by playing petulant games.

I have no doubt King has already spoken to a number of our players and is talking to potential assistants and other staff he might like to bring along. And no doubt he’s also chatted with Tim and Jason about his list strategy ideas.

I wish Geelong nothing but failure, but likewise if King gets another flag under his belt it won’t be the worst thing either

Edited by Jaded No More

1 hour ago, Jaded No More said:

Exactly. Speaks volumes that Guerra has said that we want a coach for the next decade.

Buckley would have been one foot out the door if things didn’t go to plan at Melbourne, and the salary at Tassie kept increasing.

I rather be left at the alter than go thru a messy divorce later.

The concern is how sustainable commuting from Gold Coast is? For 5+ years I would have thought it is very rough. A bit damaging for family life, but maybe that is not a problem

Just now, RickyJ45 said:

The concern is how sustainable commuting from Gold Coast is? For 5+ years I would have thought it is very rough. A bit damaging for family life, but maybe that is not a problem

Who is commuting from Gold Coast exactly? Not King.

I don’t think he took this job without considering his family. By all reports he’s a strong family man.

1 hour ago, Demon Time said:

As I posted elsewhere I'd prefer Geelong to lose to Hawthorn (and I hate Hawks as much as the next person) because it means King is on board a week earlier with us. Given the list management issues of the ensuing weeks an extra week means more to us I think than the extra experience that King would get by being involved in another GF. Just a guess of course. If Geelong make the GF I might think differently.

I was supportive re Buckley but had some reservations, reflected by others on Demonland. That the selection process found someone they feel is better, that is fantastic news. Starting two weeks later is not a big deal.

King will already know who and what he wants from a trade standpoint and coaching support.

I’m sure he will squeeze in a chat with McVee and whomever else as required in those two weeks!

Let’s hope he has the same level of success as his namesake the author and can plot a nasty ending for our opponents!

As always Go Demons!

Edited by D4Life

1 hour ago, demoncat said:

I'm a huge fan of the way he speaks. So calm, assured, authoritative, supportive - he comes across as positive and fair, knowledgeable and friendly.

He strikes me as an incredible leader.

With that said I'm so happy he batted away the suggestion we went with King as we weren't prepared to wait for FIGJAM to make a decision - he's turned the narrative into one where King is our man as he won the role outright.

A nice little FU to Bucks as well, as it wasn't a boat race - and you were beaten by King. So take that.

I have a great feeling about this new age we're entering. New coach, new CEO, new president and hopefully a soon to be announced new home.

Go Dees!

Edited by Mouseymoo

Just now, Mouseymoo said:

I'm a huge fan of the way he speaks. So calm, assured, authoritative, supportive - he comes across as positive and fair, knowledgeable and friendly.

He strikes me as an incredible leader.

With that said I'm so happy he batted away the suggestion we went with King as we weren't prepared to wait for FIGJAM to make a decision - he's turned the narrative into one where King is our man as he won the role outright.

A nice little FU to Bucks as well, as it wasn't a boat race - and you were beaten by King. So take that.

I have a great feeling about this new age we're entering. New coach, new CEO, new president and hopefully a soon to be announced new home.

Go Dees!

If figjam was the man we wanted we would have waited. He was not the man we wanted, we have the man a King no less. Go Dee's. I'm already looking forward to 2026 and if goody was there I wouldn't be, so good on the club for having the balls to get it done.

22 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

I was arguably Goody’s #1 fan. I was shattered when he was sacked and couldn’t imagine warming to any other coach. At the time I despised the new coach and I didn’t even know who it was, such was my heartbreak. So…

If I can get behind our new coach from day dot, anyone can. And not just get behind him but support him and have full trust in him, welcome him wholeheartedly.

iirc you all but despised Petracca even before last year's dummy spit. And at some stage he has won you over.

Now you so readily embrace King after being heartbroken.

You have a very kind and forgiving heart Ghosty!

👏🏻❤️💙

Rumour has it that Guerra and King both have strong connections to the States Planning Minister and we now have the low down on up coming land releases around the Bellarine and Mornington peninsulas.

Make of that what you will.

Edited by GS_1905

4 minutes ago, GS_1905 said:

Rumour has it that Guerra and King both have strong connections to the States Planning Minister and we now have the low down on up coming land releases around the Bellarine and Morning peninsulas.

Make of that what you will.

We will offer farms/vineyards at Red Hill for easier access to Casey and as great tax minimization strategies!

Get to know developers, players get in on the ground floor for land and cash in when said land is re-zoned!

Oh wait...aren't they the Geelong way of off-book perks for players😁

Edited by Lucifers Hero

5 hours ago, demon3165 said:

You did watch our one paced lack of skills midfield didn't you?

And that's all down to an assistant coach?

The mind boggles.

1 minute ago, Lucifers Hero said:

We will offer farms/vineyards at Red Hill for easier access to Casey? And great tax minimization strategies!

Get to know developers, players get in on the ground floor for land and cash in when said land is re-zoned!

Oh wait...aren't they the Geelong way of off-book perks for players😁

Saints must be doing something similar. How else can they afford all these players that they are signing up.

1 hour ago, Jaded No More said:

I have no doubt King has already spoken to a number of our players and is talking to potential assistants and other staff he might like to bring along.

"The Dees will keep multiple assistants on board in the changeover and King “doesn’t want to tip everything out”.

3 minutes ago, bing181 said:

"The Dees will keep multiple assistants on board in the changeover and King “doesn’t want to tip everything out”.

Sure but we have to replace a number of vacant positions

Reckon we've got a live one in Guerra. Hard to know the total truth as an outsider, but it just seems we have someone who does things right. Breath of fresh air in an industry filled with backslapping friends of friends.

Shows total respect to whoever he speaks to, total respect to opposition (listen to the 3AW grab above about how we were wary of the impact on Geelong) and respect for the integrity of the game.

They're going to continue to try to undermine his standards and drag things through the dirt, and he just keeps taking the high road.

Long may it continue.

5 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Because Jones came in with no coaching experience and our midfield was garbage despite having the best ruck in the league.

Bassett has been around the traps for a while and was relegated to the SANFL before being brought back by his mate Goodwin. Our defence this year was also garbage.

Jones was only stoppage coach, with Sam Radford having a big role with the mids and I think we made progress at centre bounces. Not always great at around the ground stoppages. Not sure of the Max relevance, he's still a huge presence around the ground but unless he's taking it out of the ruck his hitouts are all over the shop and have been for years, good luck fixing that for any line coach.

Assuming Jones is contracted he won't be going anywhere I'd hope they find another experienced assistant to help him still. Plus King will be hands on with the midfield I'm sure as that's the biggest area for any new coach to put their imprint on.

Bassett delivered on what he was really asked to do which was improve our ball movement from the backline. We were miles better this year than last. That came at a cost as we played more assertive. And when the forward/midfield pressure was off it looked bad. It also leaves you more exposed. Our zone never really worked either, but that's a team issue

Bassett has actually had more success as a forwards coach, if he stays I hope he's put in that role.