View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

Just now, 48 Year Now said:

Yes we do need workshops. Wait and see the AFL introduce more next year.

You are living im a parallel universe.

Do people know its wrong to assault, home invade, rape, stab , murder , drive stolen cars and kill people.

Yes, yes to all those.

7 minutes ago, 710 Asbury St said:

Sorry, I’m not one to get involved in controversy on the web with people I don’t know. But, when you question where it will all end, hopefully it ends with getting rid of these homophobic slurs—regardless of who they are being made to. That kind of language and is appalling—particularly because it is historically one of the most derogatory slurs made at gay men in particular. The impact of the word doesn’t just stop because it’s aimed at someone that is heterosexual. It reinforces a culture where LGBTIQ+ people feel demeaned, unsafe, or othered.

Also, consideration to young people (actually all people) that language like that is ok. I highly doubt that there are zero gay players in the AFL—but why would they ever be public with it when this is the culture.

And playing footy is Rankine’s job. If I walked around my workplace making homophobic slurs in “the heat of the moment”, I’d still be in a ton of trouble. I’m not young and remember when this type of language was used regularly and I also remember the impact it had on people. I graduated high school in 1986 and I would have said that I didn’t know a single person who was not heterosexual. Turns out, my best friend from high school—and still to this day, is a Lesbian and she’s married to a woman and have 2 beautiful children. There were plenty of LGBTIQ+ kids I went to school with or hung out with—but admitting that would have made their lives 100x harder.

So, that’s why I feel even just saying things like that need to be addressed. We are better than that. And language is the start. I know you said that after mentioning another player telling someone they’ll kill them is also not acceptable. Families of murder victims won’t want to hear that as you said. But as a person who has family members who are not heterosexual and lots of friends as well, I feel disgusted and worried when I hear language like this being used.

I am not saying the language used is acceptable. Where will it all end , we dont know but we know there wasnt a victim and we are yet to know the effect on the perpetrator.

1 minute ago, 48 Year Now said:

I am not saying the language used is acceptable. Where will it all end , we dont know but we know there wasnt a victim and we are yet to know the effect on the perpetrator.

Huh?

we know there wasnt a victim

What? Every gay person was the victim, as well as everyone how loves them. If you don’t understand that then you need to open your eyes.

The privilege it takes to write this would be hilarious if it wasn’t so sad.

Just now, 48 Year Now said:

Un named player who doesnt identify as gay. No victim, pretty simple

Make no mistake… there are victims (plural)

2 minutes ago, 48 Year Now said:

The victim may not be who the slur was directed at, but there are victims. From the reactions to this post we see people hurt by it. There’re more than likely young people who are afraid to be their most authentic self because of fear that they won’t be accepted. I could go on

Just now, The heart beats true said:

What? Every gay person was the victim, as well as everyone how loves them. If you don’t understand that then you need to open your eyes.

The privilege it takes to write this would be hilarious if it wasn’t so sad.

Somewhat dramatic and totally exaggerated. No one needed to hear what was said. Any idea ehat its like being a straight hardworking family man when any slur can be used against us, every second ad has us looking stupid, young people saying we deprived them of a future , should give up our houses and savings.

Stop playing victim and show some compassion for Rankine

Don't take this as me commenting on this issue, but I wish the AFL would also stamp out other things as well that you shouldn't do in the workplace. I mean jumper punches and worse. Obviously tackling someone in most workplaces would get you sacked, but tackles are an agreed part of the game. Jumper punches (and a lot of other tough guy stuff and mocking pushes) don't appear in the rule book.

4 minutes ago, 710 Asbury St said:

The victim may not be who the slur was directed at, but there are victims. From the reactions to this post we see people hurt by it. There’re more than likely young people who are afraid to be their most authentic self because of fear that they won’t be accepted. I could go on

Give me a break. I saw a lit of bullying at high school and never once because a person was gay. I never seen a person victimised in the workplace judt because they were gay.

3 minutes ago, 48 Year Now said:

young people saying we deprived them of a future , should give up our houses and savings.

OK Boomer.

3 minutes ago, 48 Year Now said:

Somewhat dramatic and totally exaggerated. No one needed to hear what was said. Any idea ehat its like being a straight hardworking family man when any slur can be used against us, every second ad has us looking stupid, young people saying we deprived them of a future , should give up our houses and savings.

Stop playing victim and show some compassion for Rankine

OK now you’re just trolling

Im done. See you next year if im still allowed to have an opinion here.

Just now, Demonstone said:

OK Boomer.

Derogatory comment and one i take offence to. Talk about true colours.

3 hours ago, wisedog said:

I’ve often wondered whether the AFL should introduce a policy where finals sanctions could be commuted to the home and away season. Perhaps usual suspensions would attract a X3 loading so the Crows would need to decide whether it was better to lose Rankine for 4 finals games or 12 home and away games. This could only apply to players who were contracted for the next season - and in extreme cases where suspensions were originally 7+ weeks, it also should not apply.

The AFL already protects some players from missing finals eg: HWSNBN Mark 11, Cripps, Cotchin and back a little while Barry Hall. I'm sure there are plenty of others.

We don't need any more distortion of the MRO/Tribunal 'magic herbs and spices' decisions.

every second has us looking stupid

Do you think when the meteor struck the dinosaurs saw it coming, or do you reckon they just went about their business, complaining about the changes, before they realised it was all too late for them?

👋

2 minutes ago, 48 Year Now said:

See you next year if im still allowed to have an opinion here.

Nobody has stopped you voicing your opinion.

Everybody is out of step except you, right?

16 minutes ago, sue said:

Don't take this as me commenting on this issue, but I wish the AFL would also stamp out other things as well that you shouldn't do in the workplace. I mean jumper punches and worse. Obviously tackling someone in most workplaces would get you sacked, but tackles are an agreed part of the game. Jumper punches (and a lot of other tough guy stuff and mocking pushes) don't appear in the rule book.

Yes one would suggest if i told someone else that I was going to "put them on a stretcher" that I'd probably get some time off... certainly you'd get a few days off from school if you did that.

38 minutes ago, 48 Year Now said:

Stop playing victim

Im done. See you next year if im still allowed to have an opinion here.

Surely you can see the irony here.

1 hour ago, 48 Year Now said:

Give me a break. I saw a lit of bullying at high school and never once because a person was gay. I never seen a person victimised in the workplace judt because they were gay.

If you read what I wrote, I’m not saying people I personally knew were bullied because they identified as LGBTIQ+. I said that people who do identify that way were afraid of the reaction they’d get if they came out. However, you may never have witnessed it, nor did I at school but believe me it happened. There are quite a few peer reviewed research articles in regard to this. Just because you didn’t see it, doesn’t mean it didn’t happen.

Also, people who identify as LGBTIQ+ also faced criminal penalties for their sexual preference. South Australia was the first to decriminalise in the late 70’s with Tassie not doing so until 1997. This sends a message.

Edited by 710 Asbury St
Clarity

On 23/08/2025 at 11:36, 48 Year Now said:

Sorry you feel that way. Lots of people vop abuse here for all sorts of reasons. I thought it a perfect opportunity to show some love and tolerance and lean on tbe AFL. Two weeks and a serious commitment to working with young gsy people having a hard time. Take on a role of further educating. Some say these guys have been educated, yes, but have you never said a word in anger you regretted.

Not sure gays are comitting suicide because of footballer comments. Suicide is a lot more complex than that.

Holy Moly. That is such a hand-picked summary of a complex issue. Really disappointing. Try and have a little perspective and kindness.

Seems like our very own supporters aren't much better.

Disgusting. If it was a Melbourne supporter please ban him from the club. Ridiculous behavior in 2025!

It's not complicated. Drop the F word = 5 week holiday. The end.

Let’s focus on the REAL issue here: how a Collingwood player dobbed on poor Izak Rankine.

Fair dinkum. If you don’t draw attention to the cultural problem, how are you supposed to fix it? More dobbers and penalties that increase over time please. If it’s five weeks this year, next year make it six.

8 hours ago, 48 Year Now said:

Un named player who doesnt identify as gay. No victim, pretty simple

Yet, you made everyone who is part of the Rainbow community on here a victim by your views.

👏👏👏