View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

1 hour ago, Ted Lasso said:

Caro has given us another almighty whack that seemingly has no basis in reality.

she stated Goodwin should have stayed for the final 3 games, and been sacked at the end of the year. My info is he was offered that and declined. We told him as soon as the decision was made respectfully and we celebrated his time as coach and spoke glowingly of him.

she said he should have been at the BNF. Again my info is he was invited to come and very welcome but he respectfully declined.

now I’m just a random person and I could figure this out, so either Caro has really average sources on this, she hasn’t done enough research or she’s running on bias and telling a fib. I don’t really know what it is, but the idea Melbourne haven’t handled this respectfully if Goodwin is a bit of a joke in my opinion.

My only criticism is I wouldn’t have sacked him and paid him not to coach unless we had someone we saw as an upgrade ready to step in. If John Longmire was keen to join the club for example.

I haven't read the article you are referring to, but you don't seem to be suggesting Caro has made unsubstantiated claims, just that Goody should have stayed for the final 3 game and been at the BNF

To be fair, Caro is an opinion writer and seemingly in her opinion Goody should have stayed for the final 3 games, been at the BNF and that the club haven't handled the situation respectfully (or is she reporting that Goody thinks otherwise?)

No law that says anyone has to agree with her opinion.

1 hour ago, Wells 11 said:

No offence Ted but if your still bothering to read or see anything Caro has to say about the club you're a glutton for punishment. When was the last time she said anything positive about us? IF we kept goodwin and sacked him at years end and had no time to get a new coach before trade week, she would also have laid into us about that too.

Caro loves to take swipes at MFC, not sure what it stems from, just observing [carry on ...]

2 minutes ago, binman said:

I haven't read the article you are referring to, but you don't seem to be suggesting Caro has made unsubstantiated claims, just that Goody should have stayed for the final 3 game and been at the BNF

To be fair, Caro is an opinion writer and seemingly in her opinion Goody should have stayed for the final 3 games, been at the BNF and that the club haven't handled the situation respectfully (or is she reporting that Goody thinks otherwise?)

no, I think it’s more likely she would have had a crack at Melbourne regardless and I am pointing out our handling of this has been largely hard to fault.

We made a decision, informed goody right away and some of the criticisms she’s levelling are things Goodwin himself has been offered the opportunity to do and declined.

There is a whole lot of negativity in the media, and especially from Caro at the moment and really I was trying to defend the clubs handling of this.

2 minutes ago, binman said:

I've been a fan of Caro even if I don't agree with her opnions..

Usually she is reasonably measured about mfc but lately her comments are laced with emotive vitriol and bitterness.

She should stop trying for click bait headlines! It isn't her go.

11 minutes ago, binman said:

Caro is well within her rights to give her opinion - the problem is she’s misrepresented the clubs actions here, incorrectly saying we didn’t give him the option to coach to the end of the season

If in fact we do get swiped at more than others maybe it’s because we continually look incompetent. We had a chance to reset the narrative about our club in 21 but here we are, having lurched from one drama to another whilst sliding down the ladder and we still don’t even have a comms team capable of spelling. Let’s just hope with the new people arriving, a home base getting locked away and a reasonably strong list that we can stick some positive clicks into the media spin. I remain doggedly upbeat……most of the time!

1 minute ago, demoncat said:

Caro is well within her rights to give her opinion - the problem is she’s misrepresented the clubs actions here, incorrectly saying we didn’t give him the option to coach to the end of the season

Yep. I don't think she has a vendetta against our club in particular and don't expect serious football reporters to be nice about clubs to spare supporters' feelings.

This is a silly one, though. Not only is it incorrect, but what would the alternative have been? Let him coach til the end of the season, attend the B&F and THEN pull the trigger? That would have been incompetence of the rarest kind.

If they'd sacked him after the final round, would he have been more likely to attend the B&F? I think probably LESS likely, if anything.

Edited by The Taciturn Demon

11 minutes ago, No. 31 said:

Caro loves to take swipes at MFC, not sure what it stems from, just observing [carry on ...]

Not having a go at you at all No. 31 but there seems to be a reasonable number of people on this forum happy to take a swipe at the club from time to time - personally if it is deserved, I have no problem with that.

When it is undeserved then that is clearly different. Nobody here really knows the real story behind Goodwin not coaching the final 3 games - either way I don't think it makes much difference to anything as we were going nowhere either way. She can have an opinion, we can all have our own. When we stop being able to voice them without being attacked is when we really need to worry.

9 minutes ago, demoncat said:

Or implying we should have hid the decision for 3 additional weeks. A decision she would have rightly slammed us for.

Or moved our timeline to the end of the season where we might have been criticised for not acting decisively and potentially missing out on key targets.

When someone is determined to slam a club, they’ll find an excuse to do it. That’s not the issue here. The MFC hasn’t been perfect by any means, but while I don’t think we should listen to all criticism from the media, if we do listen we should at least be able to judge if it’s fair criticism or not.

12 minutes ago, demoncat said:

Did she say the club didn't give Goody the option of coaching to season's end (i haven't read the article)?

3 minutes ago, binman said:

Did she say the club didn't give Goody the option of coaching to season's end (i haven't read the article)?

I’ll try to find a link for you. The opening line says something like “Caro slams the Melbourne football club for its disgraceful treatment of Simon Goodwin”

5 minutes ago, binman said:

Caroline Wilson was scathing at Melbourne for their treatment of Goodwin, one of only four people to coach the Demons to a premiership.

“How disgraceful, the way Melbourne treated their premiership coach, really,” she said.

“I mean, (sacking him) three games out, why not let him stay, he should have been at the best and fairest.”

Cleary added: “Did they rush because they thought Carlton might have moved on Michael Voss?”

“They did and they botched it,” Wilson responded.

So I’m not sure what evidence there is that we’ve botched anything given we haven’t even hired a new coach.

Earlier in the same article it states Goodwin was invited to the best and fairest and he declined so Caro saying he should have been there is very very silly from a very experienced journo who absolutely knows better.

7NEWS
No image preview

Simon Goodwin declines Melbourne invite as new club appro...

A third club has entered the race for the premiership coach after his ‘disgraceful’ Demons exit.

Edited by Ted Lasso

From the press conference, Green said (with Goodwin sitting next to him):

“I spoke to him last night about thinking about coaching for the last three games and I respect Simon’s decision about not wanting to do that.”

Disgraceful of the club /sarc

1 hour ago, Roost it far said:

If in fact we do get swiped at more than others maybe it’s because we continually look incompetent. We had a chance to reset the narrative about our club in 21 but here we are, having lurched from one drama to another whilst sliding down the ladder and we still don’t even have a comms team capable of spelling. Let’s just hope with the new people arriving, a home base getting locked away and a reasonably strong list that we can stick some positive clicks into the media spin. I remain doggedly upbeat……most of the time!

Coach, President and CEO

We lost the trifecta in one year as well as most games of football.

No wonder we are an easy mark.

Ah.. I forgot Training Facility Version 4/5 or whatever number we are now up to.

40 minutes ago, Ted Lasso said:

Caroline Wilson was scathing at Melbourne for their treatment of Goodwin, one of only four people to coach the Demons to a premiership.

“How disgraceful, the way Melbourne treated their premiership coach, really,” she said.

“I mean, (sacking him) three games out, why not let him stay, he should have been at the best and fairest.”

Cleary added: “Did they rush because they thought Carlton might have moved on Michael Voss?”

So I’m not sure what evidence there is that we’ve botched anything given we haven’t even hired a new coach.

Earlier in the same article it states Goodwin was invited to the best and fairest and he declined so Caro saying he should have been there is very very silly from a very experienced journo who absolutely knows better.

7NEWS
No image preview

A third club has entered the race for the premiership coach after his ‘disgraceful’ Demons exit.

Ta.

As i first thought, that's 100% her opinion - that's to say she's not claiming the club didn't give Goody the option of coaching to season's end. Just in her view we treated him poorly.

And the context is important - the article is not written but merely has quotes from her (and Mitch Cleary) lifted from the show she's on The Agenda Setters which is essentially an opinion show.

I disagree with her that club treated Goody disgracefully. And to be honest it's bit rich for some as experienced, particularly in terms of the politics of footy, to knock the club for sacking him 3 rounds out - i mean that's footy and has ever been thus.

So i don't but her argument, don't agree with her opinion (which by the by, is pretty hyperbolic) but i'm not fused one way or another.

She's paid to have opinions, particularly in her role on Agenda Setters, and the reality in this day and age is edgy opinions get more traction.

What i hate is when journos create false narratives, for example by quoting some anonymous source who has their own agenda, to create a story where there isn't one. And then when it becomes clear that there's no there there, fall back on the old 'well my source was wrong' palaver.

It's my understanding Skipworth was told he was 20 lengths back on the fence with no running room, and subsequently "declined" to proceed

50 minutes ago, binman said:

What i hate is when journos create false narratives, for example by quoting some anonymous source who has their own agenda, to create a story where there isn't one. And then when it becomes clear that there's no there there, fall back on the old 'well my source was wrong' palaver.

Actually, binman, from long experience I can tell you Caro's form is to say "it was right at the time" which is the ultimate get-out for a report that is later shown to be wrong, because as an excuse it is simply unprovable either way.

6 minutes ago, Chook in Perth said:

It's my understanding Skipworth was told he was 20 lengths back on the fence with no running room, and subsequently "declined" to proceed

Thanks mate! Any word on who’s looking good? Is bucks keen?

2 hours ago, Ted Lasso said:

no, I think it’s more likely she would have had a crack at Melbourne regardless and I am pointing out our handling of this has been largely hard to fault.

We made a decision, informed goody right away and some of the criticisms she’s levelling are things Goodwin himself has been offered the opportunity to do and declined.

There is a whole lot of negativity in the media, and especially from Caro at the moment and really I was trying to defend the clubs handling of this.

1 hour ago, Ted Lasso said:

7NEWS
No image preview

Carol running her tassie agenda here. If we started looking for new coach now the Buckley horse would have bolted as an option.

Cut her some slack. She's got column inches to fill with nothing really meaningful to say.

DEES COACHING SEARCH LATEST

Melbourne believes it has as many as three elite coaching candidates from its five remaining contenders despite Hayden Skipworth’s withdrawal from the coaching process.

Geelong assistant coach James Kelly is seen as the outsider in the race given his relative inexperience and would be at the longest odds to win the role.

But even if Nathan Buckley eventually withdrew from the Demons coaching race, the interviewees were extremely impressive.

Some of the candidates are said to have blown the coaching search panel away, which puts them in a good spot given a range of quality candidates.

Daniel Giansiracusa, Brendon Lade, Kelly and Steven King are all in the race along with former Pies senior coach Buckley.

Three of those candidates are believed to have interviewed extremely well and put themselves in the race for the job.

2 minutes ago, Chook in Perth said:

Buckley $1.05

Love your work mate!

11 minutes ago, Chook in Perth said:

Buckley $1.05