View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

27 minutes ago, The Taciturn Demon said:

Honest question: do you have to be a regular Foxtel viewer to understand the aura around Buckley?

I absolutely understand that it was real in 2012. I don't understand it now.

Buckley looks like a genius compared to most others in the echo chamber of the walled garden. Hope this helps.

Ahhh Caro, the opinions piece, owner of "sources". She isn't a journo anymore, she is a parrot. I agree with the sentiment that the AFL would like Nathan at Tassie, so would Gale... they tell her this and tell her to put it forward.

The old saying of don't add fuel to the fire, well she loves to add fuel to fires, and tbh so would I if the fire was.... prob shouldn't finish that

6 hours ago, picket fence said:

Still in Venice and I have to say, the joint has lots of water,secret passages,laneways, spooky alleys, dodgy types and many many women looking in admiration at the Aussie Icon. If anyone asks me my name I say Solemnly Picket Fence. Signed quite a few hankies, and left a few heart flutters in my wake. Ah um Mrs.Fence keeping an eagle eye on things so nothing untoward! Next stop Florence, then Rome then... Home, yeah and have to say after 6 weeks happy to be going home. Best to all, And for me its Buckley's or Nunn and or Lade, or Skipworth.

NOW WHATS THIS ABOUT JEFFO???

@picket fence . . . a shed load has gone down since you left town mate. Let me put you in the picture.

Jeffo’s the Schrödinger’s Cat of Demonland. He’s simultaneously being traded, re-signed, delisted, and named captain — all depending on which page of the thread you’re on. By the time you get back, he’ll also be running water for Casey and negotiating peace in the Middle East.

18 minutes ago, The Taciturn Demon said:

Honest question: do you have to be a regular Foxtel viewer to understand the aura around Buckley?

I absolutely understand that it was real in 2012. I don't understand it now.

TTD it was a slow burn for me, instinctively disliked him when I started watching On The Couch with Gazza and Brownie, I watched him closely waiting for his Filth bias to emerge. I started to enjoy the rapport between he, Gary and Brownie and he shows no fear nor favour to any side and seems to relish any side or player playing good footy. He is knowledgeable, self effacing yet self assured and not frightened to speak his mind when challenged.

To be honest TTD he slowly won me and my wife over, maybe it had a bit to do with the chemistry between those three former greats, I stopped watching the show since Gary moved over to 360 as I’m having trouble digesting Jack Riewodt. 😁👍

7 hours ago, kurtneverdied said:

I think most are overthinking all this. Caro is a journalist. Journalist job = get clicks. She hasn't just walked out of the secret AFL Powerbrokers room on the secret level at Crown Towers with orders to publicly convince Buckley to go to Tassie.

The show is called ‘The Agenda Setters’.

4 minutes ago, Ethan Tremblay said:

The show is called ‘The Agenda Setters’.

Yes, they may as well call it ‘Making News where there was none’

Or ‘Telling you what to think’

59 minutes ago, Ted Lasso said:

Caro thinks Melbourne is a bad job

Paul Roos thinks Melbourne is a great job

who would know? the media personality clearly pushing her own agenda or the premiership coach with intimate knowledge about the people and club in question?

Roos would have no insight into the current set up at Melbourne. A lot of the people he would have known in his time have have left since.

Considering he pretty much lives in Hawaii now days, he like most of us are just playing the guessing game.

21 minutes ago, DeeZone said:

TTD it was a slow burn for me, instinctively disliked him when I started watching On The Couch with Gazza and Brownie, I watched him closely waiting for his Filth bias to emerge. I started to enjoy the rapport between he, Gary and Brownie and he shows no fear nor favour to any side and seems to relish any side or player playing good footy. He is knowledgeable, self effacing yet self assured and not frightened to speak his mind when challenged.

To be honest TTD he slowly won me and my wife over, maybe it had a bit to do with the chemistry between those three former greats, I stopped watching the show since Gary moved over to 360 as I’m having trouble digesting Jack Riewodt. 😁👍

Agree, Reiwoldt is a shocking media performer and I too have stopped watching OTC since that [censored] has been on that show.

9 minutes ago, KozzyCan said:

A little odd that in an otherwise sraightforward article Twomey felt the need to throw in his two cents about trading Trac.

I'm surprised Caro hasn't suggested Buckley AND the Demons go to Tassie. After all, there's little difference between a Demon and a Devil and there'd be one less Vic team for Richmond to worry about.

1 minute ago, sue said:

I'm surprised Caro hasn't suggested Buckley AND the Demons go to Tassie. After all, there's little difference between a Demon and a Devil and there'd be one less Vic team for Richmond to worry about.

She's always had these weird campaigns moreso than any other media personality I've seen. North fans will tell you about her push to relocate them before the Gold Coast came in.

Generally her agendas fall in line with what the AFL want which tells you a bit about where her bread is buttered.

Edited by KozzyCan

22 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Agree, Reiwoldt is a shocking media performer and I too have stopped watching OTC since that [censored] has been on that show.

Genuinely baffling choice as host.

An interesting red and blue situation has arisen in Newcastle.

No image preview

'Why would we bother?' Knights coach shock as candidate w...

The early withdrawal has thrown a spanner in the Knights' coach search.

Basically, for those without subscriptions to the Herald, the story is that the Newcastle Knights sacked their coach recently after a series of poor performances.

First resonance with MFC.

Then the preferred candidate who is proving to be very successful in the UK league is being forced to undergo a ‘process’ where a series of current assistant coaches are also being interviewed.

The well-performed senior coach who has the inside running has now indicated to the Knights more or less that it is insulting to make him compete against unproven assistants and that he will not consider the position.

The pressure is then on the Knights to truncate the process and just announce him already.

Second parallel with MFC maybe.

39 minutes ago, KozzyCan said:

Generally her agendas fall in line with what the AFL want which tells you a bit about where her bread is buttered.

The opposite is true. She's been a thorn in the AFL's side throughout her career, more than any other footy journalist by a country mile.

If you believe otherwise you haven't been paying attention the past 40 years.

And if the AFL want Buckley to coach Tassie they'll do whatever is required to make it happen. They don;t need to run a publicity campaign through the media to convince either the fans or Bucks.

The whole idea is kind of absurd - "let's get one of the most hated journalists in the game to persuade everyone".

Just now, Grapeviney said:

The opposite is true. She's been a thorn in the AFL's side throughout her career, more than any other footy journalist by a country mile.

And if the AFL want Buckley to coach Tassie they'll do whatever is required to make it happen. They don;t need to run a publicity campaign through the media to convince either the fans or Bucks.

The whole idea is kind of absurd - "let's get one of the most hated journalists in the game to persuade everyone".

I don't think it's that deep. Caro has sources throughout the industry. She will generally takes the side of those who give her info. She's hardly going to throw them under the bus.

Think she's been pretty soft on the AFL wrt the major issues over the years.

7 minutes ago, Grapeviney said:

I agree the AFL conspiracy angle is a bit silly, but i think Caro is a person who does have a lot of close personal connections with very senior people associated with Tasmania and her bias and desire to help them is pretty clearly seeping into her reporting on this.

I mean her arguement a coaching job that doesn't even currently exist is better than the Melbourne job Bucks is interviewing for is evidence of the enormous intellectual stretch she's making to try and make the two comparable enough to be worth discussing.

I think this is the reason no other journo is seriously discussing Tassie as a viable alternative for Bucks, Damian Barrett did a good job talking about exactly this recently as well, stating Tassie might not ever actually have a job to offer so they really can't do much beyond sit and watch.

1 hour ago, KozzyCan said:

Genuinely baffling choice as host.

I haven't watched AFL media in a few years. I was surprised to see Riewoldt as host in a clip I saw yesterday.

He has the charisma of a donut.

Just now, Adam The God said:

I haven't watched AFL media in a few years. I was surprised to see Riewoldt as host in a clip I saw yesterday.

He has the charisma of a donut.

Don't sell Donuts short!

A good box of donuts can captivate a group of people far more successfully than any media performer in any industry.

Perhaps a part of why we have an obesity crisis, but relevant in any case.

7 minutes ago, Ted Lasso said:

I mean her arguement a coaching job that doesn't even currently exist is better than the Melbourne job Bucks is interviewing for is evidence of the enormous intellectual stretch she's making to try and make the two comparable enough to be worth discussing.

I think this is the reason no other journo is seriously discussing Tassie as a viable alternative for Bucks, Damian Barrett did a good job talking about exactly this recently as well, stating Tassie might not ever actually have a job to offer so they really can't do much beyond sit and watch.

The Herald Sun think it's enough of a story to be reporting her news of his meeting today.

And the job does exist, in the same way that a whole lot of other people are already employed by this club that isn't yet a club. They need to keep building the architecture of the whole thing in the event it does get up.

And don't be fooled into thinking the fate of the Devils rests with the Tassie Parliament. The AFL hold all the cards, and can alter the stadium deal at any time to make it palatable down there. They're sticking to their guns for the moment, but will know internally about their own willingness to bend further down the track to get it over line .. ie whether a job for Bucks will actually be there.

Edited by Grapeviney

Something indisputable is that Caro takes her job seriously…

DA OGs told me that when Joe Gutnick was President, during a match he came down to sit in the cheer squad for “refuge.” A little while after he sat down, the person next to him turned around and there’s Caro sitting directly behind Joe, with pen and notebook.

I don’t know what she expected to hear that could be newsworthy but I can’t help but admire such a ballsy move 😂

1 hour ago, sue said:

After all, there's little difference between a Demon and a Devil

There's actually a lot of difference between the two. A demon is an evil spirit while a Tasmanian devil is an animal.

5 minutes ago, Grapeviney said:

The Herald Sun think it's enough of a story to be reporting her news of his meeting today.

And the job does exist, in the same way that a whole lot of other people are already employed by this club that isn't yet a club. They need to keep building the architecture of the whole thing in the event it does get up.

And don't be fooled into thinking the fate of the Devils rests with the Tassie Parliament. The AFL hold all the cards, and can alter the stadium deal at any time to make it palatable down there. They're sticking to their guns for the moment, but will know internally about their own willingness to bend further down the track to get it over line .. ie whether a job for Bucks will actually be there.

It makes a lot of sense the Herald Sun would run with a story that's going to generate a lot of clicks, given that's their currency these days. It makes a lot of sense that Tassie would want to meet with Bucks and see where he's at with Melbourne and where that sits in terms of their own planning.

Ultimately though Bucks i am sure is weighing up the reality that the Tassie job is very very likely to be a really hard slog for 3-5 years with no guarantee the coach even survives beyond that point to see the other side of the hard yards where as Melbourne with the right coach could well be in the finals mix in 2026.

I will be hoping Bucks is meeting with Tassie to respectfully tell them he's pursuing the Melbourne role and he'll reach out if he misses out.

I agree with @binman. There is an undercurrent on this forum against CarolIne Wilson’s journalism that is unhealthy and obsessive.

I have detected the same bias against Kellie Underwood, who may not be everyone’s cup of tea but is a pioneer and very knowledgeable.

Both women have carved a path in a shockingly male-dominated sport and environment to their credit.

They also expose the deficiencies of many of the male commentators and journalists in our sport.

15 hours ago, DeeZone said:

You really think that “just because she is working against our club for Gale and AFL HQ” - we are a bit sensitive, I am not sensitive I am getting a bit outraged that someone in a position of power is so blatantly working against my club. But don’t worry Kero is working for the big picture and she can get away with undermining our club and hey what some of our supporters think that we are such a [censored] club this is what we actually deserve. Media manipulation at its worse.

I think what you've suggested and that which Engorged Onion has framed is about where it all sits.

Without doubt she has her sources, as one would think she does. That's not really a part of any argument. What I think, well at least suspect is that she is ever the opportunist to sling a barb the way of her favourite targets.

It's been shown over time.... we're one 😉