View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

4 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

I would if I thought it were a chance.

Let's hope all your Collingwood love is for the best and we make finals next year.

Because if not, the board should sack themselves.

You did after we were 0-5.

Its not about Collingwood love. It's about what I value and many others value.

Not just CONTEST AND DEFENCEEEEEEE.

On 13/08/2025 at 21:34, KozzyCan said:

No worries:

Fox Sports
No image preview

‘Diametrically opposed’: Inside story of Goodwin’s axing...

‘Was he deluded?’ Inside story of $1.2m Demons axe... and trade watch set to re-ignite

Amazing how we jump on all these click baiters as gospel . Basically they create a narrative because they have to compete with a complete over saturation of football diatribe & if you chose to believe that narrative because it aligns with your thoughts you accept it & if you don’t agree you disagree. Fact ..we had a coach who with the backing of a united board took us to a history making premiership, He then spent 4 or so years with a [censored] board ..no support .. dealt with incredible off field issues & then is flicked. Deserved at least the opportunity to see out his contract with a united board. I’ll always support the team but have no faith in the board . I’ll buy a membership (as well as my MCC) because that’s what you do ..but I absolutely will miss Goody . The worst decision is my lifetime was getting rid of James McDonald & Woewodin ..I pray it’s not a Goody …

On 15/08/2025 at 16:07, Dr. Gonzo said:

Goodwin had to go, the performance over a sustained period was evidence of that.

A statement as specious as it is superficial.

There can be any number of reasons why "performance over a sustained period" can be poor, poor coaching being but one.

Alistair Clarkson could justifiably be seen as an excellent coach, yet in his third season at North ...??

8 hours ago, DeedleDumb said:

Could someone please provide a transcript of the Caroline Wilson article in The Age today?

Just the juicy bit:

Green and fellow director Angela Williams remained in the Goodwin kitchen for only a matter of minutes before being asked to leave by the sacked coach, who had sent his children to their bedrooms to avoid any awkward scenes.

Football director Alan Richardson and acting chief executive David Chippindall stayed around a little longer before Goodwin asked to be left alone with his family.

And ...

Whether or not you agree with the decision to sack Simon Goodwin, it cannot be disputed that he coached in often challenging and occasionally untenable conditions. Board discord has punctuated the past six seasons, including 2021 when Goodwin coached the club to its first flag in almost six decades. Surely the next coach will be spared that distraction.

23 hours ago, binman said:

If the coach they now appoint does not bring success, and I would argue immediate success by at the least making finals next season, then they will have made another mistake.

If we make finals next year then Goodwin was right - in terms of where the group is at and how long it would take to be competitive again.

16 hours ago, Howard_Grimes said:

Remember that part of my post where I said for a 'number' of reasons?

And then I gave an example of one of the lesser reasons?

Orrrrr did you not read the post properly due to those red and blue lenses getting in the way?

Also, G'day @john delosa

Hope you've got some thoughts of your own somewhere behind those one mouse clicks!

Are you triggered by my one mouse clicks?
Good day to you also.

7 hours ago, bing181 said:

There can be any number of reasons why "performance over a sustained period" can be poor,

Most of those reasons come back to coaching.

9 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Most roads if not all lead to Rome ...

14 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

I reckon that's simple not the case, and its a falsity that drives myth that replacing the coach will address sustained poor performance.

I mean there is so little evidence changing coaches results in sustained success that its bizarre the myth, not to mention practice (though AFL clubs are not changing coaches as often now) continues.

Just look at the blues and roos for recent examples. How many coaches did both clubs cycle thru in the 5 years before landing on their current saviours Voss and Clarkson, neither of whom have been able to achieve anything remotely resembling sustained success.

I wold argue the number one factor in not achieving sustained success is a poorly performing executive.

Number two is players.

Number three is the high performance team and culture (the latter being influenced by the coach).

Number four is the coach.

If they don't sort the governance of the club the next coach could be a combination of Norm Smith, Clarkson, Hardwick, Phil Jackson and Sir Alex Ferguson and we'd still have sustained lack of success.

Which is this quote from the Caro article posted above is spot on:

Whether or not you agree with the decision to sack Simon Goodwin, it cannot be disputed that he coached in often challenging and occasionally untenable conditions. Board discord has punctuated the past six seasons, including 2021 when Goodwin coached the club to its first flag in almost six decades. Surely the next coach will be spared that distraction.

4 minutes ago, binman said:

If they don't sort the governance of the club the next coach could be a combination of Norm Smith, Clarkson, Hardwick, Phil Jackson and Sir Alex Ferguson and we'd still have sustained lack of success.

we haven't had sustained success since the mid 1950s to early 1960s

our current malaise is back to normal

20 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

we haven't had sustained success since the mid 1950s to early 1960s

our current malaise is back to normal

Yep.

And what is the one constant in that entire period?

Just now, whatwhat say what said:

the melbourne football club's nomadic existence

That's true. Who is responsible for that?

7 minutes ago, binman said:

Yep.

And what is the one constant in that entire period?

I’d love to know what your opinion is.

Mine is our board has always been formed by influential supporter groups, except for when the AFL took over in 2013 until 2020. Correlation is not causation, but in that 7 year period we did not leak. Stuff still happens but it was easier to try and fix.

6 minutes ago, binman said:

That's true. Who is responsible for that?

well, technically, it all goes back to the mcc

the 'separation of church and state' put us in a state of uncertainty and the terrible governance and decisions by boards fraught with infighting

having recruiting zones adjusted and being a rabble on- and off-field for the majority of time for the last 60 years put paid to any ability to build a supporter base

whilst we have, apparently, a wealthy supporter base, as per jake niall's series of articles our rich base doesn't stay rich by donating their money to a meaningless thing like a football club in a domestic sporting competition like the vfl / afl

one thing compounds the other which contributes to another which informs the former

failure begats failure

there's no one 'silver bullet' for our malaise

being a minnow of a club is a fraught existence - it's why the likes of us, aints, footscray, north, and even interstate second-comers like the pear and flagmantle, not to mention meaningless franchises like gc17 and gw$ are only intermittently successful over the course of this time period

not being 'up' during the dawn of tv viewership from the 70s and 80s into the 90s was a disaster for any small time club

4 hours ago, bing181 said:

If we make finals next year then Goodwin was right - in terms of where the group is at and how long it would take to be competitive again.

I don't think the board disagreed with Goodwin's belief we could compete next year.

I think they were opposed to doing it with someone of players we have. I am of the belief there was disagreement with the future of Petracca and/or Oliver.

17 hours ago, GawnOfTheDead said:

Considering this is the same we have played for two years running, I’d say it’s a perfect reflection on Goodwin and Chaplin and co.

We can’t handball easily, mark the ball on our chest, hit people on leads. The most basic things in the game we can’t do and haven’t for years.

This

We need a total revamp of who plays where and how we play.

9 hours ago, bing181 said:

A statement as specious as it is superficial.

There can be any number of reasons why "performance over a sustained period" can be poor, poor coaching being but one.

Alistair Clarkson could justifiably be seen as an excellent coach, yet in his third season at North ...??

Talk about being specious - Clarkson is not coaching a premiership list.

You defend Goodwin to the death yet its beyond doubt the last two years are some of the worst football we have played for a decade

Get rid of the blinkers Simon. Its all over for you.

21 hours ago, Lucifers Hero said:

Relax Jaded.

I asked a perfectly reasonable question which doesn't deserve the accusation of 'hate'.

I don't hate anyone especially someone I don't know.

You are a better person than I am Luci!
I hate lots of people and All Essendon people are on it 😄

Edited by Gorgoroth

19 hours ago, KozzyCan said:

I find it hard to believe he’s trying to do some Game of Thrones takeover out of the blue.

Exactly. Everything about his public statements suggest to me he'd prefer not to be in the job. Or at the very least he finds aspects of it extremely difficult.

If he revels in the 'power' of the position, he does an extraordinary job of hiding it.

And, also, what does he stand to gain out of some weird little power play to squeeze a couple more months out of his tenure?

5 hours ago, bing181 said:

If we make finals next year it would be an absolute miracle. It would be one of the great football department performances of the last 20 years.

9 hours ago, bing181 said:

Just the juicy bit:

Green and fellow director Angela Williams remained in the Goodwin kitchen for only a matter of minutes before being asked to leave by the sacked coach, who had sent his children to their bedrooms to avoid any awkward scenes.

Football director Alan Richardson and acting chief executive David Chippindall stayed around a little longer before Goodwin asked to be left alone with his family.

And ...

This is always the thing about accountability, and in the press, Caro has a long history of holding our incompetent boards to account.

You need people who genuinely put these people's feet to the fire, otherwise the Melbourne Football Club would wallow in mediocrity.

It's no secret I think Green's appointment has been a disaster. But he's one of many, including the last CEO and the last two Presidents prior to Brad, that have dragged this club back down to mediocrity.

The AFL didn't get their recommendation for CEO and instead we got a guy that runs a business lobby group and couldn't start for six months.

As far as I'm concerned, we need Caro to keep writing articles until we get better people in key decision making roles in admin and the footy department.

Edited by Adam The God

1 hour ago, Adam The God said:

This is always the thing about accountability, and in the press, Caro has a long history of holding our incompetent boards to account.

You need people who genuinely put these people's feet to the fire, otherwise the Melbourne Football Club would wallow in mediocrity.

It's no secret I think Green's appointment has been a disaster. But he's one of many, including the last CEO and the last two Presidents prior to Brad, that have dragged this club back down to mediocrity.

The AFL didn't get their recommendation for CEO and instead we got a guy that runs a business lobby group and couldn't start for six months.

As far as I'm concerned, we need Caro to keep writing articles until we get better people in key decision making roles in admin and the footy department.

Because everything she says is true.....

Was she hiding in the kitchen cupboard?

1 hour ago, Adam The God said:

Caro was definitely in Roffey’s camp.

1 hour ago, jnrmac said:

Because everything she says is true.....

Was she hiding in the kitchen cupboard?

Caro clearly has sources at board level, directly or indirectly.