39 minutes ago, Demon Disciple said:

It’s a pity May doesn’t hold himself to account like he does his teammates.

Absolute nonsense.

He is filthy at himself when he stuffs up, and he always puts his hand up when he does it.

In fact not that long ago, there was a behind the scenes video from a game the club posted, and the defenders were chatting in the rooms at half time, and May said to the group we did really well to stop them scoring, except my stuff up that handed them a goal.

If you think May doesn't hold himself accountable for his performances on the field, you haven't been watching him.

If he loses a contest, he's winning the next one almost without doubt. He got shown up in the first quarter versus the Saints, and then went on to be BOG for us in the next 3 quarters.

You can say a lot of stuff about May, but to say that he doesn't hold himself to very high performance standards, is absolutely false!

He holds everyone to high standards, and that makes him someone you want to play with.

People defended Trac when he put the club thru hell last year, because he wanted to raise standards. But a conversation between two senior players is suddenly bad?

Edited by Jaded No More

50 minutes ago, Demon Disciple said:

I think youll find he does. That's not to say he doesn't stuff up.. but he's pretty dirty on himself when he does.

Just my obs

1 hour ago, BW511 said:

May has plenty of form in berating teammates, earlier in the game he looked to be absolutely blasting Xavier Lindsay?

Yeh l think l saw that too

3 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

Sure, this incident didn’t look great, but I think it’s not what everyone thinks it is.

I reckon Maysie came to say something nice to Max along the lines of it’s ok mate, and Max was so bitter and angry with himself that he told Maysie along the lines of wtf? It’s not ok, I [censored] up.

I believe this because when Max made that blunder he was visibly absolutely filthy on himself. In fact, before Maysie even approached Max, Disco was already trying to comfort Max, but his gesture wasn’t verbal, an arm around the shoulder is less ‘triggering.’

Also, the push wasn’t aggressive. Had it been an aggressive push Maysie would’ve shown in his body language some form of anger/retaliation or at the very least, offence.

Max walked straight off the ground and straight through the rooms and probably straight to the only place with no cameras… the toilets. Because that’s the best place to be when you’re crying. Because yes, Max looked like someone who was trying hard not to burst into tears.

It’s something to consider as a possibility. I firmly believe it’s the accurate summation.

Hi there G , did I see your face on the screen for a split second 👍

1 hour ago, BW511 said:

May has plenty of form in berating teammates, earlier in the game he looked to be absolutely blasting Xavier Lindsay?

I think he was blasting Kosi for that 50m penalty, which he also was penalised for the week before.

Fair play if true, because that was a stupid 50 to give away two weeks in a row!

4 hours ago, Roost it far said:

It’s one of the most nothing incidents I’ve seen the media harp on about. Doesn’t matter if May said “you fffing moron, you always kick to me in those situations” It’s 2 blokes who are deeply frustrated at what just occurred, not only today but this season. We had them, we absolutely had them. I was filthy and I was just watching.

Exactly this. Given what we know about May he probably did give Max some harsh feedback that the big fella wasn’t quite ready to hear yet, but so what. He knew he fluffed the kick but more importantly, we fluffed about 10 other moments in that quarter, all of which could have won us the game. He was filthy and rightly so - not just because of his kick but because he’s the captain of the team that let a golden chance slip. Realistically that play from Max was never going to be the winner anyway.

Max’s face reflected how I felt, honestly.

As you said - two ultra competitive blokes who were deeply frustrated. They’ll both have moved long past this by now and it’s so frustrating that the media are so desperate to keep this nothing story of nothingness alive.

So gawn said this morning he couldn't recall what may actually said, but Tom morris has come out & said he knows exactly what may said.

Funny how he finds out stuff

I just heard a few sound-bytes from the Korndog. The guy is a serious muppet of epic proportions. Now that wont surprise most. I wonder if there is anybody in the footy landscape including supporters actually like him or rate his opinion. I'm fascinated how he hasn't disappeared into oblivion.

Who cares?

Its a total distraction from the disgraceful umpiring.

Why didn't Max get a 50m penalty ? Why did the ump call play on?

We were totally rogered by the umps. All day.

This is just a media beat up . Let it go and focus on the real issues

4 hours ago, Ghostwriter said:

Sure, this incident didn’t look great, but I think it’s not what everyone thinks it is.

I reckon Maysie came to say something nice to Max along the lines of it’s ok mate, and Max was so bitter and angry with himself that he told Maysie along the lines of wtf? It’s not ok, I [censored] up.

I believe this because when Max made that blunder he was visibly absolutely filthy on himself. In fact, before Maysie even approached Max, Disco was already trying to comfort Max, but his gesture wasn’t verbal, an arm around the shoulder is less ‘triggering.’

Also, the push wasn’t aggressive. Had it been an aggressive push Maysie would’ve shown in his body language some form of anger/retaliation or at the very least, offence.

Max walked straight off the ground and straight through the rooms and probably straight to the only place with no cameras… the toilets. Because that’s the best place to be when you’re crying. Because yes, Max looked like someone who was trying hard not to burst into tears.

It’s something to consider as a possibility. I firmly believe it’s the accurate summation.

well said my little sheet rack and so true

Just now, jnrmac said:

Who cares?

Its a total distraction from the disgraceful umpiring.

Why didn't Max get a 50m penalty ? Why did the ump call play on?

We were totally rogered by the umps. All day.

This is just a media beat up . Let it go and focus on the real issues

ha ha ha Rodgered i had almost forgotten that one ha ha

4 minutes ago, dees189227 said:

So gawn said this morning he couldn't recall what may actually said, but Tom morris has come out & said he knows exactly what may said.

Funny how he finds out stuff

blokes a nutter and deserves a dam good rodgering

3 minutes ago, ghost who walks said:

ha ha ha Rodgered i had almost forgotten that one ha ha

Best ever headline from the NT News when John Millman beat Roger Federer

"Millmann Rogers Federer"

O for this aggression in every game...

7 minutes ago, jnrmac said:

Best ever headline from the NT News when John Millman beat Roger Federer

"Millmann Rogers Federer"

Does it beat [🤣] this?

image.png

Well done, Maysie

He's the leader in the backline - he had every right to give Gawn feedback

Watch how well May and Lever work together...no egos, just honest assessment

18 minutes ago, Nasher said:

Slash makes stuff up.

Max wouldn't have his diplomats cap on by any chance 😉

2 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said:

Not sure I agree.

image.png

owee

2 hours ago, Demon Disciple said:

Agree.

And I reckon our players are too scared to say anything to him when he makes the same sorts of errors, consistently. Which is why you never see any of them berate him after he [censored] up. They get over to him to encourage and lift him back up.

At his age, he should be doing much better in this space and I'm sure the club would be talking to him about this behind closed doors.

2 hours ago, BW511 said:

It might’ve looked like he was blasting Lindsay for that 50 on TV, but at the ground the player he was upset about during that play was Disco for allowing them to get out the back in the first place. He continued speaking to Disco after they scored the resulted goal which he has every right to do when keeping the structure.

So according to Tom, may said to gawn did you think there's only 10 seconds left.

So if that's true then it's a bit overblown.

Probably just not the right time to say it.

Anyway the media will enjoy talking about it for awhile