3 hours ago, bing181 said:

That last quarter puts to bed the idea that we aren't fit enough and can't run out games.

So much of all this is between the ears.

Does it?

Does one good fourth quarter mean we’re fit?

I’m sure there’s a mental aspect to it but doing it once doesn’t mean we’re necessarily fit enough to do it each week.

I haven’t seen the game yet but I’ve noticed it was a fairly low tackle count - 39-41, including just 7 each in the fourth. Contrast with last week, which was 61-44. Perhaps that impacted our ability to run this one out?

If that wasn't the most Simon Goodwin melbourne game ever I'll heave

Early domination and unable to convert

Defended with tenacity

Gave up some easy goals and nearly threw it away

Then dominated a quarter like we were playing witches cones.

Max the Goat, Clarry strong.

Give Kozzie what he wants!

How [censored] good

2 minutes ago, Doug Reemer said:

I see more Brayshaw in Lindsay, I think Langford is going to be Bont like (hopefully 2/3’s as good!) Bont is easily the best player of the last decade!

Good call on Langford/Bont.
I've been tring to think of someone to compare him to but couldn't come up with one.
Think ya spot on with the Bont.
Big, strong, skillful mobile mid who can take a mark.
I stated here somewhere else that he's got a nice touch of take no sheet too.

Lindsay's a smooth mover ... I reckon he's got more skill than Brayshaw with less kamakazi.
Simon Black perhaps .... Dunno.
But he's good, real good.

Edited by Fork 'em

AJ’s game against the Giants in the opening round was a ripper, and I’m glad he’s getting more time to adjust to AFL. He’ll offer us plenty this year if he can secure the role as Max’s relief. Much prefer him to all the other options.

Clarry was showing great signs today. Well and truly kept the lid on Neale and displayed a renewed sense of desperation and tenacity.

Sparrow is also slowly turning up the heat. Stats don’t flatter him, but his off-ball/pressure game is underrated.

Our freakish captain aside, the lack of big standouts was down to a whole team rising as one. Swans should be worried.

41 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

What game did you watch?

😂 Will have to re-watch but I thought he did ok. Will try and rewatch and see if it changes my opinion.

17 minutes ago, Doug Reemer said:

Both Sharp & Spargo are no good. Maybe charlie finds form but he is neither here nor there.

Sharp just can’t finish.. He is the wish version of Jayden Hunt!

Sharp can barely start. Its rare you see a player cough the ball up as often as he does in traffic. Spargo gets a game cause theres no one else at Casey who you can trust quite simply. I dont watch enough of the Magoos but id consider giving Sestan a run if he can kick over 40 metres.

28 minutes ago, Jjrogan said:

Sharp can barely start. Its rare you see a player cough the ball up as often as he does in traffic. Spargo gets a game cause theres no one else at Casey who you can trust quite simply. I dont watch enough of the Magoos but id consider giving Sestan a run if he can kick over 40 metres.

I’d be giving Kynan Brown a look!

2 hours ago, Greg Schneider said:

Windsor 6 touches at 17% DE what the hell’s going on there ? 😂

What happens when you miss the pointy end of pre-season. That foot infection thing really set him back at an inopportune time. As we've seen with a few players this year and last, once you miss a slab of footy/training just when intensity is ramping up early in the year, it's like trying to get on a moving train as it pulls away from the station.

Edited by bing181

Great to get the win, important for the whole club from the coaches to the players. Self-belief and belief in your coaches and teammates goes a long way.

But something that hasn't been brought up is that it's a win that will be noticed outside the club, especially by players on the move. One win doesn't make us a destination club, but it shows we're not a basket case and there's a lot to like going forward.

And on that note, come on down Logan Morris.

35 minutes ago, Fork 'em said:

Good call on Langford/Bont.
I've been tring to think of someone to compare him to but couldn't come up with one.
Think ya spot on with the Bont.
Big, strong, skillful mobile mid who can take a mark.
I stated here somewhere else that he's got a nice touch of take no sheet too.

Lindsay's a smooth mover ... I reckon he's got more skill than Brayshaw with less kamakazi.
Simon Black perhaps .... Dunno.
But he's good, real good.

Agree Langford is a Bont in the making. Should be moved forward at times iMO to see how he can change our line up especially if not successfully scoring. His marking looks very useful and a straight kick to boot.

Lindsay is nothing like Angus and I am having trouble comparing him with a player today or even yesteryear. I Know he is good and am wondering if he could play half forward also part time where his height class and disposal would assist scoring and passing to teammates.

Having casually suggested our 2 wingers could/ should play forward at times I have no idea who we move there in place.

Perhaps Lingers of course and maybe Salo who might appreciate the usual issue of height when at half back.

Interesting isn’t it when you have 2 guns no Matter how raw and inexperienced they are you can still see creatively the talent they possess.

No wonder I still would like The Duke in the centre to capitalise on our new aggressive approach.

I honestly think we have enough defenders in our Club talls and mediums and even smalls ( Bowey and AMZ when fit ) and maybe Sharp could be added see if he could gain some confidence. I feel he has ability but is not the real deal up forward or on a wing or even as a mid other than a change during a game.

BTW Rooy should now be given the opportunity to gain confidence at CHB or FB at Casey. Adams should also be nearer AFL selection if the situation arises.

1 minute ago, bing181 said:

Great to get the win, important for the whole club from the coaches to the players. Self-belief and belief in your coaches and teammates goes a long way.

But something that hasn't been brought up is that it's a win that will be noticed outside the club, especially by players on the move. One win doesn't make us a destination club, but it shows we're not a basket case and there's a lot to like going forward.

And on that note, come on down Logan Morris.

Was musing about Logan during the game and wondering if we could get him on board some how. Fine player in the making just as Disco is now starting to consistently prove.

There are pieces of Lindsay, and I dare to say this , that are like the ball gathering of Flower.

Johnson... Brisbane on ballers were watching, no doubt.

Melksham..he already has an understudy on the ground, Chin. Of all our regular forwards he has shown his all round improvement this year with limited ops.

4 hours ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

Whilst a number of our old heads cost us early with their fumbling, in contrast our young brigade are so cool in the moment, clean in their ball handling and precise with their disposal. An absolute joy to watch. Melky take a bow. Fantastic anticipation from AJ to boot that crucial goal.

Very envious of the supporters that made the trip up there. Enjoy your night.

Even better when you only have to bus it 8/10minutes and can enjoy a Canadian Club and dry bev when watching a stirring comeback in the third an a good old fashioned surge in the last from behind.

And a wine when home with your meal and after is the cherry on top.

Talked to two older ladies on the bus from Victoria who flew up and stayed in the Valley and they had a ball. Our interstate record is now 45 wins and 31 losses plus a draw in the last 77 games out of Victoria. That’s about a decade of excellent travelling.

includes our Flag and Finals also.

21 minutes ago, FireInTheBennelly said:

Morris has re-signed to end of 2027

Bummer. Didn't catch that.

4 hours ago, Golly123 said:

I'm concerned about Salem

I am concerned about you Goff. Form nearly back to best given his injuries and 30 age bracket.

4 hours ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

Disco is a pretty reliable set shot from varying angles.

No hive Jake another run in the Casey Dees with say 3/4 of match time. Too often our guys are promoted too early by Goody. Safety first way to go.

4 hours ago, GS_1905 said:

He has been great, but lets not get carried away. He would just be in the top 10 half backs of the league at the moment.

If he could get more forward half possessions, goals, inside 50s and score involvements then, he'd be in consideration for sure.

Most of that is not first option half back requirements unless you are a running type. Bowser is good mostly in defence and Riv Salo and Judd can run down field. His disposal is a major factor for him to maintain his form. And he is doing that quite nicely without all the additional tasks you have all of a sudden invented for him.

6 hours ago, SPC said:

Brisbane in patches looked the best team we had played in years

Their ball movement is superb when you don't get up in their faces. Same with Collingwood and Hawthorn. Pressure is the kryptonite to quelling that ball movement. And in the first half, we gave them the majority of their score from turnovers.

Eradicate those turnovers, keep winning clearance, bring the pressure and the Premier on their home patch wouldn't be able to score. Same goes for those other teams.

6 hours ago, Smokey said:

Take a bow Melk, Bowey, Langdon, XL and Turner. Those 5 were the difference today.

How could you leave Max out of that list (he’d probably be my second picked after Melksham)?

1 hour ago, titan_uranus said:

We’re out of the bottom 4!

In all seriousness, I can’t wait to watch this one having missed it. We have a rivalry of sorts with Brisbane and it’s become quite enjoyable beating them, but far more importantly it’s what the win signifies.

Of all the games to find something in the last, it’s this one. +9 in CPs and +13 inside 50s, for 4.8 to 1.1. Could have blown them out of the water but given they were 1st and we were 15th, beggars can’t be choosers.

We’ve won 4 of our last 5 and the 5th was a game we arguably should have won. It’s fair enough now to say our form is turning, if it hasn’t already.

Less than halfway in and we’re 1 game (and a stack of percentage) out of the 8. We have plenty to play for, even if we’re coming from too far back.

Yeah, possibly too far back. I think our best chance to scrape in is win 9 more games and with 13 wins and a poorish percentage leapfrog all the teams with better percentages but 12 wins. We've just beaten the reigning premiers on their home turf, who started the round on top of the ladder, yes. That standard will net more wins. Whether we'll consistently play that well from here on is the big factor.

GO the MIghty Dees!

I enjoyed listening to SEN's call of the game with Dean Solomon. He played for Essendon and Fremantle and was interim head coach of Gold Coast for 3 games. Here are some of Dean's observations over the course of the game:

• Goodwin clearly out coached Fagan. It was a brilliant coaching game by Goodwin

• Melbourne has given the competition a blueprint on how to beat Brisbane:

• In the 2nd half, Melbourne set up their defensive structure to take away Brisbane's passing into their half forwards. Solomon said it was almost as if Melbourne was inviting this pass, then causing the turnover and rebound

• After half time and in their half of the ground, Melbourne brought 2 of its forwards up towards the stoppage, bringing their Lions defenders with them, which opened up Melbourne's inside 50.

• Make Harris Andrews ineffective, reduce Neale's and Zorko's impact - does this make Brisbane beatable?

• Fort is a very good ruckman, but Gawn is currently playing at another level

• When you see Gawn live, it's amazing the power running he does that's not captured on the screen

• This was one of the very best games of the season

• This was Petracca's best game since returning from injury

• Aidan Johnson is madder than a cut snake

• Melksham is at his best when he looks like he is playing angry

Edited by Dee in a Kilt
typo