Gawn this morning on Radio

Clayton, there’s going to be stories about him until we are done,” Gawn said on Monday.

He made a very mature decision to spend the week off this week. It’s been a big eight weeks for him ... he felt like he was getting a bit overwhelmed and wanted a week off."

For his future, I am week by week with Clayton and the club. All I care is about him getting up for Hawthorn, doing it with a smile on his face, and whatever happens at the end of the year happens.”

Gawn said he and his teammates would continue to support Oliver, not react to weekly news items, knowing any decisions made now “could change by August”.

I’ve lived with a lot of these stories. Some stay, some go,” he told Mick in the Morning on Triple M.

It’s all a beat-up in May. I could make a decision … that could change by August. The May story is really nothing.

I’m going to pretend it hasn’t been written. Nothing to see here. He’s coming over for a sauna tonight.”

Oliver was given the rest after an “open dialogue” with the club but is expected to be available for this weekend’s clash with Hawthorn.

3 hours ago, Mouseymoo said:

Grown up mate. The discussions been respectful. We are allowed to discuss the future of all our players especially our highest paid who reportedly want out.

I sincerely hope he doesn’t read the “respectful” discussion on here. With both Oscar Allen & Harry McKay taking personal leave with one of the main reasons being the hate & vitriol coming their way …I could completely understand him taking leave. This forum has discussed Carrie ad nauseum & yet as soon as T.Morris (Trac gave an inspiring speech in the rooms 😂) says something..some jump on it . As Max said today it’s May ..he doesn’t care what happens next year ..he just wants Clarry with a smile on his face next Saturday .

9 minutes ago, roy11 said:

Gawn this morning on Radio

Clayton, there’s going to be stories about him until we are done,” Gawn said on Monday.

He made a very mature decision to spend the week off this week. It’s been a big eight weeks for him ... he felt like he was getting a bit overwhelmed and wanted a week off."

For his future, I am week by week with Clayton and the club. All I care is about him getting up for Hawthorn, doing it with a smile on his face, and whatever happens at the end of the year happens.”

Gawn said he and his teammates would continue to support Oliver, not react to weekly news items, knowing any decisions made now “could change by August”.

I’ve lived with a lot of these stories. Some stay, some go,” he told Mick in the Morning on Triple M.

It’s all a beat-up in May. I could make a decision … that could change by August. The May story is really nothing.

I’m going to pretend it hasn’t been written. Nothing to see here. He’s coming over for a sauna tonight.”

Oliver was given the rest after an “open dialogue” with the club but is expected to be available for this weekend’s clash with Hawthorn.

There is a bit in that. From what was Clayton will be a one club player to a position that is no longer so absolute.

I'll maintain that if Clarry does want to go for whatever reason, we will send him on his merry way as long as we dont get left holding the bill. If Clarry wants to instigate the move, we have to be very firm with his management on what we expect in return because he is the one that is wanting to break contract.

We can be realisitc (i.e. 3 first rounders is not fair value), however the kid is 27, has no major physical injury so has every opportunity to get back to his best. This to me commands 2 first rounders. Its not like Harley Reid who hasnt proven anything and is yet worth 3 first rounders depending on who you talk to. Clayton is in his physical prime and has a better chance (with proven experience) to get back to a top 5 player. He still has 6+ years of footy left in him, so that is 2 first round picks minimum.

The other aspect relates to his destination. If its a fresh start that he is after and that is genuine, then that could be at any club. However, if its a, i want to get to Geelong, then i have trouble accepting 'a fresh start' as the only reason. Im not opposed to him having a preference on his destination but ultimately it has to work for both parties and the MFC should not be forced into a deal where we get the short end of the stick.

A lot will be made about the salary dump, but as far as i know, we are not really in a bind here. so its a mute point for now. If however this was required as part of a bigger deal where we are talks with a Butters / Reid / Rowell and we'd need Oliver salary to make this possible then sure it can complicate matters. But i'd say with the footy we are playing and our list profile, we are 1-2 years away from having another crack and hence attracting top end talent where this maybe an issue.

I just hope he's okay - he stays, he stays...he goes, he goes

Wouldn't be fussed either way

Won a flag in 2021 and I'm sure we'll see him at reunions and calvacades

1 hour ago, GS_1905 said:

We expect compensation for a multiple AA 2xALFCA and 4xB&F. minimum is 1 first round pick.

Yeah one first rounder is what clubs will be prepared to pay. Clubs won't pay for a former AA if not in AA form

2 minutes ago, jaydenh10 said:

why are you people entertaining this bs, the two who are pushing this narrative the most go for geelong

McClure-Carlton

Morris-Melbourne

13 hours ago, BDA said:

I want clarry to get back in a good head space, have a proper crack at the second half of the season and let’s see where things stand at the end of the year. If a deal works for both parties then so be it.

That’s way to sensible for this forum 😀

Those that seriously underestimate Oliver's contribution are led by pundits trying to force his worth down! Oliver is currently #1 for av. disposals on MFC's list (equal with Brayshaw, Liberatore, Serong and J. Daicos). Oliver is #2 for tackles and continues to be #1 for handballs. Some on here talk about him as if he were an under-performing rookie!

Such a pity that one of the best midfielder's in the clubs history is such a drop kick.

However, if you're so desperate to go and get to Geelong, you'd have no problems signing a new contract that reduces your salary so that we can get full value for you.

Otherwise buckle up buddy, you're here to fulfil the contract you signed

25 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

McClure-Carlton

Morris-Melbourne

Do you think its possible that these mouthpieces get paid by Geelong to peddle this stuff constantly? They did it for Smith last year and i dont often see them going this hard when it involves other clubs. I think its part of a broader media influenced landscape that we don't have the capability / willingness / know-how in transacting with. i have no doubt [censored] like this goes on - whether there is an exchange of cash or information who knows, but it definitely isnt a level playing field.

1 minute ago, GS_1905 said:

Do you think its possible that these mouthpieces get paid by Geelong to peddle this stuff constantly? They did it for Smith last year and i dont often see them going this hard when it involves other clubs. I think its part of a broader media influenced landscape that we don't have the capability / willingness / know-how in transacting with. i have no doubt [censored] like this goes on - whether there is an exchange of cash or information who knows, but it definitely isnt a level playing field.

Highly doubt this level of sophistication exists. They are just a couple of blokes with huge egos that need to feel relevant. No one talks to them as they can’t be trusted, so they often float stories out there.

For what it’s worth, I think Clarry might benefit from a change of employer. Geelong might be an environment that suits as it’s close knit and away from his current friend groups.

37 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

McClure-Carlton

Morris-Melbourne

maclure - the story

morris - the story

niall - the story

...journalists - the story

majority of em don't give two hoots about who they barrack for, or used to barrack for...they want the STORY

As Goodwin said a few years ago "it's all Fugazi" we need to block out this outside noise who continually try to bring us and Oliver down. We've won 3 in a row and are looking to take a big scalp with the Hawks. Let's focus our energy on what we can control.

9 minutes ago, GS_1905 said:

It’s possible that Morris and McClure are being looked after by Jeeelong, nothing would suprise me.

We all knew Bailey Smith was going to the Litter Box months before it was made official

5 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

maclure - the story

morris - the story

niall - the story

...journalists - the story

majority of em don't give two hoots about who they barrack for, or used to barrack for...they want the STORY

Yes i know all that, i worked with journalists cutting stories for over 10 years. These guys scrounge out stories as often as they can.

But they are not Jeeelong people

1 hour ago, Sir Why You Little said:

I wonder if this is coming from inside the Footy Department? there was some angst from players a couple of years ago, so maybe this is player driven, from inside…

It sounds like a manager leak imo.

8 minutes ago, KozzyCan said:

It sounds like a manager leak imo.

Not sure about that, you could be right of course, but the fact that Clarry didn’t play on the weekend, i wouldn’t be at all surprised if other players have had their say…

57 minutes ago, waynewussell said:

Those that seriously underestimate Oliver's contribution are led by pundits trying to force his worth down! Oliver is currently #1 for av. disposals on MFC's list (equal with Brayshaw, Liberatore, Serong and J. Daicos). Oliver is #2 for tackles and continues to be #1 for handballs. Some on here talk about him as if he were an under-performing rookie!

But sadly the QUALITY of those possessions has taken a serious hit

It’s a long time since Clarry dominated a big game…

6 minutes ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Not sure about that, you could be right of course, but the fact that Clarry didn’t play on the weekend, i wouldn’t be at all surprised if other players have had their say…

If that were the case, i wouldnt expect the public display from Trac on Sat night. I do believe he pulled himself away to have a mental break.

10 minutes ago, GS_1905 said:

If that were the case, i wouldnt expect the public display from Trac on Sat night. I do believe he pulled himself away to have a mental break.

Quite possibly, but there has been some player problems from the start of all this. So it’s probably a bit of everything

1 hour ago, waynewussell said:

Exactly the reason I reckon he'd be top 5 in the Bluey at present.

1 hour ago, SPC said:

Highly doubt this level of sophistication exists. They are just a couple of blokes with huge egos that need to feel relevant. No one talks to them as they can’t be trusted, so they often float stories out there.

For what it’s worth, I think Clarry might benefit from a change of employer. Geelong might be an environment that suits as it’s close knit and away from his current friend groups.

yes, i'm sure stengle and smith will make great playmates

1 hour ago, GS_1905 said:

Don't know about being paid, but journos definitely seem to want all good players on the move to go to one of Geelong, Collingwood or Hawthorn, or occasionally Carlton/St Kilda/Bulldogs. Otherwise they want them to go to the team they support.