View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

This thread has turned very ugly.

The bile being dished out based on assumptions, opinions, perceptions, 'vibes' presented as 'facts' is abhorrent. Such vitriol and accusations would rarely be used in one's private life so why do people feel free to abuse a player, his wife, his manager, his life etc.

The frenzy is such that if this was medieval England there would be gallows in the main street with many lining up to pull the rope, cheered on by the lynch mob.

It is sad to say what is being dished up in this thread says more about the posters than any of the targets.

Its a game. He goes, he goes. Be disappointed, hurt but let's keep a bit of dignity among ourselves.

Edited by Lucifers Hero

1 minute ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Posturing do you reckon Daz? idk that sounds to me like the club is expecting him to be there next year because noone meets the demands?

6 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

The bile being dished out based on assumptions, opinions, perceptions, 'vibes' presented as 'facts' is abhorrent. Such vitriol and accusations would rarely be used in one's private life so why do people feel free to abuse a player, his wife, his manager, his life etc.

The frenzy is such that if this was medieval England there would be gallows in the main street with many lining up to pull the rope, cheered on by the lynch mob.

It is sad to say what is being dished up in this thread says more about the posters than any of the targets.

Its a game. He goes, he goes. Be disappointed, hurt but let's keep a bit of dignity among ourselves.

Exactly this. The mob mentality here is uglier than anything Trac has done. We’ve lost all perspective , it’s footy, not a witch trial. If he goes, it hurts, but tearing down a bloke’s character and family says more about us than him. this has turned into a witch hunt. It’s footy, not a gallows

Looking forward to what today brings on the Cirque de Trac tour.

17 hours ago, Macca said:

He's got his money (guaranteed) so now it's more a matter of who he wants to play for

It's quite probable that he can't see much future success at the MFC

Happens in the NBA and other big sports on a constant basis

Ben Simmons anyone?

I thought Steven King spoke very well in that story. And he is exactly right. Trac is a great player and is contracted to us and there has to be a very good reason fit us to let him go. And if he stays, then as a professional I am very confident he would give his all.

And if he chooses to leave, then as it is his choice, there would be no prospect, in my view, of us paying one cent of his ongoing salary.

A meeting with Clazz and Steven King to take place today

A 'role change' will be discussed, whatever that means

Feeling is Melbourne open to him exploring his options

As per Sam Edmund

(Lots of guess work by Edmund tho)

Just now, adonski said:

A meeting with Clazz and Steven King to take place today

A 'role change' will be discussed, whatever that means

Feeling is Melbourne open to him exploring his options

As per Sam Edmund

(Lots of guess work by Edmund tho)

2 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

Dusty spent considerable time with gw$ before deciding to stick with the tigs

Four years later he had three premierships and norm smith medals

If he a deal can’t get done then he returns to the MFC

Dusty was at the beginning of his career. Undoubted talent but very questionable application. No body wanted him so tiges had to honour the contract. Worked out very well for them though.

Trac is at a completely different stage of his career and the factors around the trade totally different. If Trac was happy and contented with us no trade would happen.

King interview on SEN

No image preview

“On our terms”: Melbourne coach reveals Petracca plan

Exclusive: Steven King has set the record straight on Christian Petracca.

Interesting that the meeting with Trac about exploring options was last week and King wasn't there in person nor by phone/video. And they haven't met in person.

“Those discussions might have happened in Grand Final week, so I wasn’t actually privy to any of those meetings,” he said further.

I would have thought whoever organised the meeting would wait a few days till King was available.

This might be more spin by the club to protect his trade value: “I’ve got his back around walking back into the club and playing great footy, and I’ll back him in.”

But I'll give King the benefit of the doubt and believe him.

Maybe King and Petracca should meet and have a heart to heart.

...and posters cool their jets for a while.

41 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

But Luci... it IS just that... justa game... he's just a player.

He's not the Messiah, not even a naughty boy. It's just Petracca looking out for Petracca.

Personally I'm more concerned and interested about Melbourne. He doesn’t seem to be wanting anything more to do with us. That's fine. I also am not in the camp that thinks he's the difference ( for us ) between a flag or not.

I dont think its either the club nor most of us here who are making the 'song and dance' about it all.

But put yourself on a stage, you will be critiqued.

We're only watching the opening shows but I bet the rehearsals have been going on for some time.

I think the meeting will go really well and Clarry will embrace his new role as ruckman

1 minute ago, adonski said:

I think the meeting will go really well and Clarry will embrace his new role as ruckman

The key forward we needed was on our list all along

5 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

But Luci... it IS just that... justa game... he's just a player.

He's not the Messiah, not even a naughty boy. It's just Petracca looking out for Petracca.

Personally I'm more concerned and interested about Melbourne. He doesn’t seem to be wanting anything more to do with us. That's fine. I also am not in the camp that thinks he's the difference ( for us ) between a flag or not.

I dont think its either the club nor most of us here who are making the 'song and dance' about it all.

But put yourself on a stage, you will be critiqued.

We're only watching the opening shows but I bet the rehearsals have been going on for some time.

I'm ok with all that. It is the vitriol on DL that surrounds those points that imv is abhorrent and unnecessary.

We're essentially seeing a Hawthorn-esque list turnover if news about Clarry is true.

Maybe King's assessment of the current list was a little more "brutal" than initially thought. Giddy up indeed.

Edited by Mouseymoo

7 minutes ago, Lucifers Hero said:

King interview on SEN

No image preview

“On our terms”: Melbourne coach reveals Petracca plan

Exclusive: Steven King has set the record straight on Christian Petracca.

Interesting that the meeting with Trac about exploring options was last week and King wasn't there in person nor by phone/video. And they haven't met in person.

“Those discussions might have happened in Grand Final week, so I wasn’t actually privy to any of those meetings,” he said further.

I would have thought whoever organised the meeting would wait a few days till King was available.

This might be more spin by the club to protect his trade value: “I’ve got his back around walking back into the club and playing great footy, and I’ll back him in.”

But I'll give King the benefit of the doubt and believe him.

Maybe King and Petracca should meet and have a heart to heart.

...and posters cool their jets for a while.

Someone is leading this merry dance. ( hint...not King )

Tracc knew when King might become available for a chat. If it was his preference to clear the air and reformatva position at Melbourne..... wouldn't you wait... talk... think about... 🤔 .. then maybe get on planes ??

Tracc's priority is Tracc

Just now, beelzebub said:

Someone is leading this merry dance. ( hint...not King )

Tracc knew when King might become available for a chat. If it was his preference to clear the air and reformatva position at Melbourne..... wouldn't you wait... talk... think about... 🤔 .. then maybe get on planes ??

Tracc's priority is Tracc

Maybe but why didn't Richardson and Lamb say 'bad luck mate; we will wait till King is on board in a few days days'.

Surely, they are competent enough to manage a player and critical trade discussions!

58 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Well spoken King, dosent talk in riddles, straight shooter, his messaging to players will be positive , no nonsense themes eg love, very open on Trac, Mcvee & May …

Edited by Demonsone

9 hours ago, Demonsone said:

One wonders how does he walk back into the club if the deal isn’t done?

If it’s GC at least Hardwick and him have something in common they both said BS to their respective clubs before they left

I dont think this is given enough weight.

If.. and I wish to emphasise IF... there was some sort of schism surrounding Tracc and others then this can not be reduced by the current events. Bit like trying to unsee something.

You just get the idea that lots of rods have been made for many backs.

The Melbourne that exists today thats evolved out of the mess that we've been is more than likely a different animal to the one that created the situation that predicated Tracc to where he is now.

I truly wonder if someone's mindset wasn't quite firmed up some time ago. Im guessing of course 🤔

1 hour ago, Lucifers Hero said:

On the plus side, great new photo LH 👍