Christian Petracca

7 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

They ended up losing by 4 and a bit goals, but your point stands mate.

I don't completely agree with it. I'd much prefer we had the Geelong and then Hawthorn cultures of their dynasties that saw them take unders, so they could continually strengthen their lists.

Yes but don't forget they lost Ablett and Franklin respectively which would've helped with their TPP. I'm not sure how much less a lot of those players would have taken to stay at those clubs, maybe we paid top dollar for Petracca and Oliver but it's what we had to do to tie them up long term. With the expected salary cap increases they don't look like the monster contracts they may seem on first glance.

8 hours ago, Demonsterative said:

It kinda feels like propaganda in a USA Disney rally. 

The Trac show on a bus around the MFC. 

Pull your head Trac. Stay away from social media. You have a lot to prove, do it in other ways! 

Good to see him smiling around teammates.

It's a start..

8 hours ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

I have every right to be p****d off with Christian Petracca. I don’t like him, I’ve never liked him and I have perfectly valid reasons for not liking him. This isn’t a reflection of me; other DA members dislike him for the same reasons. Him putting himself before the club just cements it.

I’m not gonna praise him for attending a match, and I think it’s sad that the focus of today’s match was his presence. He attended a W match. So [censored] what?! It’s gonna take some of us way more than one act of tokenism to regard him in a different way.

This is my opinion and I’m entitled to it just like everyone else is.

edit: the first of the regulars has already FacePalmed my comment. Thought I’d get a vomit emoji but I’m sure that’ll come. 

Good to see you being honest and not just defending blindly. He has a long way to go.

1 hour ago, rpfc said:

Further to this - this club is on a 5 year hiding to nothing if we can’t move past the past few months. 

Are we to boo him?

Are we to call him out on the street?

Are we to make it certain his departure through our actions? 

Really?

Goodwin is obviously trying to salvage what’s best for the club.

Can we give the space to do that or are we to take on the persona of the club to ensure any slight remains personal and any disloyalty is punished into infinitum?

I have a small idea.

We could support him as ome of the guys wearing red and blue and encourage him to do his best. 

Players are asked to be professional, maybe us fans need to be professional too.

40 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

And yet Petracca has a premiership and a Norm Smith medal and Cripps has just lost an elimination final by 10 goals and never played in a GF. He may want to rethink his choices.

Plus I'm sure Cripps isn't exactly starving.

10 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Really, who cares..

The only thing that should matter is what he does on field and if it means he helps us win a final next year then no cares if a bunch of Demon Army supporters hate him.

You think guys like Buddy and Dusty were liked by all their own supporters? Absolutely not. They had that air of arrogance that people didn't like, but they could back it up on the footy field which Petracca has done so.

Add Papley to that list. One of the biggest wankers in the AFL, as thick as they come, tried to leave his club, yet… Swans supporters love him now because he’s put it behind him and winning finals for them.

Edited by At the break of Gawn

11 hours ago, Sir Why You Little said:

Tracc as a Chef as an outside activity, was much smarter than what a few other players decided to do outside Football 

Fair comment ( I guess)

8 hours ago, layzie said:

I have a small idea.

We could support him as ome of the guys wearing red and blue and encourage him to do his best. 

Players are asked to be professional, maybe us fans need to be professional too.

How do you  become a "professional" fan?

I think Jack Viney is underpaid according to today's Hun..I doubt fans should be paid at his expense.

Fans pay to enjoy watching the professionals play

Edited by IRW

9 hours ago, Hopeful Demon said:

Tbf it's one thing to critique a player's on- field performances, but assassinating their character is something else entirely. As @Dr. Gonzosaid, I'd say it's far worse. 

Fwiw, I can see why some people are disassfied with the way Trac has handled the whole situation, but some of criticisms aimed at him have been over the top and, quite frankly, embarrassing.

Wow. All she said was that she didn't like him. Is that assassinating his character? Aren't you a sensitive soul.

28 minutes ago, IRW said:

I think Jack Viney is underpaid according to today's Hun..I doubt fans should be paid at his expense.

Exactly, you pay to watch them play, not interact with them. Let them entertain as they're paid to do.

When you attend a free training session you're entitled to absolutely nothing. They're there to do a job and that's to train and improve as a professional athlete. 

You'll get the Jack Watts and Colin Sylvia's of the world who'll naturally go out of their way to interact with fans but not everyone is wired that way nor should they be forced to.

This is what Family days, player sponsorship and cooperate events are for.

9 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Yes but don't forget they lost Ablett and Franklin respectively which would've helped with their TPP. I'm not sure how much less a lot of those players would have taken to stay at those clubs, maybe we paid top dollar for Petracca and Oliver but it's what we had to do to tie them up long term. With the expected salary cap increases they don't look like the monster contracts they may seem on first glance.

Viney and Gawn are  underpaid .Which says as much about the others as it does them , because they are on a fair whack for a basically expanded suburban sports contest that no one outside of Australia gives a toss about

Viney especially and Gawn are underpaid .Which says as much about the others as it does them , because they are on a fair whack for a basically expanded suburban sports contest that no one outside of Australia gives a toss about

34 minutes ago, IRW said:

I reckon the sport has potential, but lacks overseas exposure.

Believe me it's more entertaining than some of the mainstream sports.

Not a perfect sport by any measure, but a very athletic and high paced one.

1 hour ago, IRW said:

Fans can act professionally by not acting like entitled gits.

13 hours ago, The heart beats true said:

I know! And only getting paid a million dollars a year. The nerve.

The reality is that sport is entertainment, and as a result there is a trade off in terms of a relationship between fans and athletes. The club knows this all too well - because they essentially sell access to the players as sponsorship.

It’s immature to think the fans aren’t a critical part of the game - just as an audience is to a film. They (we) literally pay for the whole thing.

I've always thought Petracca performed the civic duty side of our game particularly well.  Who will forget him flying over Tasmanian boy Lucas Peters, who suffers from muscular dystrophy, for his first game ?  He kept in touch with Lucas for many years.

I was more talking about needy middle aged supporters who publicly besmirch your character based on what I suspect is very minor indiscretions.  And you don't get a chance to respond due to the nature of the forum in which it's done.

Edited by Gator

2 hours ago, djr said:

Wow. All she said was that she didn't like him. Is that assassinating his character? Aren't you a sensitive soul.

Lol if you took the time to actually read my post you'd see that I was referring to the broad set of people on this site who have been taking snarky pot shots at him just because he hasn't been behaving in a way that suits them.

Nice try though genius 

24 minutes ago, Hopeful Demon said:

Lol if you took the time to actually read my post you'd see that I was referring to the broad set of people on this site who have been taking snarky pot shots at him just because he hasn't been behaving in a way that suits them.

Nice try though genius 

I know you were. WCW just said she didn't like him. Nothing more, nothing less. You are upset because "she behaved in a way that didn't suit you." You are arguing with yourself. Getting back to my question that you conveniently haven't answered. If a poster said they didn't like him, how is that assassinating his character?

Edited by djr

1 hour ago, djr said:

I know you were. WCW just said she didn't like him. Nothing more, nothing less. You are upset because "she behaved in a way that didn't suit you." You are arguing with yourself. Getting back to my question that you conveniently haven't answered. If a poster said they didn't like him, how is that assassinating his character?

The problem is that you are 'conveniently' misinterpreting the post I made. I was referring to the toxic behaviour across this site rather than one specific poster. I can't believe I need to keep explaining this to you. 

And no, saying you don't like someone is not a character assassination but saying that he "puts himself before the club" is. And I find it disingenuous that many of the people who have attacked Trac are the same ones who lecture others when they raise questions about our on field performances.

That good enough for you legend?

22 hours ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

I’m not gonna praise him for attending a match, and I think it’s sad that the focus of today’s match was his presence. He attended a W match. So [censored] what?! 

I think anyone who attends a W match should be praised. 

21 hours ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

LEAVE ME ALONE!!! Please just leave me alone. I’m going through something incredibly difficult right now, a really really low point and the last thing I need is to be mocked by the likes of you. Just ignore me. Stop with the little indirect digs at me. I’ve done nothing to deserve your nastiness.

Someone laughs at someone else when they’ve just shared that they’re at their lowest point in life? That’s a new low. It’s heartless actually. I don’t need this, I really don’t. I’m out.

I hope everything works out ok WCW.

15 minutes ago, The heart beats true said:

Why?

Theres a bit of a weird misogynistic tone about parts of this thread that I don’t really love.

Because they’re supporting our AFLW team and crowd numbers have been down. 

Edited by Ethan Tremblay