13 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Cassie, rightly or wrongly he/she felt passionate about it enough to squarely bat your bowling. Thats all.

The post didn't come out with ink pink you stink. Etc It laid out a reasoned and contextual rebuttal.

We've all got something to say. Apparently not everyone agrees with me. Shocking isn't it.

I welcome yours and most everyone's posts. I welcome aboard the pain train possiblework1999.

Thanks mate, I post on Bigfooty and Reddit very occasionally and just read up around here but just felt like adding my 2 cents, I meant no malice.

I love the Dees and only want what's best for the club. I still like Simon Goodwin as well, he has been coach during a large amount of my favourite Dees games and moments ever. I just think all good things come to an end and his time is up.

8 hours ago, Cassiew said:

So just use a scapegoat. Why not the president next? The runner?

Please reply with a solution.

I don’t see any other option Goodwin has to go, nothing has changed since 21, else we have a core of vets, and a group of young ones. Keep doing the same is the definition of stupidity. Thanks Goody for taking us there, but thanks but no thanks. There’s a guy at st Kilda whose 2ic, would be worth a big go.

7 hours ago, possiblework1999 said:

Thanks mate, I post on Bigfooty and Reddit very occasionally and just read up around here but just felt like adding my 2 cents, I meant no malice.

I love the Dees and only want what's best for the club. I still like Simon Goodwin as well, he has been coach during a large amount of my favourite Dees games and moments ever. I just think all good things come to an end and his time is up.

I saw no malice in your post. Seemed to just be stating a collection of facts and observations.

Despite what some might suggest I've no real thoughts or cares about Goodwin other than how he prevails ( sts ) at Melbourne. As any would I'd but him a beer , thank him as part of an ensemble that secured that ellusive win. Seasons come and seasons go. Today's hero often becomes yesterday's man. And so it has.

Logic suggests when a 'part' becomes ineffective its refurbished or replaced.

Time for a new part. I think you might agree.

Deep down we all just want what's best for the Dees. In wanting that we'd like to enjoy the footy and our engagement with it. And that's not where I think we currently sit.

14 hours ago, Lucifers Hero said:

Given the article earlier says The Board will: examine whether changes recommended then were properly implemented this year", suggests they weren't included as KPI's or the Board hasn't monitored performance. Otherwise they would already know. It is inexplicable to me that the Board doesn't know how he has performed vs KPi's nor given periodic feedback.

Yeah I think I’m at a point after reading this to say that Green/the board needs to answer some questions about this statement.

Were they monitoring his performance and this article is incorrect?

If not…. WHY????????

If that article is correct then what are they doing down there? You don’t wait for implemented changes to fall over (not be followed in the first place) before you assess them. It’s literally called monitoring.

Alarm bells are going off on so many levels.

8 hours ago, kurtneverdied said:

From my experience with boards. They are fairly clueless to what is really going in. They get told what they want to hear from 1 or 2 people who are just trying to make themselves look good and putting them first over the organisation. I've seen a big organisation go from well run and fantastic moral to the complete opposite and it took the board 3 years to figure out something is not right.

The problem they had was getting their information from too little amount of people, all on the same level of the organisation.

There has to be fluidity from top to bottom. Everyone from the players to the ceo should be able to get their thoughts across to the board or anyone to anyone else.

No role should be solely placed with one individual. Especially when it comes to player acquisitions as it's very much a personal evaluation.

I'm not a fan of seperated line coaches. Each coach should be on the same wavelength and the team coached as a team. Sure do some sessions divided up but at the moment it's like 3 different teams coming together on gameday.

Basically what I'm saying is I hope they are looking into the system of communication within the club and making sure the board gets every but if information at every meeting. Our player acquisitions are looked at and discussed with as many minds as possible.

Even the review was done by one person which I find extremely unprofessional from the club.

That review... seems a very bizarre construct now. Was it bad , ill conceived, ignored, 🤷‍♂️ Just all very odd. Reckon half a dozen of us could have done it for a decent lunch and a bottle or two 😉

We ALL know what's wrong. Cue... but you can't possibly know, you're not inside !! We don't need to be driving the train, nor its conductor to understand how it derailed. Sometimes best perspectives are had from a little distance..

Your experience with boards and snr managers etc is spot on. It's borderline comical how some either can't see the trees as much as wont see the trees... then there's the 'what trees ?' brigade. I think the MFC is a combination of all.

Atm The Club reminds me of someone trying to drive an M6 into a 1/4" thread... It's NQR, it doesn't work, you're still be half screwed and end up fubar .

But best of all.. this is ALL by design, because someone(s) are making all the decisions off and on the field to get us to where we are today.

And the same people who have got us here are suggesting they have the clarity of understanding to get us out !!

Ill refer back to your opening salvo.... referencing 'cluelessness'

Carry on ...

9 hours ago, MurDoc516 said:

Please reply with a solution.

What so I have to reply to 15 people who will argue against me because I’m going against popular opinion? You want to discuss it I’ll message you

10 hours ago, The heart beats true said:

Blah Blah Blah Sock Puppet GIF by Your Happy Workplace

🤦🏻‍♂️

10 hours ago, beelzebub said:

Cassie, rightly or wrongly he/she felt passionate about it enough to squarely bat your bowling. Thats all.

The post didn't come out with ink pink you stink. Etc It laid out a reasoned and contextual rebuttal.

We've all got something to say. Apparently not everyone agrees with me. Shocking isn't it.

I welcome yours and most everyone's posts. I welcome aboard the pain train possiblework1999.

Yeah but I don’t have the time to respond to 15 posts just because people disagree and are currently downvoting me into bad reputation. I have my opinion and guess what? It’s not what most people agree with.

I would be surprised if there are others who feel the same way but don’t state their opinion in seeing what happens to people that do.

That’s why he didn’t get a response

14 hours ago, possiblework1999 said:

Lol , took me 2 minutes and I'm sure I've got more posts to make that don't involve you.

It's a football forum, we're all sad here.

It's also here for discussion, I'm not "telling you off" or trolling. I'm discussing with you. If you can't discuss on a forum, ignore everyone's points and then feel the need to call me sad, maybe a forum isn't the best place to do that. I'd say that's more troll behaviour than what my post was.

Hey mate, welcome.

I wouldn’t even bother with this poster. They’ve responded to my posts recently, and when I respond back they basically dismissed everything I said in four or five words, didn’t provide any counter or discussion and essentially, deduced reasonable debate and discussion to ‘I don’t need to provide reasoning, I don’t agree’. It’s beyond arrogant and frankly pretty baffling you’d join a football forum and then not want to engage in reasonable discussion and debate.

5 minutes ago, BLWNBA said:

Hey mate, welcome.

I wouldn’t even bother with this poster. They’ve responded to my posts recently, and when I respond back they basically dismissed everything I said in four or five words, didn’t provide any counter or discussion and essentially, deduced reasonable debate and discussion to ‘I don’t need to provide reasoning, I don’t agree’. It’s beyond arrogant and frankly pretty baffling you’d join a football forum and then not want to engage in reasonable discussion and debate.

i've added to my ignore list. they're just a time waster

1 hour ago, beelzebub said:

That review... seems a very bizarre construct now. Was it bad , ill conceived, ignored, 🤷‍♂️ Just all very odd. Reckon half a dozen of us could have done it for a decent lunch and a bottle or two 😉

We ALL know what's wrong. Cue... but you can't possibly know, you're not inside !! We don't need to be driving the train, nor its conductor to understand how it derailed. Sometimes best perspectives are had from a little distance..

Your experience with boards and snr managers etc is spot on. It's borderline comical how some either can't see the trees as much as wont see the trees... then there's the 'what trees ?' brigade. I think the MFC is a combination of all.

Atm The Club reminds me of someone trying to drive an M6 into a 1/4" thread... It's NQR, it doesn't work, you're still be half screwed and end up fubar .

But best of all.. this is ALL by design, because someone(s) are making all the decisions off and on the field to get us to where we are today.

And the same people who have got us here are suggesting they have the clarity of understanding to get us out !!

Ill refer back to your opening salvo.... referencing 'cluelessness'

Carry on ...

I said it in an above comment, but if we need to do basically a review to see if the changes that were recommended were:

A) implemented

Or

B) implemented correctly

Then I fail to see how that isn’t a systemic failure of oversight.

I have only ever done mid-management roles but monitoring that implementations have been made and maintained is core at even that level.

On 30/07/2025 at 01:42, Demonsone said:

The whole board would need to approve this, though just didn’t make sense

The way we’ve run our board recently, they’re all just ‘yes men’ for the incumbent Pres

41 minutes ago, BoBo said:

I said it in an above comment, but if we need to do basically a review to see if the changes that were recommended were:

A) implemented

Or

B) implemented correctly

Then I fail to see how that isn’t a systemic failure of oversight.

I have only ever done mid-management roles but monitoring that implementations have been made and maintained is core at even that level.

Review the review, I like it! Potentially one of the most public service things I've ever heard P

Edited by BLWNBA

Some interesting points here and pushes the idea that a fresh voice is what we need

The uncanny similarities between...
No image preview

The uncanny similarities between Melbourne of 2025 and Co...

It can turn quickly.

1 hour ago, Cassiew said:

Yeah but I don’t have the time to respond to 15 posts just because people disagree and are currently downvoting me into bad reputation. I have my opinion and guess what? It’s not what most people agree with.

I would be surprised if there are others who feel the same way but don’t state their opinion in seeing what happens to people that do.

That’s why he didn’t get a response

Mmmmm I’m not sure demonland operates on reputation like reddit

My reputation is probably in the dunny but I can tell you I don’t care at all. I guess some do though

26 minutes ago, At the break of Gawn said:

Some interesting points here and pushes the idea that a fresh voice is what we need

The uncanny similarities between...
No image preview

The uncanny similarities between Melbourne of 2025 and Co...

It can turn quickly.

Even though the board was at war with Browne at the time they still had the capacity to make a hard call on Buckley and make the key appointment of Macrae, replaced the list manager, Ned Guy with Graham Wright as well. Mark Anderson as CEO made key decisions then rode off into the sunset. Really leaves the current admin no excuse for inaction.

The facts are:

• Since it all hit the skids, out of our last 34 games, we have won only 11, and lost 23.

• Of those 11 we have won, we won 5 of them in a 6 game stretch this year. (this streak covered over the cracks)

• We lost 5 out of our last 6 in 2024.

• We started 2025 with 0-5. (that was 1 win of the last 11 then).

• We have lost 7 out of our last 8 games, including the embarrassing capitulation v STK.

• In the last 19 games, we have 7. We won 5 of them in a 6 game stretch this year.

All this with a fair chunk of premiership players playing, a very good injury list which we may never see again.

I don't know how many reviews, learnings etc we need, these are the facts, it just isn't working. It also doesn't take that long to implement a new game plan, that is a cop out. What KPI's does "the board" need to see? It's all there in black and white.

It's not just Goodwin, but the results are in and he doesn't have the capability to turn it around, the message is stale.

Edited by SFebes

4 minutes ago, SFebes said:

The facts are:

• Since it all hit the skids, out of our last 34 games, we have won only 11, and lost 23.

• Of those 11 we have won, we won 5 of them in a 6 game stretch this year. (this streak covered over the cracks)

• We lost 5 out of our last 6 in 2024.

• We started 2025 with 0-5.

• We have lost 7 out of our last 8 games, including the embarrassing capitulation v STK.

• In the last 19 games, we have 7. We won 5 of them in a 6 game stretch this year.

All this with a fair chunk of premiership players playing, a very good injury list which we may never see again.

I don't know how many reviews, learnings etc we need, these are the facts, it just isn't working. It also doesn't take that long to implement a new game plan, that is a cop out. What KPI's does "the board" need to see? It's all there in black and white.

It's not just Goodwin, but the results are in and he doesn't have the capability to turn it around, the message is stale.

That there should be the review

Well said

20 hours ago, Cassiew said:

So just use a scapegoat. Why not the president next? The runner?

It could be the CEO if you can wait another month for him to start the job he was appointed to months ago.

Dateline Melb 31 JULY '25

A poll taken this morning taking in likely customers of Deli customers ( dairy section ) and Dan Murphy's as to the current plight of the Melbourne Football Club.

Question, .. Are you aware of a review having been done into the Football Dept and other areas with regard to expected outcomes and performance ?

Answers ...

1) Not sure (23)

2) We've had one ? (17)

3) Did they find anything ? (5)

4) I have total faith in the Club to make right decisions (3)

5) Prefer the 21 to the 22 (59)

6) Who ? What ? (7)

7) Thats a big question...I'm just here for the cheese. (143)

Without a shadow of doubt this reporter concludes that no one really knows what the .... is actually going on.

A similar survey of the Board yielded strangely similar responses.... though to be fair a few debated the 21 and 22 without announcing a decided winner.

Edited by beelzebub

3 minutes ago, Jack Vineys Anger Manager said:

Not the Melbourne press conference I was hoping for.

Goodwin claiming "we have become a highly competitive team" is a complete joke. Just look at the stats a couple of posts above. Hopefully we only have a couple more of these w@nkword spin sessions left before he's gone.

6 minutes ago, Jack Vineys Anger Manager said:

Just imagine that presser but with ...

Screenshot_20250731_110944_Google.jpg