1 hour ago, Macca said:

Goodwin won't be quitting

Who walks away from $Millions? Not going to happen

Of much greater concern is the state of the list. We won't be challenging for finals anytime soon even with a new coach

We're too slow and we look old. Skills are woeful and many of the players have checked out anyway

We've got a mountain of problems

Sam Mitchell would have this list in the top 8… goodwins game plan is horrendous

Is he asking if you can coach?

Edited by Green Demon

5 minutes ago, Satan said:

Anyone receive an email from Brad or was I special?

Yes I received it. Show the pressure building. Gawn fronting media was so predictable. I feel as though I have heard that speech before. We only are ever fed BS. Put Maxy out shoulder the blame rinse and repeat. Jackson knew how to run a club. Ruthless but fair the whole thing just a love in now.

Just now, 48 Year Now said:

Yes, Goody is a decent caring guy. Yesterday he talked ruthlesseness but it foesnt sound right coming from him.

The Blight scenario is appropriate

The football world would know about the baggage surrounding a number of our players ... as would a new, perspective coach

That's if Goodwin is moved on of course

A win against the Eagles and improved efforts against the Bulldogs, Hawks & Pies will probably see Goodwin survive into next season (there's the financial hit to consider as well)

The players would be fully aware of the pressure coming at Goodwin? Will they lift for their coach and somehow snag a win or 2 in the last 3 rounds? We're capable but which version of the team will turn up?

Lose to the Eagles and all bets are off

13 minutes ago, Oxdee said:

Sam Mitchell would have this list in the top 8… goodwins game plan is horrendous

Would he?

Gee wizz, that would mean that our bunch of no-hopers would have to actually listen, learn & adapt

I can't see it as I reckon at least half our list is cooked

Maybe with an overhauled list but we could do that with Goodwin still in charge

In case you don't get the emails

Dear Members, 

As a football club, we talk a lot about making our people proud to belong. I understand that following yesterday’s result and the season more broadly, we have not achieved that ambition this AFL season.

While there have been moments to celebrate and the progress of our younger players has provided hope, the season in totality has certainly not lived up to our expectations as a football club.

The inconsistency in the team’s performance week to week, and sometimes quarter to quarter, is incredibly frustrating - and everyone whose heart beats true, including myself, are frustrated riding this roller coaster. In the last 24 hours many of you have voiced your disappointment and anger. We understand it and we acknowledge it. 

As a former player and now President, I love this football club and I want nothing more than for us to be successful. 

We are a proud and ambitious football club and with that comes a responsibility to perform. We are not in the position we want to be right now, however your Board and I are committed to doing everything required to have our AFL program performing at the level we all expect. 

Lastly, but importantly, I also want to address a serious matter that occurred yesterday. Following the game, the club became aware of an online post directed at our Senior Coach, Simon Goodwin. While we understand the scrutiny that comes with poor results and the emotional investment people have in our game, what Simon was subjected to was totally unacceptable. No one in our game should ever be made to question their safety as a result of coming to work to do their job. We can accept criticism but disrespect and threatening statements hold no place in our game or society. 

Thank you for your support.

BradGreen_Signature_Rev_EDM_1_2.png

Brad Green
President
Melbourne Football Club

3 minutes ago, Macca said:

Would he?

Gee wizz, that would mean that our bunch of no-hopers would have to actually listen, learn & adapt

I can't see it as I reckon at least half our list is cooked

Maybe with an overhauled list but we could do that with Goodwin still in charge

Lol... see what you did there 😉

I certainly wouldn't presume Goody could do much with overhauled list.

10 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

Lol... see what you did there 😉

I certainly wouldn't presume Goody could do much with overhauled list.

Well a few years ago he won a flag for us with an untainted list

Now, the list is a rabble

I'm not expecting the team to improve under a possible new coach ... unless, we trade aggressively and clear out the deadwood (that's if anyone wants them)

Same sort of list? 10 wins Max, bub. They are past their use-by date

The game has passed by many of our players. Most of all we are too slow in the legs. Plodders everywhere

e.g. ... as soon as the Saints woke up yesterday and used their leg speed, we were left floundering. It took one quarter after we had dominated for 3 quarters

We are easily exposed. Goodwin's error is sticking with players who he should have moved on. Being loyal has cost him

57 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Seriously Dazz ud keep Petty and Van Rooyen??? TURNER?? OUT??

frustrated youtube GIF by Hyper RPG

3 hours ago, Dannyz said:

It’s clear that Goodwin is the motivator and that Yze was the strategist.

I reckon Burgess was pretty good at the motivational stuff as well, Goodwin more the "people manager" which he is obviously very good at.

The drums are really beating now. IMV the following 3 should be the first out:

1. Goody

2. Richo

3. Selwyn

2 minutes ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

It was both

The players are out there losing the game. If you were 1 of the players would you blame the coach?

I know I certainly wouldn't have

It was a pea-hearted effort from the players and they should be ashamed of themselves

We could blame Goodwin for the game plan but that same game plan saw us dominate the game for 3 quarters

No, the players got ahead of themselves again

Gawn, Viney, Petracca & Oliver should have made sure of the win

They failed miserably, again

6 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

Me too, pointed it out a couple of time to my son to try and teach him what not to do in that situation. Not sure he was listening, was too upset with what was going on on the ground.

Fortunately, my little bloke had no idea what was happening. But the first thing he said to my wife when we got home, who I finally converted to Melbourne this year, was "Melbourne lost". 🤦

Who the heck replaces Trac and Oliver? I kind of hope we keep them, but get rid of Petty when someone offers us two first rounders again ;)

1 hour ago, Macca said:

The football world would know about the baggage surrounding a number of our players ... as would a new, perspective coach

That's if Goodwin is moved on of course

A win against the Eagles and improved efforts against the Bulldogs, Hawks & Pies will probably see Goodwin survive into next season (there's the financial hit to consider as well)

The players would be fully aware of the pressure coming at Goodwin? Will they lift for their coach and somehow snag a win or 2 in the last 3 rounds? We're capable but which version of the team will turn up?

Lose to the Eagles and all bets are off

Dogs game will be 100 plus, they have been beating up on teams outside the 8 all season

2 hours ago, SFebes said:

All my research says it wasn't a recommendation, its only you saying this hence me asking, anyway all good, was just wondering that's all.

Just to clarify

At the end of 2020 there was enormous pressure on Goodwin to be sacked

And we now know that 2 MFC board members met with the AFL to find a way to pay Goodwin out

Up until then Goodwin had coached from upstairs calling all the shots

So when we went into the 2021 season suddenly Goodwin was coaching from the bench and the newly appointed Adem Yze was upstairs calling the shots and making moves

If that's not a demotion I'll go he

Now, Dizzle will probably call me a liar again but the above did actually happen

Was it broadcast to the World? No. But it did happen

5 minutes ago, Garbo said:

Dogs game will be 100 plus, they have been beating up on teams outside the 8 all season

Yes, their skills kill ours. And their fast ball movement will find us out

Our best hope is against the Hawks (if we can kick straight) and maybe the Pies if they have nothing to play for (Ladder-wise)

I would just love to see the confusion on this thread if we somehow rally and finish off the season well! haha

Reality is we'll beat the Eagles and almost certainly lose our last 3

8 minutes ago, Macca said:

Just to clarify

At the end of 2020 there was enormous pressure on Goodwin to be sacked

And we now know that 2 MFC board members met with the AFL to find a way to pay Goodwin out

Up until then Goodwin had coached from upstairs calling all the shots

So when we went into the 2021 season suddenly Goodwin was coaching from the bench and the newly appointed Adem Yze was upstairs calling the shots and moving around the magnets

If that's not a demotion I'll go he

Now, Dizzle will probably call me a liar again but the above did actually happen

Was it broadcast to the World? No. But it did happen

Haha stop making stuff up champ..

We've already put this to bed. You can create whatever fantasy you want but unless youve got proof that states he was officially relegated to coach (which clearly you dont when we have asked numerousof times) from the bench by higher managementthen its all a complete made up story by your good self.

As in said a few pages back, take the L and move on.

1 minute ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Haha stop making stuff up champ..

We've already put this to bed. You can create whatever fantasy you want but unless youve got proof that states he was officially relegated to coach (which clearly you dont when we have asked numerousof times) from the bench by higher managementthen its all a complete made up story by your good self.

As in said a few pages back, take the L and move on.

Rubbish

Don't you ever tire of correcting people. The demonland resident Mr. Correction

But this time you are wrong but won't admit it

Goodwin had a different role in 2021 and that's a fact. And Yze was calling the shots from upstairs. Fact

Give it up Laddie, you're cooked on this argument and have been found out again

Stick to the gossip and your worshipping of Caro & Cornes

And you don't get to decide when a discussion point is over. Who do you think you are?

2 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Was my attempt at humour Byron...

Wheshu Dazz thought ud turned to tge Dark Side of the Force🤯😎🥳