Goody isn't the problem...its the goal kicking! Fix that up and we win yesterday by a country mile, even if we didn't look that flash the rest of the time, this was the difference.

5 hours ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

Lots of posts telling us what's wrong - very few solutions. That's because it is such a CF.

…until yesterday we had won 5 out of our last 6 including a win at The Gabba against the reigning premiers who remain a top 4 side.

Given the first 5 weeks of the year and evolving our game style, it’ll be really difficult to make finals but we also get to watch a ton of really exciting under 25 talent on iur list who will continue to learn and grow and get better.

We lost a game. The goal kicking was horrendous. Progress isn’t linear.

On 10/04/2025 at 08:23, ElDiablo14 said:

Definitely he shouldn't remain the coach if we are indee ing to a full rebuild.

New broom allegedly sweeps well ... let's get a well-rehearsed one, like Jordan Lewis.

26 minutes ago, Young Angus said:

Goody isn't the problem...its the goal kicking! Fix that up and we win yesterday by a country mile, even if we didn't look that flash the rest of the time, this was the difference.

Easy! Just fix the thing that has been an issue for Goodwin for years.

1 hour ago, Roost it far said:

The game plan works fine. Yesterday was one of those days. We allowed them easy transition goals, something we simply can’t to happen this week. Yesterday I would have put Koz one out in the square, Windhager wasn’t just blanketing him he was racking up possessions that were hurting us. Wanganeen Milera needed a hard tag and we needed to kick 5 more goals. We were actually close to winning despite playing poorly. It’s compounded by our poor start and the tough draw over the next few weeks. Next week is all about bringing the heat. Oliver to Pendles, Sparrow to JDaicos and perhaps Viney to NDaicos??? Someone also has to make Sidebottom accountable. It’s going to be a stressful watch.

Yep, we allowed them a lot of transition goals because our pressure and contest was poor.

Edited by Adam The God

3 minutes ago, Adam The God said:

Yep, we allowed them a lot of transition goals because our pressure and contest was poor.

They looked off.

1 hour ago, Disco InTurno said:

…until yesterday we had won 5 out of our last 6 including a win at The Gabba against the reigning premiers who remain a top 4 side.

Given the first 5 weeks of the year and evolving our game style, it’ll be really difficult to make finals but we also get to watch a ton of really exciting under 25 talent on iur list who will continue to learn and grow and get better.

I've seen no sustainable trend in improved forward craft for almost three years.

2 hours ago, Disco InTurno said:

But ought it not be directional ?? 🤔

3 hours ago, Young Angus said:

It wasn't just the goal kicking though. I think it was a combination of goal kicking, player effort and coaching.

I will give Goodwin credit for moving Turner forward at 3/4 time but I would've liked to have seen it happen before halftime.

Well Im still positive.

I've had my issues with strategy, structure, selections and gameplans, but I must say that a team that beats Brisbane Sydney etc, should be able to beat most teams. Why dont they???

Well wish I knew and with the dominance that we showed against Hawthorn and the shots at goal we have created all my concerns are really almost seen as irrelevant. My mate Ive been going to the games with for years has maintained our skill levels are deficient for most years even when we have won.

Kicking is a part of the skill set footballers must have. It can be practised and it can be improved. Pickett Fence has given some excellent advice and I really would encourage him to approach the coaching staff, perhaps with GW in attendance to add support and have a serious discussion with the professionals who should as PF states be able to have that discussion in an unthreatening and informative fashion. Perhaps he can teach the new generation something or perhaps they can add to his and GW knowledge. Id be interested in he outcomes of that approach.

Also technique and Biomechanics aside, (which you'd reckon the new age coaches would be all over),the mind is a mighty fragile at times thing (for want of a better word). Obviously it can and is mighty strong for all elite performers. Surely the club has people who are able to address this portion of goal kicking and provide measures to fix this Fn issue.

We must kick more goals. its pretty bloody simple.

Goals not only instil confidence they also apply pressure on opponents.

Get to it Goody. Most of us are with you and if we can kick more goals than our opponents every week we will all be with you.

8 minutes ago, dpositive said:

We must kick more goals. its pretty bloody simple.

apparently .... not

10 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

apparently .... not

Touche.

The topic (we must kick more goals ) is and PF aside the answer not so.

3 hours ago, Adam The God said:

Exactly if the pressure is off it makes it difficult and as I said previously there will be bumps in the road, with us playing this way and opposition teams structuring up to prevent the run from half back and limit the impact of our stoppage game. We’ll learn to alter our method a bit, But we were our own worst enemy yesterday.

Kossie wasn’t switched on yesterday from the get go, Windhager took his mind off the game. Goody did move Kozzie forward but Saints kept numbers behind the footy and with our really poor ground ball effort they started their transition chains

As the game went on we lapsed at times and our drop in pressure allowed the Saints to move the ball. The big issue with yesterday which will happen is players like Oliver reverting back to bad habits such as the dump kick which allowed the intercepts from Wilkie and Caminiti.

With the numbers back we needed to lower our eyes and/or switch the ball to create some hit up opportunities but if you’re off with your skill execution you run the risk of being burnt on turnover from the oppos launchpad.

Quite simply poor mindset, effort and intensity down and that’s before the poor conversion rate which meant we also failed to apply scoreboard and perceived pressure

Edited by Pennant St Dee

On 28/05/2025 at 13:40, picket fence said:

We haven't done anything yet! If we Don't make the 8 He STILL should be moved on at seasons end. No if's or buts!

And after the weekend we have done LESS!

11 hours ago, Dr. Gonzo said:

It wasn't just the goal kicking though. I think it was a combination of goal kicking, player effort and coaching.

I will give Goodwin credit for moving Turner forward at 3/4 time but I would've liked to have seen it happen before halftime.

Said the same thing before half time! Spot on with the rest!

Still ambivalent about this.

But whoever is in charge of teaching goal kicking needs to go. Like three years ago.

And return his salary.

And be publicly shamed.

24 minutes ago, picket fence said:

Half time is when it should have happened but my main issue with Goody is how slow he is to make changes. It's very frustrating.

14 hours ago, Queanbeyan Demon said:

I've seen no sustainable trend in improved forward craft for almost three years.

This is why it's causing souch outrage.

I mean one year..oh boy.

Two years...they ought to fix this.

But three years.....are they taking the..

Heads must roll to show they actually care.

Credit to supporters that go and pay good money to watch games. But all patience is limited.

1 hour ago, picket fence said:

Moving Turner to fwd line was ridiculous. How the f did they sub Johnson out? Have they not heard the saying "the big men don't get any smaller..."?!?!

Not only that, Petty went back? FFS

Turner has been our best defender in the last 4 weeks...

24 minutes ago, monoccular said:

Mr Fence - I know we sometimes disagree but from what seems your long experience, can you offer a solution to our ingrained inability to kick goals that are gettable. Is it personnel and their lack of skill? Or is it system related?

Genuinely interested in your thoughts and suggestions.

Thanks 👁️

Taken from later post but same thing applies so this is my take on this.

The role of a coach, correct me if I am wrong is to teach players a brand of footy that wins games and also to enhance their skill set. The fact that we have been so very poor over a number of years at goal kicking is testimony that whatever the club has done is not working. What it comes down to is using biomechanical breakdowns, analysing ball drop, leg and foot alignments and providing remediation to eliminate flaws in the way the ball is kicked. If a player who is considered an excellent field kick but then can't drill a goal, the problem then could be mental. Years ago in my Phys Ed teaching days I devised a set shot routine drill which enabled remediation to players who were missing elementary goals. I won't go into it here but I was used by several A grade Amateur clubs who went on to win premierships. I might add the success rates of these techniques were high. It helped that I personally was a magnificent kick for goal, I made a sunkick final ( Remember those ) but lost out to a guy that went on to play many VFL /AFL Games and was a noted "Prodigious" Kick. So in answering your question um yeah if I could teach it then and succeed why can't professionally well paid coaches do it???

17 minutes ago, Red and Blue Flame said:

Moving Turner to fwd line was ridiculous. How the f did they sub Johnson out? Have they not heard the saying "the big men don't get any smaller..."?!?!

Ah the ultimate swingman then?? For the record he booted 3 great goals a month ago after starting in the backline. FWIW The football dept DROPPED an in form T.Mac for an injury ravaged overated CHB in Lever. My Take is Petty also is MUCH better suited to playing back than forward as well.

Very seriously, I'd sell my greatest asset to get Jordan Lewis coaching the Dees, immediately.

3 hours ago, picket fence said:

What about bring TMac in, Lever out.

Then Petty - May - Disco back line.

TMac to our fwd line?

51 minutes ago, Deemania since 56 said:

Very seriously, I'd sell my greatest asset to get Jordan Lewis coaching the Dees, immediately.

We already lost Yze, see us lose any other promising young coach due to inaction.

2 hours ago, Red and Blue Flame said:

I agree that Turner has been our best.

But he's also a better asset forward than Petty.

If Lever was close to his best we could do it without hesitation.

Turner could be our best forward. Unlike Petts he's not moved out of a contest as easily and is a very accurate set shot.

If possible I'd put Tmac back in and have either him or Petty in the backline.

Petty has played a good many games as a forward and he averages well under a goal per game. Nowhere near good enough. And he he gets the ball to ground well enough but you definitely need a ff who can average at least a minimum of two per game. At least.

Our best forward line at present despite your misgivings, is Turner, JM, Fritta and maybe Jvr with AJ out. Plus Jvr a better relief for Max.

I also think Sparrow is a handy player forward and it let's KP in the middle more often.

Spargo as a crumber. We have to look at a players accuracy now more than ever. Spargo isn't great though.

Turner is a great kick.

And I hear what you are saying but we just don't have the fwds we need. Besides Lever , May, Petty and Tmac should be more than enough in defence.