To me a most damning indictment of our current malaise is that it isn't accidental. It's not as though we arrive at today via a series of Lemony-like unfortunate events. We are where we are by design. And by that I mean a confluence of decisions and failures. Many of these had alternatives and yet here we are.

I wonder who ( if anyone ) will take ownership of our situation and take take action.

As to date no one's doing anything as apparently nothing is wrong.

I tend to disagree with that.

Cmon Melbourne, wake up, smell the flowers... or to be honest the rotting mulch.

7 hours ago, Nietaphart said:

I think I’ll wait to see how a Steven Smith led board goes before I’ll consider an alternative ticket Adam.

What's Smith able to do the joints on fire and he is in Italy

Smith will not be tough enough to fix this and he has a moribund self interested board to deal with Even if he wants to implement change the good old boys will frustrate him and nothing will happen

2 minutes ago, jackaub said:

What's Smith able to do the joints on fire and he is in Italy

Smith will not be tough enough to fix this and he has a moribund self interested board to deal with Even if he wants to implement change the good old boys will frustrate him and nothing will happen

So you’re not going to give him a chance?

Him and Brad greens would be in regular communication I’m sure. The next month or so vital for us. He will have to have a plan. If no change to the sen coach at seasons end we’ll have our answer

2 hours ago, beelzebub said:

That has to be a particularly naive outlook. I'm sorry Cassie but the Players ARE a product of the coaching. Thats what coaches DO !!

So we have essentially two aspects to this debacle.

The game/coaching and the participants. ALL of which emanate from the efforts of the coaches.

If not, why do they exist?

Yesterday was just the culmination of a train wreck that was always going to happen.

But in one concession I wouldn't blame Simon solely. This is on the FD and the Board for being so utterly pathetic and stupid to allow this incredulous situation to arise.

Whoever did the review , take a bow, you're just as idiotic.

The first to go, as as soon as he can is Goodwin.

Thanks mate ... but cya.

2 hours ago, beelzebub said:

That has to be a particularly naive outlook. I'm sorry Cassie but the Players ARE a product of the coaching. Thats what coaches DO !!

So we have essentially two aspects to this debacle.

The game/coaching and the participants. ALL of which emanate from the efforts of the coaches.

If not, why do they exist?

Yesterday was just the culmination of a train wreck that was always going to happen.

But in one concession I wouldn't blame Simon solely. This is on the FD and the Board for being so utterly pathetic and stupid to allow this incredulous situation to arise.

Whoever did the review , take a bow, you're just as idiotic.

The first to go, as as soon as he can is Goodwin.

Thanks mate ... but cya.

It won’t change things

4 minutes ago, BDA said:

Him and Brad greens would be in regular communication I’m sure. The next month or so vital for us. He will have to have a plan. If no change to the sen coach at seasons end we’ll have our answer

It will indeed.

In fact... today is quite pivotal.

May I suggest no one needs really wait on Smith.

We'll see.

7 minutes ago, BDA said:

Him (Guerra) and Brad greens would be in regular communication I’m sure

¾ time yesterday “sorry you can’t be here to witness this great victory “

11 minutes ago, BDA said:

Had is chance should have shown up but holiday more important Now the fire is out of control

Brad Green as aboard member is a sick joke. Come out Brad where ever you are!!!

1 hour ago, BDA said:

I actually think Steve Smith is a very good option as president. Kate Roffey was totally out of her depth so he'll be a big improvement there

Pert was an absolute [censored]. a disaster for us. Why oh why didn't we back in Jacksons choice Mahoney

I know nothing of the CEO. No background in AFL does not give me confidence. We need a new senior coach and major surgery throughout the FD. Tall order for Guerra to come in and sort that ****show out without AFL experience

Very sad where we've ended up.

Pert was the AFL's choice. Collingwood had booted him and it was a job for a member of the boys club I believe.

Do any of the posters who seem to have some sort of contact within the club have any info to share on what will or might happen with the coach?

The noise from the club is deafening.

14 minutes ago, monoccular said:

¾ time yesterday “sorry you can’t be here to witness this great victory “

Nek minnit ...

13 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

[censored] him off.

Insipid to let NMW just roam freely in the last quarter.

Won't be renewing my membership next year unless he is gone.

Windsor was actually doing a good job. Insane. This lost actually rests on Goodwins shoulders.

29 minutes ago, Cassiew said:

It won’t change things

There are many cancerous problems at the club at the moment, but to take the view that 'nothing will change, so don't do anything' is just bizarre. Goodwin is a huge part of the problem and removing him (along with Richardson + coupled with Green's looming departure) is required.

10 minutes ago, DemonOX said:

Do any of the posters who seem to have some sort of contact within the club have any info to share on what will or might happen with the coach?

In my own experience and point of view, the fact that they are silent and they actually erased some social media posts makes me believe something is definitely happening behind closed doors. What's the extent of that? Who knows really but if Demonland is anything to go by, I'd expect their membership department is being flooded with calls of angry members that won't renew.

11 minutes ago, DemonOX said:

Prior to yesterday* it was confirmed that Goodwin would categorically coach next year. There would be lateral movements in positions around him, plus a new head of football.

*I'm not sure how yesterday's result has impacted this. IMV, Goodwin's position is absolutely and undeniably untenable.

Edited by BLWNBA

2 minutes ago, ElDiablo14 said:

In my own experience and point of view, the fact that they are silent and they actually erased some social media posts makes me believe something is definitely happening behind closed doors. What's the extent of that? Who knows really but if Demonland is anything to go by, I'd expect their membership department is being flooded with calls of angry members that won't renew.

Maybe not

Our supporter base is quite docile. The few tragics on this site are not representative. There will be no revolt from the faithful just a shrug of the shoulders I reckon.

Coach and the kids ain't the problem

The problem is the egos of 2021, where our joy is now smothered in surmise

Leaders need to lead, or hang 'em up

Goodwin after match, what happened at tge end is part of becoming a ruthless club.

Now that is where a strong person needs to step in and say, Simon, what in the hell has the last play of the day got to do with ruthless. It was an Under 11 situation of , Man up guys, everyone get a man.

3 minutes ago, BDA said:

Maybe not

Our supporter base is quite docile. The few tragics on this site are not representative. There will be no revolt from the faithful just a shrug of the shoulders I reckon.

Well said; it's very inherent and observable within the wider supporter bases acceptance and adulation of the results in 2022 - 2022.

I know this thread has been a hot bed of angst and argument. I get that often there are many vantage points and we would not be human if we did ot bring with us to discussions that which has made us who we are. We are different but we are are singularly the same in one ( at least ) respect. We are dyed in the wool Demon tragics. We care, more than many, about this club and we all bleed Red and Blue. That we can often agree to disagree is probably the greatest testament to this forum I can think of.

That said Im going to suggest that we may now all be agreeing there is something demon-strably wrong. Our Football Department is doing us no favours and the focus of it's dysfunction has to be the coach. He is not alone ( far from it ) in blame but he is central.

Something has to change, and quickly lest a final stage cancer take hold and we're back in very dark times.

So do we agree something is wrong about how we play (sic) footy and those causing that need to go ?

21 minutes ago, ElDiablo14 said:

Thanks Eidiablo. Can u share what these social media posts are that have been deleted?

Just now, DemonOX said:

Thanks Eidiablo. Can u share what these social media posts are that have been deleted?

I believe the last quarter post from yesterday's game. It's gone from FB and replaced with an odd choice of advertising the President's Club function.

It may be related to the "threat" to Goodwin that was reported last night. Not sure, but I can't remember a single game where the club didn't post or removed the post after the siren.

6 minutes ago, beelzebub said:

I know this thread has been a hot bed of angst and argument. I get that often there are many vantage points and we would not be human if we did ot bring with us to discussions that which has made us who we are. We are different but we are are singularly the same in one ( at least ) respect. We are dyed in the wool Demon tragics. We care, more than many, about this club and we all bleed Red and Blue. That we can often agree to disagree is probably the greatest testament to this forum I can think of.

That said Im going to suggest that we may now all be agreeing there is something demon-strably wrong. Our Football Department is doing us no favours and the focus of it's dysfunction has to be the coach. He is not alone ( far from it ) in blame but he is central.

Something has to change, and quickly lest a final stage cancer take hold and we're back in very dark times.

So do we agree something is wrong about how we play (sic) footy and those causing that need to go ?

senior players are wagging the dog

Thats why "The love machine" and goodys great friends claim with this lot has been so damaging

He cant manage them any more

I place the blame with the dysfunctional board who should not have extended him and instead supported a new coach and foooty department

The key aspect of all of this is the following. Did anyone realistically think that we were going to win, even with a five goal lead midway through the last quarter, once St Kilda had all the momentum?

Goodwin has coached all the dare, all the flair, all the creative thinking out of this group. Everyone is scared to take the game on, scared to go outside the defined limits and structures. That's why we always revert to safe, conservative football, even when we are completely in control. It's also why the players didn't question why we only had three players in the centre square when it was blatantly obvious to everyone at the ground.

What moves did we make in the last quarter to try and win the game, or to try and stop St Kilda's momentum? We didn't even have our best players on the ground as the game slipped away because they were scheduled to have rests at specified times.

Goodwin has to go because he no longer has the ability to get this group to win games of football, and that is his ultimate responsibility as coach.

13 minutes ago, ElDiablo14 said:

I believe the last quarter post from yesterday's game. It's gone from FB and replaced with an odd choice of advertising the President's Club function.

It may be related to the "threat" to Goodwin that was reported last night. Not sure, but I can't remember a single game where the club didn't post or removed the post after the siren.

Goodwin was threatened????? What with?

If Goodwin had any integrity he would realise the players are finished listening to him, don’t know if it’s Max that’s keeping him there because they’re such great mates I don’t know, but Max has got 2 more years and the club needs a new voice, Buckley or Longmire or get Yze back. I’ve got a mate who’s mad Collingwood, he went to Richmond Collingwood yesterday, he said the tigers were good, they gave everything they’ve got, they’re young but Yze will have them up in 3-4 years, and we’ll be down the bottom, we’re not going to get players because No one will come to us, and we’ve got no picks!