I’ll always be thankful to Goody for our recent run but he is stubborn and won’t try new things. He needs to go

I want to see Casey players given a chance to play seniors and see if they are up to the level. Give Fullarton, Sestan, Adam’s, Brown, Verrall and Jeffo a good run at AFL at different times.

See players in different positions. Petts and Turner as a genuine swing men. Howes as a mid/fwd. Allow Lever an extended period off to get his body right. Play Spargo at Casey until he can get his fitness levels to an AFL standard.

Etc etc etc. We need someone who is willing to shake things up and try new things. This season is gone already.

Is not having a first round draft pick this year really that big a deal? If we have our sights set on someone we'll usually trade our following years pick for another teams current first rounder and who wouldn't be confident they'd be getting a top five pick if they did that? Surely it's about getting quality youngsters in the door (which we did) and not whether Essendon (for example) also win in the trade or not.

1 hour ago, Adam The God said:

I'm the same mate.

That makes 3 of us. The game plan is rubbish. We no key forwards, we have a guy who kicks 5 in the reserves but cannot get a game. But we keep playing guys who have been poor for over a season. It's time to go Goodwin. Let's get someone any one who can get the group to look like they want to be out there.

Our recruiting is a big problem ,not the draft so much as our kids from last two drafts are very good

I follow Casey closely and really apart from one skinny 200 cm fwd who the coach won’t play we have nothing to be excited about

Caseys best players most weeks aren’t on our list

Watching other teams this weekend at gather round they have 204cm plus kids running around

Why not us

2 hours ago, KozzyCan said:

He doesn't have the fortitude to deal with pressure like this. He's an anxious personality and crumbles when the media apply the blowtorch.

Blaming the players publicly was Neeld-esque. But a massive misstep from him too. If the players can't execute what he's asking of them then it's a coaching failure. Its a failure of the clubs program and a failure of communication.

He's lost the players and he knows it.

Yep 100%

20 minutes ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

Is not having a first round draft pick this year really that big a deal? If we have our sights set on someone we'll usually trade our following years pick for another teams current first rounder and who wouldn't be confident they'd be getting a top five pick if they did that? Surely it's about getting quality youngsters in the door (which we did) and not whether Essendon (for example) also win in the trade or not.

The remainder of this season should be about a few things, one of them is push Essendon out to at least pick 6.

2 hours ago, Lucifers Hero said:

That is how I heard it: looking after himself.

And he said (paraphrasing): it isn't about me, it is about the club, these players.

If he has gone into self-protect mode is it any wonder the players are doing the same on the field.

Oh! My kingdom for a CEO!

bad-movies-rule-bmr.gif

17 minutes ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

The remainder of this season should be about a few things, one of them is push Essendon out to at least pick 6.

Why? We've already won our side of the trade. Essendon could draft the next Josh Schache with that pick 🤞

Futility is doing something you know won't have the outcomes you desire.

Stupidity is doing it knowingly and nonetheless.

Cowardice is not providing protection to those deserving of it when stupidity is the order of the day.

49 minutes ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

Is not having a first round draft pick this year really that big a deal?

Probably not. It's a poor draft this year

this whole situation is unfortunate for him, he was one of the most underrated players of all time now he will be remembered as an overrated coach and player because of the last 3 years

President Kate Roffey resigned September 2024.

Football Director Brad Green filled in and has been paddling as fast as he can.

CEO Gary Pert resigned October 2024.

Gary was gifted a cushy job as racetrack consultant, as long as it takes.

Richo is the conduit between the football department and the bored.

Who managed this ridiculous set of circumstances.?

Before using the cat o nine tails on Simon, let’s sort the Real problems out.

9 minutes ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

Why? We've already won our side of the trade. Essendon could draft the next Josh Schache with that pick 🤞

They could or they could trade the next Petracca.

1 hour ago, Brownie said:

I think there's a second reason to act fast.

The players.

They look completely destroyed.

Chandler looked to be close to tears post match.

We'll lose a heap of good ones if we wait until seasons end.

No guarantee they won't go anyway. But we need to give them a new start.

I've said it before, I'd bring in Mick Stinnear.

The women's team play for each other and love their footy.

When things aren't working, he makes changes fast.

He's a bloody good coach

I reckon there's a stigma there about aflw being substandard, but he deserves a promotion to AFL coaching.

This is in my view a very real and very big concern.

Without a circuit breaker irreparable damage to this team ( as it is ) will occur.

This can be prevented to a degree. But will it ?

Time is NOW

2 minutes ago, bluey said:

President Kate Roffey resigned September 2024.

Football Director Brad Green filled in and has been paddling as fast as he can.

CEO Gary Pert resigned October 2024.

Gary was gifted a cushy job as racetrack consultant, as long as it takes.

Richo is the conduit between the football department and the bored.

Who managed this ridiculous set of circumstances.?

Before using the cat o nine tails on Simon, let’s sort the Real problems out.

The place is on fire

We need to put the fire out. We can revisit who mismanaged the build up afterwards.

Edited by beelzebub

5 minutes ago, lorn said:

Probably not. It's a poor draft this year

langford and x are better then any combo then we can get from this years draft so it really doesnt matter at all, all we are focusing on is white and the academy picks

Really don't understand the view of if we lose against freo and richmond then....

It's already broken and need of blowing up and restarting. Either the message is wrong, the communication of the message is wrong or the players won't or can't fulfill the message. In any case that's on the coaching group. The coaching group needs to be changed.

Waiting for more losses won't help anything other than demoralising the group even more. With any caretaker coach the losses won't matter as much and each day/week gets closer to the end goal of new coaching group with different viewpoints/communication.

Blow it up now.

55 minutes ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

I think it's more of a comfort thing from a supporter's point of view. Losing every week can be pretty soul destroying, but you normally have the perk of a better draft pick as the losses start to mount. We don't even have that to look forward to this season.

Getting a gun like Lindsay (as per your argument ) and having absolutely no reason not to want to win every week is probably the flip side of that.

18 minutes ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

They could or they could trade the next Petracca.

Or we give them the current Petracca with his salary and we get our pick back. Now that's how to tank!

Just now, Rab D Nesbitt said:

Or we give them the current Petracca with his salary and we get our pick back. Now that's how to tank!

I’d do that.

24 minutes ago, jaydenh10 said:

langford and x are better then any combo then we can get from this years draft so it really doesnt matter at all, all we are focusing on is white and the academy picks

Yep, that's why the club was happy to get out of this year's draft

3 minutes ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

I’d eat some of tracs wages to make it happen