DeelightfulPlay 2,725 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 Just now, gs77 said: Harmes not training likely confirming hammy news from vfl practice match. Yep, the trainer in front of me said Harmes would be focusing on strength today 3 Quote
sue 9,277 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 1 hour ago, jumbo returns said: As did the Pies in the first quarter ... True, but all you need do is look at the final scoreline to see which team was most affected by misses. 2 Quote
jnrmac 20,384 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 17 hours ago, Stiff Arm said: That article describes our predictable forward strategies to a T A good read And its so blindingly obvious. That we continue to do it says it is our strategy. And how f*ing dumb is that 2 2 1 1 Quote
DeelightfulPlay 2,725 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 A few of the boys finished with practicising goal kicking, some nice shots by Viney. Grundy hung back to sign balls and chat with fans - that seems like investment to me! 9 2 Quote
Tough Kent 2,138 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 Dan Turner played forward in a scratch match against Carlton and apparently did ok. He was training with the forwards today and Greg Stafford spent a lot of time with him. Brown, T-Mac, Smith, Turner and Fritta were the hit up forwards in red denoting they’re in the selection picture. Roo and Schache were in the green vests. Grundy trained with the mids. 4 3 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 Can anyone else who went confirm Clarry wasn’t out there? 1 1 Quote
The Corridor 119 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 32 minutes ago, fr_ap said: No Clarry. Daniel turner with the forwards. Didn't see clarry there today either. Anybody have any info on why? 2 1 Quote
Guest Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 33 minutes ago, DeelightfulPlay said: Ooops I lied, there's a third group on the other side of the ground from where I am. Similar forward sim, but too far to see who exactly involved. They've now consolidated the two forward groups and are debriefing. The defence team is also debriefing with Chaplin. Max walking around perimeter and signing things - assume things will wrap soon and the rest of the boys will do the same. Geez… You had one job, DP 🙄 😁 The website said they wouldn’t be doing pics and autographs so it’s nice to hear that they are. ❤️💙 Quote
fr_ap 2,566 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 1 minute ago, The Corridor said: Didn't see clarry there today either. Anybody have any info on why? Asked 4 different players. All ignored the question. Asked BG if he was playing, said " I hope so" Lady next to me mentioned George on the Outers wonderful analysis, so there were at least 2 demonlanders in attendance! 3 3 1 1 Quote
OutOfTheCentre21 190 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 10 minutes ago, Tough Kent said: Dan Turner played forward in a scratch match against Carlton and apparently did ok. He was training with the forwards today and Greg Stafford spent a lot of time with him. Brown, T-Mac, Smith, Turner and Fritta were the hit up forwards in red denoting they’re in the selection picture. Roo and Schache were in the green vests. Grundy trained with the mids. How did Brown look? Did he look fit? 2 Quote
gs77 4,616 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 3 minutes ago, OutOfTheCentre21 said: How did Brown look? Did he look fit? BBB looked ok in that he didn't appear to be limping. His left knee was taped, but I saw him involved with the forward group in drills. He was doing warmups etc with the team too. Did not look like a particularly intense session though. Gawn did not take part. Instead doing selfies etc around the boundary. He ignored a query on Clarry's whereabouts from a supporter nearby. 3 1 Quote
DeelightfulPlay 2,725 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 6 minutes ago, WalkingCivilWar said: Geez… You had one job, DP 🙄 😁 The website said they wouldn’t be doing pics and autographs so it’s nice to hear that they are. ❤️💙 Look, I haven't played footy so I'm not a valid opinion haver most of the time 😂 2 Quote
gs77 4,616 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 (edited) 40 minutes ago, Jaded No More said: Can anyone else who went confirm Clarry wasn’t out there? Confirmed - did not see him out there. No sign of Gus too (unsurprisingly). Was great seeing Petts and melky there, though wish the circumstances were better. Edited September 10, 2023 by gs77 Photo added 3 3 5 Quote
dazzledavey36 56,348 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 19 minutes ago, Tough Kent said: Dan Turner played forward in a scratch match against Carlton and apparently did ok. He was training with the forwards today and Greg Stafford spent a lot of time with him. Brown, T-Mac, Smith, Turner and Fritta were the hit up forwards in red denoting they’re in the selection picture. Roo and Schache were in the green vests. Grundy trained with the mids. How did Turner look as the forward? This whole Turner up forward experiment all of a sudden becomes intriguing. Good to.hear Brown trained. 2 Quote
dazzledavey36 56,348 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 The fact that Oliver wasn't there and players refusing to explain why is a concern to me. 7 Quote
Guest Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 2 minutes ago, DeelightfulPlay said: Look, I haven't played footy so I'm not a valid opinion haver most of the time 😂 Then wtf are you even doing there?! You KNOW you’re not worthy of an opinion! Now go and sign up with the nearest local footy team, get a few seasons under your belt then get back to us. 😁 PS: Seeya Friday night ❤️💙 Quote
Bates Mate 4,520 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 Disco to the rescue , it really had come to this 🤦♂️ 1 Quote
Guest Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 2 hours ago, Jaded No More said: If anyone going can find out how Gus is doing, that would be greatly appreciated. Just heard from a DA-er who asked Max how Gus is doing and he replied, “not good.” Quote
bandicoot 1,395 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 Anyone hear an update on Oliver? 2 Quote
Gawndy the Great 9,011 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 (edited) 6 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said: The fact that Oliver wasn't there and players refusing to explain why is a concern to me. It’s all we need right now. Wait for some reporter to put it up on Twitter in the hour. Edited September 10, 2023 by Gawndy the Great 2 Quote
Demon Dynasty 17,169 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 (edited) 8 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said: The fact that Oliver wasn't there and players refusing to explain why is a concern to me. Hopefully preserving him after full hit outs at Casey. Is a worry though. Any news on Tracc's knee which was apparently in a sleave of sorts. How did he train pls? Unhindered? Edited September 10, 2023 by Demon Dynasty 2 Quote
Jaded No More 68,976 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 Getting difficult to remain upbeat. Feels like things are falling apart yet again at the pointy end of the season. We’ve had no luck since 2021. 1 2 Quote
Demon Dynasty 17,169 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 8 minutes ago, Bates Mate said: Disco to the rescue , it really had come to this 🤦♂️ Desperation stakes it would seem BM. They want someone who's mobile and a decent mark to present and compete inside 50 i think. Who comes out if Turner's in as a forward? T-Mac? 1 Quote
fr_ap 2,566 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 Tbh, I found the energy from the players quite lacking. The energy from the crowd and kids was terrific but almost deflated when the players came past. I think they're hurting & their confidence has taken a bit. It was a low energy session overall so perhaps a harsh judgement but it didn't fill me with confidence at all meeting a Carlton team on cloud 9 in full hunter mode. I think they're tired after 3 top 4s in 3 years getting bashed from pillar to post for lately, little reward. The injuries might have killed us I think. The remaining teams seem to have an energy and hunger about them that I don't sense from our group. Of course I hold hope and it was still a fun time, kids loved it and the DJ helped ,but feels a little inevitable to me right now. Like a looming exam you just know you're not prepared for. On the footy itself, a few observations: -I have some faith Turner would do ok up forward even though that's probably illogical. He's a neat set shot, holds the ball all the way down to his foot. It may be an interesting move to tell him to play 'defence' on Weitering. He'd make an OK fist of it I reckon if he played from behind. -Clarry absence very mysterious. Let's hope nothing to see there. -Trac looked a little....green? When he ran out but trained fine. Such a loose set shot, either middles them or sprays them. -AMW struggled with the short hit up kicks in the forward drill. -Ben Brown moved surprisingly well, looked no worse than Tom Mac tbh. -Energy in the midfield group far higher than in the fwd/backs group. Led by Viney. We are lucky to have him. -Fritsch and ANB in good spirits, more interactive with fans than most. -love the way Verrall moves and have a lot of hope for what he could become. -Spargo is a little too negatively demonstrative imo. Does it in games too. Touch of the Hogan's. Probably frustrated with his year I'd imagine. Can't think of much else, any questions shout out will do my best 9 5 1 Quote
OutOfTheCentre21 190 Posted September 10, 2023 Posted September 10, 2023 1 minute ago, Demon Dynasty said: Who comes out if Turner's in as a forward? T-Mac? JVR is missing this week. 2 Quote