Posted
On 9/17/2022 at 10:00 AM, spirit of norm smith said:

If Corbett was available and interested, Dees would have a conversation.  He’d be reasonably cheap and with our number of inside50s (and better delivery) he is a good mark and could be a good pickup.  

And update on Corbett? Thought I read that Freo was going to make an offer !!!! He’s a Vic boy and surely Dees can offer a good opportunity back home and a 2-3 year deal. He’s a genuine goalkicker and would be ready to go. 

Posted

Edmund on SEN today said will still have some interest in him. So I get the impression it might be one to look out for later in the period.

Posted

AFL website - Dees have interest in Corbett alongside Bombers and Freo remaining as his likely destination. I should think we’d definitely push the make a 2-3 year contract offer under the “goalkicker wanted” signpost 

Melbourne also has some interest in Corbett ahead of a trade period

Posted

At Freo he could potentially play with Amiss and Taberner or back them up. At Melbourne he might have to get ahead of at least one if not 2 of JVR, Brown or McDonald. Essendon have Wright, Jones and who knows what else.

I doubt any club is straight up walking him in the best 22 or paying him like that, so there's not a clear answer.

Posted
On 9/14/2022 at 6:32 PM, mo64 said:

Name some pack marking forwards in the AFL? Better still, name a club that relies on pack marking forwards. The 2 beasts of the comp in Lynch and Hawkins rely on one-on-one strength to beat their opponents.

Our game-style worked in 2021, but better teams combatted it in 2022. It's up to the coaching dept to come up with a game-style that suits our list.

Spot on. Also -  BB is being crucified by the game plan that doesn't suit him ... as has been pointed out elsewhere in this thread.

Posted

Ben Brown is a goal kicker and he can take a mark when one on one, and leading, and often draws free kicks doing so, we dont play to his strength, but rather to his weakness, thats like putting viney in the ruck then complaining that he is not getting enough tap outs. we play good football when we move the ball quickly and have strong marking options forward, our premiership run where we got the ball out of the centre quickly was just the sort of thing he can do well on. But we have not captured that fast break from the centre this year. And our movement down the wings has slowed considerably this year.  bombing to the left hand pocket is very predictable, yet our small forwards are seldom in the right place or not applying pressure like we did either last year of the start of this year.

Josh corbett looks pretty good, i think he is well worth a try, cause if anything happens to Fritch we are cooked.

Posted

I hope we sign him so the cheersquad can go with this outstanding material:

Little Red Corbett
Baby, you're much too fast
Little Red Corbett
Need to find a marker that's gonna last

Posted
9 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

I hope we sign him so the cheersquad can go with this outstanding material:

Little Red Corbett
Baby, you're much too fast
Little Red Corbett
Need to find a marker that's gonna last

Perhaps "Blue and Red Corbett!"

Posted
On 9/28/2022 at 9:01 AM, deespicable me said:

If you go back across the VFL year and put together a highlights package on Van Rooyen not knowing his background, I think many on here would be drooling over him. And he's already on our list.

His output was comparable to Hogan in his year and with another pre-season in the gym he will hit the ground in round 1 at approx 105kg and an appetite for senior footy.  He should play 15 plus games next year with at least 5 of those where he will be a liability, but we have to play him next year to develop him properly. All discussions about our forward line should I think take him into account. 

I can’t wait for JVR but I was responding to pack marking forwards which apparently there weren’t many in the league 

Posted
5 hours ago, Tracca said:

I can’t wait for JVR but I was responding to pack marking forwards which apparently there weren’t many in the league 

Disagree Trac He won't  really be a liability as does many fine tram  acts and is good with the1% ers. Team player and leads as often as any Melb forward. 

Stupid Damo of the AFL can't see one glaring reason for us to be better in 2023. Take a look at a 100 kg plus JVR and that says it all.  Fitness in the team also. 

I would like he, Tmac and Petty to be our tall forwards and watch us improve in that area! ! All for the team and tougher players who really want the ball and I reckon kick straight. 

I am very bullish about 2023 enough to predict that US  snd Cats could be the two standout teams again! 

Posted
2 minutes ago, 58er said:

Disagree Trac He won't  really be a liability as does many fine tram  acts and is good with the1% ers. Team player and leads as often as any Melb forward. 

Stupid Damo of the AFL can't see one glaring reason for us to be better in 2023. Take a look at a 100 kg plus JVR and that says it all.  Fitness in the team also. 

I would like he, Tmac and Petty to be our tall forwards and watch us improve in that area! ! All for the team and tougher players who really want the ball and I reckon kick straight. 

I am very bullish about 2023 enough to predict that US  snd Cats could be the two standout teams again! 

Sorry Trac it was Des that said about a liability.  He won't be even at his age I don't think. 

Posted

Tim Lamb said in interview this arvo that we had initial interest but other clubs are far more progressed in talks with Corbett now, so likely strike this option off the list.

Not the type need anyway IMO. Need tall marking options who consistently hit the scoreboard, not more flankers.

Posted
17 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Time to get Treacy thrown into the LJ deal.

I like it. Good thinking Redleg. Treacy has a toughness that is good to see in a young key forward. Wouldn’t be against this if we are also into throwing in a future 3rd rd back to Freo.