Ollie fan 3,672 Posted August 15, 2022 Posted August 15, 2022 (edited) Extraordinary. Check it out: the umpire manages to successfully bounce the ball on that mudheap! Edited August 15, 2022 by Ollie fan 2 Quote
Whispering_Jack 31,368 Posted August 18, 2022 Author Posted August 18, 2022 Who could ever forget World of Sport with Captain Blood, Louis, Bobby Davis and Uncle Doug? 2 1 Quote
Demonstone 23,600 Posted August 18, 2022 Posted August 18, 2022 Those were the days. You could be assured of hearing intelligent, well-informed footy talk from a panel who had a natural rapport and who produced moments of genuine good-natured humour. Contrast that to today's unwatchable Channel 9 Sunday Footy Show numpties with their forced bonhomie, incessant sniggering, smug attitude and obsession with making it all about themselves rather than the actual game itself. 5 1 1 Quote
daisycutter 30,021 Posted August 18, 2022 Posted August 18, 2022 4 minutes ago, Demonstone said: Those were the days. You could be assured of hearing intelligent, well-informed footy talk from a panel who had a natural rapport and who produced moments of genuine good-natured humour. Contrast that to today's unwatchable Channel 9 Sunday Footy Show numpties with their forced bonhomie, incessant sniggering, smug attitude and obsession with making it all about themselves rather than the actual game itself. c'mon ds, tell us what you really think 🤐 btw were you criticising or bagging ch9......asking for a friend 4 Quote
leave it to deever 17,621 Posted August 18, 2022 Posted August 18, 2022 6 minutes ago, Demonstone said: Those were the days. You could be assured of hearing intelligent, well-informed footy talk from a panel who had a natural rapport and who produced moments of genuine good-natured humour. Contrast that to today's unwatchable Channel 9 Sunday Footy Show numpties with their forced bonhomie, incessant sniggering, smug attitude and obsession with making it all about themselves rather than the actual game itself. Not sure if your being sarcastic. I know your genuine about today's dribble but I would put this back in the vault and throw the key away. 1 Quote
Demonstone 23,600 Posted August 18, 2022 Posted August 18, 2022 10 minutes ago, leave it to deever said: Not sure if your being sarcastic. No sarcasm intended. I meant every word. 1 Quote
leave it to deever 17,621 Posted August 18, 2022 Posted August 18, 2022 2 minutes ago, Demonstone said: No sarcasm intended. I meant every word. Now I'm really not sure😃 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted August 18, 2022 Posted August 18, 2022 Really wish I caught more of this show! 1 Quote
Wilson7 2,689 Posted August 18, 2022 Posted August 18, 2022 10 hours ago, layzie said: Really wish I caught more of this show! Some great clips on this channel layzie https://www.youtube.com/c/WOSHSV7 1 1 Quote
Whispering_Jack 31,368 Posted September 1, 2022 Author Posted September 1, 2022 Remember this from the first Friday in September 1995? 1 Quote
Chook 15,074 Posted September 1, 2022 Posted September 1, 2022 53 minutes ago, Whispering_Jack said: Remember this from the first Friday in September 1995? Nope. I was a young lad in grade 1. In Darwin. Quote
La Dee-vina Comedia 17,137 Posted September 1, 2022 Posted September 1, 2022 7 hours ago, Whispering_Jack said: Remember this from the first Friday in September 1995? I find it interesting that I can see no-one in the crowd wearing club gear. That's certainly been a huge commercial opportunity grabbed by the AFL clubs (and all professional sports generally) in the last 27 years. 1 Quote
layzie 34,528 Posted September 1, 2022 Posted September 1, 2022 6 minutes ago, La Dee-vina Comedia said: I find it interesting that I can see no-one in the crowd wearing club gear. That's certainly been a huge commercial opportunity grabbed by the AFL clubs (and all professional sports generally) in the last 27 years. For sure, it's come a long way. Also this may have been the time when they were giving Brissy tickets away more often to Joe Blows on the street. 1 Quote
Whispering_Jack 31,368 Posted September 12, 2022 Author Posted September 12, 2022 Back in the early 80’s and is there any wonder why nobody took us seriously in those days? Quote
tiers 2,883 Posted September 12, 2022 Posted September 12, 2022 Jacko might have been nuts but he kicked 150 goals over two seasons and helped Gerard Healy kick many goals as well. For 75 goals a year I would happily take the next Jacko. 4 1 Quote
Leopold Bloom 406 Posted September 13, 2022 Posted September 13, 2022 On 9/12/2022 at 5:48 PM, tiers said: Jacko might have been nuts but he kicked 150 goals over two seasons and helped Gerard Healy kick many goals as well. For 75 goals a year I would happily take the next Jacko. But were we a better team for having a galah playing for us even with his 75 goals? 1 Quote
Whispering_Jack 31,368 Posted September 17, 2022 Author Posted September 17, 2022 On this day in 1988 … 2 1 1 Quote
Whispering_Jack 31,368 Posted September 25, 2022 Author Posted September 25, 2022 Forty years ago today … 1 Quote
demosaw 1,155 Posted January 5, 2023 Posted January 5, 2023 On 5/11/2022 at 9:20 AM, La Dee-vina Comedia said: I don't remember 12" singles. Were they common? Also, played at 45 or 33 rpm? Not common but not rare. Often 45 rpm which gave more volume/better treble. I remember Billy Idol had one ‘Got to be your (12 inch) Lover’! 1 Quote
demosaw 1,155 Posted January 5, 2023 Posted January 5, 2023 On 9/12/2022 at 5:48 PM, tiers said: Jacko might have been nuts but he kicked 150 goals over two seasons and helped Gerard Healy kick many goals as well. For 75 goals a year I would happily take the next Jacko. Yes I think Jacko helped turn sport into entertainment. His antics were also a distraction to opponents. Genuine footballer and clown. 1 Quote
Slartibartfast 18,124 Posted January 5, 2023 Posted January 5, 2023 You wouldn’t want this bloke within 5 miles of your footy club. 2 4 Quote
Whispering_Jack 31,368 Posted January 11, 2023 Author Posted January 11, 2023 Watch this to the end. 4 1 Quote
Ollie fan 3,672 Posted January 11, 2023 Posted January 11, 2023 (edited) 47 minutes ago, Whispering_Jack said: Watch this to the end. What a pleasure! And how beautiful a kick was Travis Johnstone? I had forgotten the pleasure of watching him when he was on song. Edited January 11, 2023 by Ollie fan Autocorrect wrongly changed it 2 1 Quote
Fanatique Demon 2,764 Posted January 11, 2023 Posted January 11, 2023 A couple of excellent kicks from Maloney too. My memory was full of those high up and under kicks he used to do from the centre clearances. But there were two great passes from him in that quarter. 2 Quote
Whispering_Jack 31,368 Posted January 11, 2023 Author Posted January 11, 2023 What about the enjoyment on the faces of the fans at attending a winning Melbourne match in Geelong at a time when the chances of us bringing home the 4 points was negligible and the prospect of that long drive home in the cold at the end of most games wasn’t exactly tantalizing. 3 Quote