Posted
24 minutes ago, Kick_It_To_Pickett said:

major cringe. Described as a unicorn tht they didn’t think was worth a pick inside the top ten. Get stuffed Freo. God I can’t wait until we play them. I’m betting it’ll only be once next year, in Perth.

That’s crazy. Even for someone who hasn’t had 18 cones today.

Posted
16 minutes ago, PaulRB said:

Can someone calculate where Freo would have to finish next year for us to break even on this deal, i.e. where would they need to land next year, for us to get Pick 3 worth of points from Pick 13, R1 + R2..? 

Please?

Will help with the "death riding" next year...

12,13 & 30 is equivalent to pick 1 in terms of value on the draft calculator. Actually it’s over by 100 points. 

Posted
1 hour ago, mmwd6 said:

Head of Player Personnel David Walls expects Jackson to be worth Fremantle’s significant investment of draft capital.

“Luke has been our number one priority all year and obviously throughout the trade period,” Walls said.

[...]

“In his draft year, we had him rated at number one in the draft.

“Even though we also picked up Hayden Young and Caleb Serong, with Luke being local, we’ve followed him for a long time going back to his juniors.

[censored] hell they've been in his year since he stepped foot on a footy field. He was always going to head back sooner or later. 

We did the same thing with Lever.

Posted

The stuff written about his Mother appears to be wide of the mark. To me based on Luke’s comments today it was always his desire to be at Freo from a young age. He had always wanted to go back there, it was his dream. Our recruiting staff should have known this. If they knew and were willing to take the risk well I guess I can accept it knowing that we won a flag while he was here, but we have lost out on this deal I think purely in terms of pick value at the moment.  Of course we won’t know until we see what the club does with the picks, but it’s not a nice feeling at the moment seeing him in Freo colours and would rather him still here at the club. I think our club staff and players probably feel the same. I wish him all the best and hope we make the best of the situation with what we have. Also hoping if the Grundy situation eventuates that it works out to be a better duo than Dogga and Max, fingers crossed.

Posted
10 minutes ago, Bonkers said:

The stuff written about his Mother appears to be wide of the mark. To me based on Luke’s comments today it was always his desire to be at Freo from a young age. He had always wanted to go back there, it was his dream. Our recruiting staff should have known this. If they knew and were willing to take the risk well I guess I can accept it knowing that we won a flag while he was here, but we have lost out on this deal I think purely in terms of pick value at the moment.  Of course we won’t know until we see what the club does with the picks, but it’s not a nice feeling at the moment seeing him in Freo colours and would rather him still here at the club. I think our club staff and players probably feel the same. I wish him all the best and hope we make the best of the situation with what we have. Also hoping if the Grundy situation eventuates that it works out to be a better duo than Dogga and Max, fingers crossed.

Well then he lied, because he specifically was asked about this by the club. He did a media release saying how much he enjoyed Melbourne when he came here for Basketball commitments, and how he actually had an uncle living here. So it was all just BS? I have no idea what’s up with this kid, whether there is more to the story. No one on here wants to spill the beans about what they know. There was talk of his family being offered a place here early in 2022, and it was mentioned it was his brother tht was refusing to come. Whatever the deal is, I reckon someone else is writing his narrative and telling him what to say. Seems like a genuine dope. Lucky he is quite good at footy

Posted
40 minutes ago, Bonkers said:

12,13 & 30 is equivalent to pick 1 in terms of value on the draft calculator. Actually it’s over by 100 points. 

It may be but no club in the land is swapping pick 1 for 12 13 30.

Posted
6 hours ago, bing181 said:

Haven't gone over the whole thread so perhaps already posted, but trades in for next year (Freo 1 + 2) are equivalent to around pick 5 or 6. Obviously depends on where Freo ends up.

So pick 13 + pick 5ish, with a couple of lower picks we weren't going to use going back to them.

Fine with it.

How is it equivalent to pick 5 or 6? Unless Freo finish 14th or 13th next year.

Posted
1 hour ago, darkhorse72 said:

Isn't that some breach of the rules according to the AFL?

I thought you couldn't meet mid season either, but we met with Grundy mid season too. I think that as a rule has just gone completely out the door.

Posted
1 hour ago, PaulRB said:

Can someone calculate where Freo would have to finish next year for us to break even on this deal, i.e. where would they need to land next year, for us to get Pick 3 worth of points from Pick 13, R1 + R2..? 

Please?

16th

Posted
10 minutes ago, HarpenDee said:

It may be but no club in the land is swapping pick 1 for 12 13 30.

Yeh I know mate, I was just answering the previous posters question about the value of picks. 👍

Posted
1 hour ago, PaulRB said:

Please?

Without doing the calculations - 18th would work for me

Posted
54 minutes ago, Bonkers said:

So that’s 7th. Hmm. Too 4 is a stretch but even with 5 or 6 we are ahead a little. Imagine if they missed the 8 (can’t see that happening ) It could be a pick in the top 10 and potentially two if we package up our F1 with Freos F2. 

Boy we need to pray hard for a Freo failure. 

Posted
5 minutes ago, Demonland said:

According to the story it's nearly $1Million a year for 7 years

That's close enough to $7Million reasons to go elsewhere.  It's any wonder he seems so happy with his lot

So often it's about the money and all the rest of it is a furphy

But let's face it, a lot of us here would take the money (along with the opportunity to go home)

Posted

My favourite thing is how him and have manager have both come out and essentially said he was never going to west Coast, meaning he just said it to make himself look good. 

Posted
Just now, Macca said:

According to the story it's nearly $1Million a year for 7 years

That's close enough to $7Million reasons to go elsewhere.  It's any wonder he seems so happy with his lot

So often it's about the money and all the rest of it is a furphy

But let's face it, a lot of us here would take the money (along with the opportunity to go home)

Need to see who wrote it. I've seen his contract length/salary vary from 750k/5years to $1mil/8 years. Even today they asked him the length and he didn't answer?? Said his manager and the club would say something in the next few days

Posted

Apologies.

Its good to offset the anger at losing out on this deal with the knowledge we'd be looking at $1mill a year over 7 with our already tight cap. Could be a blessing in disguise?

Posted (edited)

22 minutes ago, Kick_It_To_Pickett said:

Finally something 

Did he or his manager inform the club mid season that he wanted to go back to WA or string us along with BS 

Edited by Demonsone
Posted
2 minutes ago, mmwd6 said:

My favourite thing is how him and have manager have both come out and essentially said he was never going to west Coast, meaning he just said it to make himself look good. 

Which only serves to support my theory that his exit was handled appallingly. His mum and brother made him out to be some sort of martyr on Facebook, both praising him for hia courage. He made his mind up mid season and checked out. Still playing the charade of staying potentially. Then he said he’d help the club get the best deal, knowing full well tht he was off to Freo. Freo always knew they could screw us over. And they did. He is now on the dislike list. 

I know it’s the off-season, but usually when a liked player leaves, or recommits, other players post something on social media. So far, just Harmes and Kozzy. Perhaps he has been on the outer since news of his leaving was made known internally. 

Posted (edited)
30 minutes ago, mmwd6 said:

Need to see who wrote it. I've seen his contract length/salary vary from 750k/5years to $1mil/8 years. Even today they asked him the length and he didn't answer?? Said his manager and the club would say something in the next few days

The original figure we heard was $10.5Million over 8 years! 

Recent trades with Freo ...

Jesse Hogan - we got pick 6 (May) & 22 (Sparrow)

Colin Sylvia (RIP) ... pick 23 (Bernie Vince)

Ed Langdon ... all up, I x 2nd round pick

So we're way in front and we can't rule out winning the Jackson trade

LJ is going to have to turn out to be a proper gun whilst we'd have to recruit in a below average way with the 2 x first rounders and 1 x 2nd round pick

3 good players with those 3 picks?  Why not?  Plus, we replace LJ with Grundy with (another) 2nd round pick

All up, conceivably 4 good players to replace 1 who might be good.  And we get a big upgrade in the rucking dept.

I'm backing Taylor to make the deal a win for us.  And there is no reason why Taylor can't continue to turn 1st & 2nd round picks into good footballers

That's what he does

Posted
4 hours ago, A F said:

If Carlton thought that way they wouldn't have their Brownlow medallist captain.

You draft best available and back yourself to retain them, unless they're saying in pre draft interviews that they only want to be in WA or SA or wherever, but if that was the case they'd also fail the other tests we put them through.

May, Jackson, Kozzie, Rivers, Nibbler, Sparrow, Petty, Brown all played in the drought breaking Premiership and all non Vics, I agree you just back yourself. I had heard 2020 with Covid impacted Jackson settling in, however thought the close bond forged with the group in 2021 may have fixed that