Posted (edited)
22 minutes ago, siam juntaRus said:

I wouldnt of thought that defending a womans honour was a thing any more. Let females sort it out for themselves.

Not my problem.

All depends what's going on.
Sometimes they create their own issues and issues for others.
Sometimes they don't and need back up.
Can be a spooky world out there at times, even for men.
Women even moreso I'd suggest.

Edited by Fork 'em

Posted
16 hours ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

30 years ago I was weaving my way through a crowded nightclub making my way back from the ladies’ room when I was hit in the head with a jug of beer. It wasn’t deliberate, one big drunk guy was passing the beer to his mate, but it was reckless. My then-boyfriend was furious and asked me to point the guy out, which I did. What happened next? Nothing, that’s what. Turns out the big drunk guy was Darren Millane and the then-bf was a diehard Magpies fan. 
Needless to say, that relationship didn’t exactly flourish. 

I just wanna clarify something re the above story. The then-bf wasn’t an aggressive person at all. Thing is, I told him that the big drunk guy probs wasn’t even aware that he’d hit me. The then-bf (naively, I suppose) wanted to let the big drunk guy know, and for him to apologise. I wouldn’t have pointed him out had I even remotely suspected there’d be trouble.  There’s a happy postscript to the story: Millane indeed didn’t know and when told, said “no worries mate, bring her over and I’ll definitely  apologise.” But he never got the chance to coz by this stage I was out front hailing a cab. Being doused with beer usually signals the end of the night. For me, anyways. The then-bf ended up having a beer with Millane so all was well that ended well. 

Posted
13 hours ago, kev martin said:

End male on male violence.

To that I would say end male on female violence... that is a BIG problem.

Posted
1 hour ago, siam juntaRus said:

I wouldnt of thought that defending a womans honour was a thing any more. Let females sort it out for themselves.

Not my problem.

Male violence against women should be everyone's problem... how many serious injuries or worse, deaths, do there need to be before people get the idea that intervention is not such a bad idea?

Posted
41 minutes ago, Fat Tony said:

Call me sceptical, but I find it hard to believe that neither player was under the influence of alcohol as reported. I think there is a good chance that more comes out here.

https://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/richmond-star-shai-bolton-and-daniel-rioli-embroiled-in-nightclub-fight/news-story/63ef86829c6e93b553a5cc63ddd3372c

You may be correct, but it has been reported that "...neither player was under the influence of alcohol when the altercation occurred and neither is expected to face disciplinary action from the club".  Is that from witness accounts, or were the police were called in (something that hasn't been mentioned) to interview those involved and to test alchohol levels?

Posted
13 hours ago, hardtack said:

I like to believe someone is innocent until proven guilty

You're happy to find their antagonist guilty without hearing their side of the story though.

Posted
3 minutes ago, GonetoCA said:

You're happy to find their antagonist guilty without hearing their side of the story though.

Even you refer to the other party as "their antagonist".  My comment relates to those assuming that the players may have somehow been responsible for the escalation of the situation.  The club has made a statement, so let's see how it plays out before accusing the club of spouting BS.

Posted
1 minute ago, daisycutter said:

i wonder what "under the influence of alcohol" means and how it would be measured?

it can't mean the driving .05 limit.....or can it?

Isn't 'under the influence' considered to be anything over 0.5, which is when alcohol starts to affect your judgement and reactions.

Posted
56 minutes ago, hardtack said:

Isn't 'under the influence' considered to be anything over 0.5, which is when alcohol starts to affect your judgement and reactions.

well you wouldn't find many patrons at a nightclub under .05      lol

i'm still unsure of what being "under the influence" means in a non-driving sense as well as the oft used term "drunk" or "intoxicated".

seems very elastic and can be stretched either way depending on one's agenda

Posted

In 2021 women should not have to have anyone defend their honour, because nobody should be behaving like a complete nuffy to women. 

How about you let women go out, have fun, wear what they want, drink what they want, and not take it as an invitation to be a pervert or a dead set loser?

Kthnxby. 

• Like 14
Posted
18 minutes ago, Pipefitter said:

Hardwicks comments are ridiculous. He makes out there was no other solution but violence. It’s called walking away. 

he also wont answer the question of whether rioli threw a punch (despite the claimed extensive questioning of rioli by the club)

Posted

Sometimes you can be in the wrong place at the wrong time. It happens. They are Richmond players so I don’t really care tbh. I just hope our boys have the good sense to stay away from nite clubs. There will always be a drunk dh spoiling for a fight.

Posted
21 minutes ago, Pipefitter said:

Hardwicks comments are ridiculous. He makes out there was no other solution but violence. It’s called walking away. 

What a shock that a person who would pin the arms of a 19 year old while his mate punches the kid in the throat would endorse violence.

Posted
7 minutes ago, Nasher said:

What a shock that a person who would pin the arms of a 19 year old while his mate punches the kid in the throat would endorse violence.

That was unforgivable and we should never forget it.

Posted
2 hours ago, Jaded said:

In 2021 women should not have to have anyone defend their honour, because nobody should be behaving like a complete nuffy to women. 

How about you let women go out, have fun, wear what they want, drink what they want, and not take it as an invitation to be a pervert or a dead set loser?

Kthnxby. 

Spot on Jaded. The “defending their honour” starts with guys being dips#!ts and feeling like the can make derogatory comments based on what a woman wears or looks like. 

Rioli is within his right to call a bloke out on it, but the smart thing to do sometimes is to get out of the situation and notify someone in authority to remove the sleaze. 

Posted
18 hours ago, hardtack said:

Apparently the guy behaved inappropriately with Riolli's GF, Rioli remonstrated, the guy punched Rioli in the eye and Bolton stepped in to defend both Rioli and his GF.  Your assumption was pretty much trash.

Whoah easy there big fella! 

My assumption was that a violent incident occurred and Richmond are choosing to justify it and not hand out any sanctions.

I say their culture is trash because over the last couple of years there has been a number of incidents that that club has been involved with. A lot more than any other club. And because it's Richmond, they are trash. Always have been, always will be.

Posted
42 minutes ago, Juicebox said:

Whoah easy there big fella! 

My assumption was that a violent incident occurred and Richmond are choosing to justify it and not hand out any sanctions.

I say their culture is trash because over the last couple of years there has been a number of incidents that that club has been involved with. A lot more than any other club. And because it's Richmond, they are trash. Always have been, always will be.

Sorry, my comment came across in a way that was stronger than it was meant. Unfortunately, assuming the players acted in self defence, the club can’t really impose sanctions unless they had some sort of policy/rule that players do not attend night clubs etc during the season... hence the comment I added.

Posted
4 hours ago, Jaded said:

Kthnxby. 

Dreamworld.

If you are going to fill a small room with large amounts of drunk people, expect trouble occasionally.

We all know what "should" happen, but it's a fantasy that will never become reality.

Alcohol, drugs and testosterone in confined  spaces will always be a dangerous mix.

Posted
2 hours ago, Nasher said:

How many weeks you reckon he gets now for doing that? 10? 

Posted
9 hours ago, WalkingCivilWar said:

I just wanna clarify something re the above story. The then-bf wasn’t an aggressive person at all. Thing is, I told him that the big drunk guy probs wasn’t even aware that he’d hit me. The then-bf (naively, I suppose) wanted to let the big drunk guy know, and for him to apologise. I wouldn’t have pointed him out had I even remotely suspected there’d be trouble.  There’s a happy postscript to the story: Millane indeed didn’t know and when told, said “no worries mate, bring her over and I’ll definitely  apologise.” But he never got the chance to coz by this stage I was out front hailing a cab. Being doused with beer usually signals the end of the night. For me, anyways. The then-bf ended up having a beer with Millane so all was well that ended well. 

Hopefully we'll snag a premiership cup this year. In which case being showered with beer will probably be the commencement of a really big night for us all. Fingers crossed