Posted

The AFL have released their round 7 and 8 fixtures as per below link.

Round 7 - North Melb V Melbourne - Sunday May 2 - 1:10 at Hobart

Round 8 - Melbourne V Sydney - Saturday May 8 - 7:25pm at MCG  

https://www.afl.com.au/news/579157/r7-r8-fixture-reveal-blockbusters-gf-rematch-derbies-locked-in

You have a good start to the season, you get rewarded with prime time fixtures.

Round seven

Friday, April 30
Richmond v Western Bulldogs at the MCG, 7.50pm AEST

Saturday, May 1
Collingwood v Gold Coast at the MCG, 1.45pm AEST
Adelaide v GWS Giants at Adelaide Oval, 1.40pm ACST
St Kilda v Hawthorn at Marvel Stadium, 4.35pm AEST
Sydney v Geelong at the SCG, 7.25pm AEST
Brisbane v Port Adelaide at the Gabba, 7.25pm AEST

Sunday, May 2
North Melbourne v Melbourne at Blundstone Arena, 1.10pm AEST
Essendon v Carlton at the MCG, 3.20pm AEST
West Coast v Fremantle at Optus Stadium, 2.40pm AWST

Round eight

Friday, May 7
Richmond v Geelong at the MCG, 7.50pm AEST

Saturday, May 8
GWS Giants v Essendon at Giants Stadium, 1.45pm AEST
Gold Coast v St Kilda at Metricon Stadium, 2.10pm AEST
North Melbourne v Collingwood at Marvel Stadium, 4.35pm AEST
Melbourne v Sydney at the MCG, 7.25pm AEST
Port Adelaide v Adelaide at Adelaide Oval, 7.10pm ACST

Sunday, May 9
Hawthorn v West Coast at the MCG, 1.10pm AEST
Western Bulldogs v Carlton at Marvel Stadium, 3.20pm AEST
Fremantle v Brisbane at Optus Stadium, 2.40pm AWST

Posted (edited)

Let's not kid ourselves. A large part of the reason we got the Saturday Night slot is because of Sydney. They've been given both Saturday Night slots for round 7 and 8.

While I'm happy we've received it, there is still a lot that needs to go right to get the better slots. If we were playing some other teams, I don't think we would have got it.

Edited by AshleyH30

Posted
2 minutes ago, AshleyH30 said:

Let's not kid ourselves. A large part of the reason we got the Saturday Night slot is because of Sydney. They've been given both Saturday Night slots for round 7 and 8.

as they should be - playing fast, exciting, high-scoring football and are regularly one of the most-watched sides over the last two decades on free-to-air due to being in the most populous city and incredibly successful

• Demonland changed the title to REVISED 2021 FIXTURE: Rd 07 & 08
  • Demonland changed the title to Revised 2021 Fixture: Rd 07 & 08
Posted
7 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Saturday night is behind Friday night and arguably behind Thursday.

Better than Sunday afternoon

But miles better than not being on FTA DJ

Having our matches shunted away on cable in a time slot often only suited for those who have cable is not a good result for all sorts of reasons

And the Saturday evening FTA games would attract huge advertising dollars for Ch7 so it's a marquee event that we need to be part of

I reckon it's a fantastic result ... bring it on

In rounds 9-12 we're matched up against the Lions, Bulldogs, Blues & Crows so if we keep performing well we'll get more FTA slots

Posted
7 minutes ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

Bugg@r. Will need to change my flight time back from Hobart. 

those Sunday night flights back from Hobart aren't cheap ($250 approx)

Only $80 on the way down

Posted
38 minutes ago, AshleyH30 said:

While I'm happy we've received it, there is still a lot that needs to go right to get the better slots. If we were playing some other teams, I don't think we would have got it.

Maybe, but maybe not.

Carlton plays Essendon and the Dogs in those two weeks and got Sunday 3.20pm games for both of them.

At any rate, it matters less why we're there and more that we're actually there and have an opportunity to use it to get more exposure.

By Round 8 we'll have been on FTA five times (Rounds 2, 4, 5, 6 and 8).

Our five games between these and the bye are Carlton, Adelaide (away), Bulldogs (Marvel), Brisbane (Alice Springs) and Collingwood (Queen's Birthday). That's one guaranteed FTA game and if we keep our form up, we might be able to get another couple of FTA games with that bunch as well.

If we were to end Queen's Birthday having been on FTA 7 or 8 times out of our first 13 games, that's not a bad result for us.

Posted
50 minutes ago, AshleyH30 said:

They are playing Geelong in Round 7.

Could hardly expect them to put our game vs the basket case North in a prime time slot.

Posted

That’s rubbish, a perfect opportunity to give two exciting and undefeated (at the moment) teams a chance on prime time Friday night, but no let’s watch Richmond again, what’s that 6 out of 8 rounds.

Melbourne vs Sydney would be a great & deserving way to showcase to all footy followers someone different for a change

Posted

See Collingwood got two weaker opponents - does AFL have to get them some wins to attract their crowds?

Posted
10 minutes ago, Billy said:

That’s rubbish, a perfect opportunity to give two exciting and undefeated (at the moment) teams a chance on prime time Friday night, but no let’s watch Richmond again, what’s that 6 out of 8 rounds.

Melbourne vs Sydney would be a great & deserving way to showcase to all footy followers someone different for a change

It’s already a 6 day break. No way I want Friday night and a 5 day break

Posted
4 minutes ago, whatwhat say what said:

no more thursday nite games in this bracket so saturday nite is ch 7's #2 slot

strange to stop the Thursday night games. I would have thought they were rating well.

I think some of the lesser clubs would have been quite happy to trade off lower ground attendance for TV exposure. Add in shorter half time interval and you have a great TV package

Posted
4 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

strange to stop the Thursday night games. I would have thought they were rating well.

I think some of the lesser clubs would have been quite happy to trade off lower ground attendance for TV exposure. Add in shorter half time interval and you have a great TV package

i presume it's outside the official fta ratings period so less incentive to have a high-cost product on air

Posted
1 minute ago, whatwhat say what said:

i presume it's outside the official fta ratings period so less incentive to have a high-cost product on air

ah the old ratings system... based on the 60's demographic

somethings do need changing................ no wonder streaming services are taking over

Posted
26 minutes ago, Billy said:

I don't know about you, but I don't want to play Sunday in Tassie and then have to back it up the following week against a top 4 side on a 5 day break.

And Norf are not getting a better timeslot than 1pm on Sunday.

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, Diamond_Jim said:

those Sunday night flights back from Hobart aren't cheap ($250 approx)

Only $80 on the way down

Hi DJ. I booked them when the return flight was free (we were originally on a very late flight back on Sunday) but within a week Jetstar had cancelled the flight and placed us on the 4pm return. I was holding out in the hope that the game would be on the Saturday afternoon. Hoping they will change it FOC as it was them that changed it in the first place. 

Edited by Rab D Nesbitt
Posted
2 hours ago, Rab D Nesbitt said:

Bugg@r. Will need to change my flight time back from Hobart. 

I get your frustration. How hard is it now to book interstate trips without knowing the timeslot in advance of more than 4 weeks.

I wonder if this will be a permanent feature of the AFL going forward (floating fixtures) or if it's just a COVID thing?

Posted
1 hour ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Very disappointing that they've paused Thursday night footy.

They've had Thursday night games since round 1 2020 so it feels like it's been a way of our footy watching lives and the weekend feels like it comes earlier with a Thu game.

I guess the 5 day breaks are a major hurdle here.

Posted
4 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

I get your frustration. How hard is it now to book interstate trips without knowing the timeslot in advance of more than 4 weeks.

I wonder if this will be a permanent feature of the AFL going forward (floating fixtures) or if it's just a COVID thing?

i would expect it to be permanent tbh

Posted (edited)
10 minutes ago, Bring-Back-Powell said:

They're probably just being careful as the dreaded hotel quarantine restarted today and it is inevitable that the Vic labor government will screw it up again.

Cue Deflection Dieter to tell me  how the other mob would have done it worse lol

Edited by Pickett2Jackson
Posted

Damn. Not a fan of two of the games of the round going head to head on Sat Nights. At this stage I'd go Syd v Geel and hope they've got them done by 50 so I can flick over to Bris v Port 

Posted

I cant understand why Thursday night is not a regular feature just like Friday and Sat nights.