Posted
41 minutes ago, ben russell said:

30 years old at the start of next season. Reckon you’d want to be taking a fairly special player at 30 years of age, which he is not.

Fair call. For some reason I thought he was 27. At 30 yeah he doesn’t offer as much and can see why he was delisted then.

Posted
1 hour ago, Lord Travis said:

Shane Savage just delisted. I’d take him ahead of a few on our list. Wouldn’t have bothered to sign up some of the depth players we kept on. Ah well!

No. No and No.  Destination VFL or SANFL or Mornington Peninsula league. 

Posted
4 hours ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Here i am thinking we would be ruthless with our list changes at the end of the year.

Guess I was wrong.

i'll take it to my grave, but next year is the big one. i can easily see 13 outs and a big FA/trade target or two. but i smell something brewing. 

Posted

robbie fox is by far the most stiff delisting of them all, shame we made the call on smith so early on as i believe fox is afl standard for sure. he'll be picked up somewhere easily

Posted

Zac Foot has the skills too. Melbourne boy, still only 19. Outside mid.

Posted
38 minutes ago, daisycutter said:

ffs, are we going to keep up this mfcss petracca hysteria running for another 2 years?

Year 12 over.

Posted
2 hours ago, Turner said:

robbie fox is by far the most stiff delisting of them all, shame we made the call on smith so early on as i believe fox is afl standard for sure. he'll be picked up somewhere easily

I remember randomly watching a Sydney game and he looked good - think it was probably in his first 5 games too

Posted
19 hours ago, Turner said:

i'll take it to my grave, but next year is the big one. i can easily see 13 outs and a big FA/trade target or two. but i smell something brewing. 

They must see something in Chandler. I thought he would be first to be delisted. 

I would hate to think what our salary cap is like now that we've added Brown, but couldn't offload McDonald. 

Posted
8 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

They must see something in Chandler. I thought he would be first to be delisted. 

I would hate to think what our salary cap is like now that we've added Brown, but couldn't offload McDonald. 

I agree DD36.  I didn’t see it in Chandler in the VFL in 2019 and was surprised to see him get a game late in 2019. Though that season was a shocker and the club was trying to give games to blood some youngsters.  Having Pickett, Bedford and Spargo is probably enough small small forwards.  I can’t see Chandler as a back pocket either. I guess with no 2020 season, the club wanted to be generous and let these blokes go around again to see what they may offer. 

Posted
11 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

I agree DD36.  I didn’t see it in Chandler in the VFL in 2019 and was surprised to see him get a game late in 2019. Though that season was a shocker and the club was trying to give games to blood some youngsters.  Having Pickett, Bedford and Spargo is probably enough small small forwards.  I can’t see Chandler as a back pocket either. I guess with no 2020 season, the club wanted to be generous and let these blokes go around again to see what they may offer. 

That was my initial thought straight away.

Posted
26 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

$Preuss + Hannan out probably equals $Brown in. 

Because we couldn't trade TMac we couldn't chase other similarly priced players.

Posted
1 hour ago, dazzledavey36 said:

50 minutes ago, spirit of norm smith said:

I think Chandler can play, I’m glad we kept him.

He’s a good package of athleticism, has a decent aerial game that covers his lack of height but more than anything he has skills - can kick on both sides - and natural footy smarts.

I’m not sold on the half back move but I’d like to see him play a mix of forward and on ball at Casey. 

Posted
18 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

He’s a good package of athleticism, has a decent aerial game that covers his lack of height but more than anything he has skills - can kick on both sides - and natural footy smarts.

I’m not sold on the half back move but I’d like to see him play a mix of forward and on ball at Casey. 

I’m happy the post was not spiteful or full of put downs about another opinion. That’s what this site is about. You have a view. I have a view. It’s all about supporting the mighty Dees. 

Posted
3 hours ago, DeeSpencer said:

i guess theres no point him playing those roles at casey unless theres a spot for him there in the 22 everyone can see we're light on or have been for smaller defensive types with hore/kk/neitschke injured jetta slowing down and harmes being trialled and rivers walking straight in so they like his skills and competitveness the best chance he has at cracking it is in this role so give him the best chance at succeeding at it and getting experience playing one set role in the magoos

Posted

Mat Walker from the Hawks is an interesting one. 188cm forward, kicked 23 goals from 15 games in his first year including 5 and 4.

Overlooked by the Giants as an academy player and now cut quickly by the Hawks but he can find the goals. Might not have the tank or speed to be a good pressure and defensive player but skilled goal kickers are hard to find and sometimes make nice half backs as well.  

From up your way, any insight @dazzledavey36

Posted
1 hour ago, DeeSpencer said:

Mat Walker from the Hawks is an interesting one. 188cm forward, kicked 23 goals from 15 games in his first year including 5 and 4.

Overlooked by the Giants as an academy player and now cut quickly by the Hawks but he can find the goals. Might not have the tank or speed to be a good pressure and defensive player but skilled goal kickers are hard to find and sometimes make nice half backs as well.  

From up your way, any insight @dazzledavey36

He is mate, know 'Tex' very well from a personal point of view. Not only did I date his sister back in the day, but we then played senior footy together when he was only 15 years old for a year and a half. My younger brother also came through the junior ranks as well so we know Matt and his family well.

Unfortunately he's fallen victim to the no VFL this year and having soft tissue injuries as well. Had no consistency this year at all and even throughout pre season who was battling injuries.

One of the biggest weaknesses that Tex had to work on was his endurance and consistency throughout games. Would too often drift in and out of games and not really a big ball winner. In saying that, he has huge talent for sure, but just hasn't been able to put it together. I would like to see him have a crack at VFL level, but knowing the country relaxed personality that he has, I wouldn't be surprised if he is back playing in the Hume League next year with us.

Posted
26 minutes ago, dazzledavey36 said:

Unfortunately he's fallen victim to the no VFL this year and having soft tissue injuries as well. Had no consistency this year at all and even throughout pre season who was battling injuries.

One of the biggest weaknesses that Tex had to work on was his endurance and consistency throughout games. Would too often drift in and out of games and not really a big ball winner. In saying that, he has huge

Just seems odd that Hawthorn would give up on him when it was clear this year was going to be a challenge for many young players. Unless they think the lack of endurance, work ethic or injuries just aren’t fixable.

Let’s get him in for a summer with Burgo and see if he can earn a list spot.

Posted
19 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

I don't see the Chandler retention as being generous, more that he is exactly the type of player we would be looking to draft and we clearly think he has the potential to play a role at AFL level. 

We struggle for genuine small forwards and defenders with speed. He missed a lot of preseason with a broken arm (otherwise may well have played round 1 as a small forward) then he was switched to defence and apparently had good form in the practice games too.

I've liked him as a player each time I've seen him because, even though he is is agile without being lightning quick, he still plays the game with intensity and speed. 

Posted

Chandler laid 9 tackles in his one AFL outing as a small forward - that's a seasons worth for Melksham and Fritsch combined.

Posted
16 hours ago, Turner said:

i guess theres no point him playing those roles at casey unless theres a spot for him there in the 22 everyone can see we're light on or have been for smaller defensive types with hore/kk/neitschke injured jetta slowing down and harmes being trialled and rivers walking straight in so they like his skills and competitveness the best chance he has at cracking it is in this role so give him the best chance at succeeding at it and getting experience playing one set role in the magoos

Once agsin a D/L "expert" has missed naming our premiere small defender Jay Lockhart. Or are they in unison with Goody  who forgot about him fir the last 5/6 rounds this year.

Ignore Jay at your peril should be our BP fir the next 6:8 years during our run to and consistent appearances hopefully in the Finals.

Posted (edited)
27 minutes ago, Pollyanna said:

Chandler laid 9 tackles in his one AFL outing as a small forward - that's a seasons worth for Melksham and Fritsch combined.

9 tackles would have had him ahead of the following players in 2020: Bennell, Brown, Weideman, Hunt, O McDonald, Jackson and Jetta. They, as a group, averaged nearly 7 games each.

And 6 of those were inside 50. As a comparison, that would have had him as the 10th best for us this year. Pickett had the most for us this year with 15 at an average of 1.07 per game. As a team we averaged 8.5 tackles inside 50 per game this year (circumstances notwithstanding). The most we had from any player in a game this year was 4 .... Oliver (Richmond), Petracca (Adelaide), McDonald (North).

Edited by Axis of Bob
Posted
6 minutes ago, 58er said:

Once agsin a D/L "expert" has missed naming our premiere small defender Jay Lockhart. Or are they in unison with Goody  who forgot about him fir the last 5/6 rounds this year.

Ignore Jay at your peril should be our BP fir the next 6:8 years during our run to and consistent appearances hopefully in the Finals.

appreciate the expert call. i also didn't ignore lockhart. i stated that we had a lot of unavailable players in that role so it made sense to convert him there. none of which has jack all to do with lockhart because he was available

Posted
2 hours ago, DeeSpencer said:

Just seems odd that Hawthorn would give up on him when it was clear this year was going to be a challenge for many young players. Unless they think the lack of endurance, work ethic or injuries just aren’t fixable.

Let’s get him in for a summer with Burgo and see if he can earn a list spot.

Yeah I honestly thought he would have been given another year. His family would be disappointed. He usually joins in for pre season training at our local club around December so I'll catch up with him then.

Posted
48 minutes ago, Axis of Bob said:

9 tackles would have had him ahead of the following players in 2020: Bennell, Brown, Weideman, Hunt, O McDonald, Jackson and Jetta. They, as a group, averaged nearly 7 games each.

And 6 of those were inside 50. As a comparison, that would have had him as the 10th best for us this year. Pickett had the most for us this year with 15 at an average of 1.07 per game. As a team we averaged 8.5 tackles inside 50 per game this year (circumstances notwithstanding). The most we had from any player in a game this year was 4 .... Oliver (Richmond), Petracca (Adelaide), McDonald (North).

Were those 9 tackles an outlier or is he typically a tackling machine? If typical then he has to get a run in the side sooner rather than later. Forward half pressure is something we’re sorely lacking.

Posted

eggmolese-smith definitely worth a year. he looked a real player if u give him a chance in the team imo