essendon-richmond-to-play-dreamtime-in-darwin-in-round-13

"The remainder of round 13 is likely to be announced next week with the chance more games could be played in the Northern Territory on that weekend". 

Our season is done so travel/short breaks etc don't matter anymore so it would be good for the club's financials if we play in Alice. 

10 minutes ago, Lucifer's Hero said:

Our season is done so travel/short breaks etc don't matter anymore so it would be good for the club's financials if we play in Alice.

Yep... we are the go anywhere team if you'll pay us.. Perhaps we can get a slice of the Cairns money as well

Unfortunately it's been that way for a very long time

SURELY DEES V DOCKERS IN ALICE SPRINGS.  UNDER THE SHADE OF THE ULURU SUNSET.  GAME TIME 2/30 

PERT.  Earn your $$ and get into Gil the magnificents mind. 

Edited by spirit of norm smith
C

As to the above posts. Just in case anyone missed it - the NT gov declared COVID hot-spot status for greater Brisbane yesterday and I doubt it will take much to add the Gold Coast. It's going to make fixturing games in Alice and Darwin somewhat tricky now. 

On 7/30/2020 at 3:37 PM, Jaded said:

They should!

To be honest my 34 year old friend is currently on a ventilator fighting for life, not because he was partying, refusing to wear a mask or social distance, but because he is a doctor who helps dozens of sick people every day, some of which have done the wrong thing. So you'll excuse me if my tolerance for people and their [censored] is at an all time low right now.

Name, shame, blame, throw in jail, do whatever it takes to stop people from being the selfish disgusting wastes of oxygen that they appear to be. I've never been more embarrassed to be a human being.

Sorry to hear about ur mate jaded. 

Hope he pulls through. 

1 hour ago, DemonOX said:

Sorry to hear about ur mate jaded. 

Hope he pulls through. 

He’s stable and doing a lot better. Thank you. 

On 7/31/2020 at 4:20 PM, Cards13 said:

The AFL: Thanks Dees for your efforts in NT to date, we’ll take it from here...

I know the AFL have had a really difficult year and fixturing is almost a week to week proposition, but this is really disappointing for NT Dees fans if true. The Dees have had very few actual ‘home’ games this year, playing just one at the MCG I believe. It would have been great to have a block of games in the Territory, but other clubs seem to have been given preference. Given all the effort and energy the Dees put in up here, I feel we should have been first in line to play the NT game. Hopefully this proves possible at some stage. 

And now SA has a few cases... football crowds under review

Was watching the Storm game yesterday played at a small stadium on the Sunshine Coast. The grass terraces were packed with people basking in the winter sunshine. Looked very pleasant.

Article in the papers today about perhaps too many.

https://www.theage.com.au/national/queensland/crowd-size-and-social-distancing-under-review-after-sunshine-coast-nrl-game-20200803-p55hvy.html

And it seems that NT may not be ideal 

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-08-03/coronavirus-fears-prompts-fresh-calls-to-close-uluru-to-tourists/12517726

The Mutitjulu Community Aboriginal Corporation (MCAC) is so worried about the potential spread of coronavirus through inter-state visitors that members of the group have started to blockade an entrance to the Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park today.

Edited by Diamond_Jim

F ARK IN ELL 

ROOS V DEES IN TASSIE 

- rescheduled to Dees v Roos in Adelaide 

ROOS V LIONS IN TASSIE

- rescheduled to Roos v Lions at Metricon. 

Dees get screwed every time. 

Lions are absolutely favoured with AFL trying to gift them a flag !!! FFS 

I just posted this in the Gameday thread: tonight's game will be our 9th, and our 7th different venue. By comparison, Adelaide will have played 10 games after tonight and only at 3 different venues.

I wouldn't mind seeing us get some stability in our fixturing in the remaining games to come: some repeat games at the same venue (presumably Metricon or the Gabba) would be nice.

12 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

F ARK IN ELL 

ROOS V DEES IN TASSIE 

- rescheduled to Dees v Roos in Adelaide 

Dees get screwed every time. 

How did we get screwed?  We play back to back games at Adelaide Oval now instead of more travelling.  Kangaroos play the Tassie ground very well and now its at a neutral venue.

Great result (as long as we take advantage)

Edited by Pickett2Jackson

59 minutes ago, Pickett2Jackson said:

How did we get screwed?  We play back to back games at Adelaide Oval now instead of more travelling.  Kangaroos play the Tassie ground very well and now its at a neutral venue.

Great result (as long as we take advantage)

Yes it’s just that we could have come back to Qld and played North. Why not?  Gabba and Metricon both available.  Would prevent us doing complete pack up for a 5-day trip to Adelaide for 2 games.  We will have played in all 5 states by end Round 11.  No other club has had that travel agenda. 

Lions stay in QLD again.  Perhaps they should have travelled to Adelaide but no, AFL darlings stay in QLD. 

• Author
2 hours ago, spirit of norm smith said:

Yes it’s just that we could have come back to Qld and played North. Why not?  Gabba and Metricon both available.  Would prevent us doing complete pack up for a 5-day trip to Adelaide for 2 games.  We will have played in all 5 states by end Round 11.  No other club has had that travel agenda. 

Lions stay in QLD again.  Perhaps they should have travelled to Adelaide but no, AFL darlings stay in QLD. 

Be grateful they didn't make us play in Geelong too. :P

1 hour ago, Cards13 said:

The AFL really is in a race against time. Maybe they need a footy island type approach.

Any island in mind.

Perhaps scrap the footy and have them all in an island based reality TV show.

21 minutes ago, Diamond_Jim said:

Any island in mind.

Perhaps scrap the footy and have them all in an island based reality TV show.

Lol my wife loves that rubbish, very intelligent woman who spends hours watching rubbish in paradise etc. 

5 hours ago, titan_uranus said:

I just posted this in the Gameday thread: tonight's game will be our 9th, and our 7th different venue. By comparison, Adelaide will have played 10 games after tonight and only at 3 different venues.

I wouldn't mind seeing us get some stability in our fixturing in the remaining games to come: some repeat games at the same venue (presumably Metricon or the Gabba) would be nice.

Agree with you on stability.

It's a pity we had to leave the NSW hub, and a pity we couldn't host Brisbane and Port at Giants Stadium despite them being our home games.

We've played out best footy of the year at Giants Stadium and Goodwin appeared genuinely disappointed at having been forced to leave Manly in his post match presser Vs Hawthorn.

I had a gut feel that having to establish a second hub in the space of only a couple weeks may have taken its toll on us and we played accordingly against Port.

Be interesting to see how Geelong go  tonight and Monday as they re-establish at their next hub. Collingwood had an overall poor WA trip after their first (Sydney) hub.

AFL to move to fixturing one week at a time.

Guess who will come out badly as a result 

The league will only release details of the remaining fixture in weekly instalments and not in a block of rounds due to changing state border restrictions and COVID-19 quarantine rules.

https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl/afl-in-a-fix-taking-it-one-week-at-a-time-20200804-p55ijd.html

4 minutes ago, Demonland said:

The Dees will take on the Bulldogs in Round 13 on Saturday 22nd August @ 1:45pm @ Metricon Stadium.

7 Day break from the Round 12 Collingwood game.

Bulldogs will come off a six day break V our seven so a slight advantage to us. 

• Author

Friday, August 21

Gold Coast v Carlton, TIO Stadium, 7.20pm ACST

Saturday, August 22

Western Bulldogs v Melbourne, Metricon Stadium, 1.45pm AEST

Port Adelaide v Hawthorn, Adelaide Oval (FOX) 4.05pm ACST

Essendon v Richmond, TIO Stadium, 7.10pm ACST

Fremantle v Sydney, Optus Stadium, 6.10pm AWST

Sunday, August 23

Adelaide v Geelong, Adelaide Oval, 12.35pm ACST

Brisbane v St Kilda, Gabba, 3.35pm AEST

West Coast v Greater Western Sydney, Optus Stadium, 4.10pm AWST