Spargo - continued schoolboy performance 

Kennedy-Harris - nothing of note

Frost - passion and concentration 

Preuss - very little involvement 

Wagner - tried but limited

Hore - careless and loose

Posted

Petracca : 25 Possessions, 7 Tacxkles 10 Contested possessions   isolated involvement ????  ( Handballs far enough to clear an area.)

Brayshaw 25 disposal @ 76% , 8 Tackles  Without purpose ?????

Wagner puts in ,possibly a good potential small fwd ( he is really only a 1st year player

Posted
11 minutes ago, joeboy said:

Viney - showed leadership today

Hey mate, always enjoy this thread, found this one a little curious. In what particular way do you mean? I saw 3 players today giving meaningful instruction, granted I was watching on TV, and Viney wasn't one of them. Is this just the old 'he bleeds red and blue' and/or 'leads by example' type of leadership that we seem to always use to let our captains off the hook with?

Posted
10 minutes ago, dimmy said:

Petracca : 25 Possessions, 7 Tacxkles 10 Contested possessions   isolated involvement ????  ( Handballs far enough to clear an area.)

Brayshaw 25 disposal @ 76% , 8 Tackles  Without purpose ?????

Wagner puts in ,possibly a good potential small fwd ( he is really only a 1st year player

I thought brayshaw and pettraca showed alot today. Something to build upon during the preseason. Would have to say Jones is done like a cooked dinner. Someone has to tell him its over.

Posted (edited)
17 minutes ago, Lord Nev said:

Hey mate, always enjoy this thread, found this one a little curious. In what particular way do you mean? I saw 3 players today giving meaningful instruction, granted I was watching on TV, and Viney wasn't one of them. Is this just the old 'he bleeds red and blue' and/or 'leads by example' type of leadership that we seem to always use to let our captains off the hook with?

Smashed their best on baller. Go back and watch it again. Played like a Captain. Led from the front.

Edited by Redleg
Posted
1 minute ago, Redleg said:

Smashed their best on baller. Go back and watch it again. Played like a Captain. Led from the front.

Not saying he didn't do a good job tagging, just wondering about the actual leadership. Not everyone who tags well is a leader, otherwise Simon Godfrey would have been captain.

Posted (edited)
8 minutes ago, Lord Nev said:

Not saying he didn't do a good job tagging, just wondering about the actual leadership. Not everyone who tags well is a leader, otherwise Simon Godfrey would have been captain.

He is no Luke Hodge I will give you that, but not many are.

Lets look at our potential Captains then, Lever, turns it over continually, Max probably the only real alternative, but would only increase the huge load he already has, carrying 21 other players,Tom Mac, possibly a vice captain, but hard to be leader at FF or when you are in the stands, next possible, I have no idea.

Edited by Redleg

Posted
Just now, Redleg said:

Lets look at our potential Captains then, Lever, turns it over continually, Max probably the only real alternative, but would only increase the huge load he already has, carrying 21 other players,Tom Mac, possibly a vice captain, but hard to be leader at FF or when you are in the stands, next possible, I have no idea.

Yeah for sure, and that's a glaring problem for us IMO.

I think as far as 'directional' leaders go we have Lever, May, Lewis and Melksham. Two of them aren't reliable yet from an injury perspective, one has just retired and the last one (Melksham) I think is a bit too keen on a spray to be captain. All of them I would consider for the leadership group next year though (aside from Lewis obviously). Gawn as captain, and then those 3 plus Viney would be a good group for us in 2020 (as good as we can get anyway). I'm not sure where TMac sits as far as that stuff goes since being removed from the group, so hard to tell.

An inexperienced coaching group with 'example' type leaders, directional leaders always injured, and no runners (due to the rule change) was always going to be trouble for us.

Posted (edited)
33 minutes ago, Good Lord George said:

Maxy... 

images (7).jpeg

And to think there's some people on this forum calling for him to traded.

This level of stupidity is hard to comprehend. 

Edited by Smokey
Posted

Preuss   Freed Gawn to be an attacking weapon. Without that we would not have been close

Viney     Best when given a tagging, competitive role. No leadership though

ANB   Not AFL standard

Spargo   Not AFL standard

Stretch   Not AFL standard

Wagner  One more year

JKH       Not quite there.

Max     Our champion

Fritta   Super talent

Frost  love the desire

Lever   I don't know

Hore   good first year.

Hunt   pretty good year

Brayshaw  At the crossroads

Oliver   needs strong coaching

Petracca  lose some weight

Salem Trade with currency

Hibberd  On the decline

Melksham Should be a leader

Posted
8 minutes ago, Redleg said:

Give Lever time, he has had a horrible run at it over the lat 18 months.

Lever is our number 1 option for captain by a mile. For f***s sake MFC - please do not over burden Maxy with captaincy. Just let him play and do what he does best. 

Posted

Saw Lever direct Wagner to pick JKH up after a ripping tackle. Haven't seen Viney or Jones do that for a while, if ever

Posted

I saw Viney passage of play today and it stood out. Not used to seeing it.

Posted
10 minutes ago, At the break of Gawn said:

@joeboy Can we also please get a 3 word player analysis for their season? ?

Sure, can i do it?

A wasted season.

Posted

Melbourne lost by one goal today. Add Tmac, Weids, AVB, May, I reckon KK will be be a good player, possibly Ed Langdon, who knows maybe jag Tom Cutler or ?? and no. 2 draft pick (surely not a priority to GC) , maybe sparrow becomes a good AFL player. Fritch showed today that he could be very good next year in a stronger forward line. New coaching and conditioning team. No salary cap pressure (?). I am looking forward to next season. 

Posted
50 minutes ago, Redleg said:

In that case 'great taggers game' is it for me

A captains job is far more than that

Posted
24 minutes ago, Good Lord George said:

Saw Lever direct Wagner to pick JKH up after a ripping tackle. Haven't seen Viney or Jones do that for a while, if ever

Viney, Jones & Harmes 17 turnovers between them......ouch!

Posted
30 minutes ago, Laughing Goat said:

Viney, Jones & Harmes 17 turnovers between them......ouch!

I thought Harmes had a shocker today. Took on tacklers and didn't use the ball well at all.

Viney had a good game, but a good game tagging doesn't make him a good captain. 

Gawn skipper, Lever VC for mine

Posted
9 hours ago, Redleg said:

Can we also please get a 3 word player analysis for their season? ?

Here is a thought... why not a THREE WORD PLAYER HOMEWORK for the off season?

E.g., Lever... learn to kick.

Posted
5 hours ago, Fanatique Demon said:

Here is a thought... why not a THREE WORD PLAYER HOMEWORK for the off season?

E.g., Lever... learn to kick.

Not sure how you did that because that wasn’t my post, I posted an answer, but no biggy.

Posted
16 hours ago, Lord Nev said:

Like Melksham instructing ANB to ‘kick it to me’ during that last shot.

Melksham strikes me as selfish infield; and his instant defence is deplorable.  Takes a mark on the lead only, OK crumber, not super quick, poor defensively.  Us supporters, the club and the footy world judged many players on their strengths and ignore several weaknesses.  With Frost it was the opposite.