Posted
1 minute ago, Rusty Nails said:

The whole forward set up and method of entry is shizen houzen Ox.  That puts pressure on the goal kickers when we get very few chances with set shots and mostly under the pump missing targets and/or getting nowhere near them etc.  Geelong on the other hand set up pretty well and mostly kick to the advantage of their forwards coming i50.

Very true rusty. 

Posted

Thanks to the two blokes who were far more pist than I was standing on the steps of M12. High fives, beer spilling, copious amounts of swearing was not enough will Maxys kick thru the big sticks.

Was a great laugh though.

Anyway...

Fuggit. 

Posted
22 minutes ago, Danelska said:

Thats the way it falls sometimes - if we won by 3 points the same issues are there to work on - FWIW I am happy that it wasn't a blow out, and presumably % at the end of the year will be meaningful.

The 4 points will probably be more meaningful

Posted (edited)
12 minutes ago, Chris said:

Harmes just seemed to appear in the second half, was huge in the third. 

A gifted player that needs a spray from the coach along with a few others. 

Consistently flying for for marks that he shouldn't have been. 

Needs to settle on the Hollywood stuff. 

A couple of weak efforts from a couple of players. 

Coach needs to take responsibility for that loss. 

Edited by Guest
Posted
21 minutes ago, TeamPlayedFine39 said:

Well... at least the cricket’s on.

You sure about that!!

Posted
Just now, defuture15 said:

No forward pressure

Letting them chip the ball to loose players

Issue hasnt been resolved since goowin took over. He is so focused on contested ball, he cant see the gaping holes it leaves ahead of the ball.

Posted
20 minutes ago, Mickey said:

How many lessons do we need? We've had valuable lessons for the last 2-3 years

53 years of valuable lessons. 

• Sad 2
Posted

Gawns miss cost us the win. However lack of defensive run and the inability for our high half forwards to impact  was what cost us in the second and really the game. Gutted but most interested to see how we respond both at selection and in set up next week. 

Posted
22 minutes ago, brendan said:

That will be a valuable lesson I’m thinking, should never have lost that 

supposed to have learned that in Rnd 23 last year!

Posted

Cats deserved the win today.  1-2 men down for a half.  Good signs for us inside with Oliver and Trac. 

We persisted with the +1 for 3 minutes too long.

Lewis's leadership was on show with the 50m.

Pedo, apart from the mark was average.  Melksham needs to look at himself in the mirror.

Why did kick to Garlett most times in the air?

Gee wiz, we sold the farm for Lever.  He will be a good mobile tall in defence who had a rusty game 1, but we blinked badly last October/November..  Could have got him for a song, but caved in and gave them the farm.

Gawn had a tough kick.  Fully fatigued.  Can't blame him.

Posted (edited)

Jeez a lot of wrist slashing for a 3pt round 1 loss. Long way to go in the year! Lots to take out if it, learn from and apply for the rest of the season. 

Having said that still F&@$ed!!

Edited by timmy
Posted

if you want a scapegoat, Jordan Lewis is mine. Bought in for his experience, makes a mental decison to gob off at the ump and give up a goal. I can excuse skill errors, but that really pisses me off. 

Posted
22 minutes ago, Rod Grinter Riot Squad said:

Jordan Lewis, grow up!

that 50m penalty he gave away in the 2nd killed us. he mouthed off to the umpire about the decision he knows better

Posted
6 minutes ago, Chris said:

What f ing scapegoat am I looking for you [censored]. 

Actually I am done with you, you have proven yourself to be a disrespectful, poorly educated idiot and there is a saying about arguing with idiots. 

He is the lead clown around here mate, Ignore is an amazing thing ??

Posted
5 minutes ago, Copuchas said:

He is an out and out troll, has form, but still the moderators refuse to act....

I think you need to go back and read the initial post. All went missing (shots on goal).

Posted
25 minutes ago, chook fowler said:

Jetta had a mare. Looks very slow. Thought Wagner justified his place. 

Hope they are angry as hell next week.

Very poor today chook.  Wags did ok.

Posted
6 minutes ago, Chris said:

What f ing scapegoat am I looking for you [censored]. 

Actually I am done with you, you have proven yourself to be a disrespectful, poorly educated idiot and there is a saying about arguing with idiots. 

lol take your meds Chris. I have looked after more disabled people than you and Hardtack combined during my nursing career. You are lashing out after a loss like other "tards do.

Get over yourself nuffer.

Posted

Well done to Petracca and Gawn on talking an incredibly big game all pre-season, going down media street and pumping themselves up and failing when it counts.

Well done to all the players that talked up how the hurt would spur them on this season, and then they fold when Geelong are without Danger, Henderson, have three debutants and lose Harry Taylor 5 minutes in. That was a game a decent side wins well.

Some serious question marks about Goodwin after today. Maynard and Harmes in the same midfield is reminiscent of the Magner and Couch days. Absolute butchers of the footy. What was the gameplan today? Don't look, just kick it high. Pathetic.

A terrible, terrible loss.

Posted

Heard from a player sponsor that player s wont be picked on reputation. They’ll be picked on form and fitness. (Hence Tyson being left out) Which I liked hearing. 

However it can’t be true if Lewis played. No form or fitness leading into it. And couldn’t even run near the end of the match.

That 50 he gave away is unforgivable. As costly as Gawn’s miss. Should be dropped for next week and from the leadership group. 

Posted

I flew down for the game, am absolutely gutted, Gawn needs to fly with two hands, Maynard and Wagner are not AFL level footballers, there was none of our pressure today, Geelong just did what they wanted from kick outs today.  You better turn up next week MFC the Lions are no easy beats.

Posted

As others have said, little change to some of the major issues from 2017:

- Single quarter drop-off effectively cost us the game (q2) and Goodwin unable to see this and arrest the problem. Difficult to stomach winning significant periods of the game but losing it ultimately due to allowing a team to run all over us for a quarter with next to no defensive pressure. 

- No system of forward entry. Bomb and hope. Jones' bomb to a 2 on 1 was a classic example. In fact, Goodwin seems to have doubled down on this as evidenced by his 'bring back the torp' campaign.  Geelong the opposite in that regard and reaped the benefits of their hard work

- Poor field kicking in general, which does not seem to be a priority

- Another game lost at the selection table, as called by many before the game had started. If a significant portion of the supporter base can see that the Wagner selection was costly, why can't the coaching staff?  I don't care that we are not part of the inner sanctum and don't know what they value - at the end of the day, you need to be effective with the ball and in contests, and today we were killed by Wagner and Maynard unfortunately and had superior options available

Defensive set up was also costly. Played into their hands and had Lever stuck on direct opponents he was losing to in one outs far away from other contests

Some serious issues to work on which unfortunately should have been sorted out over the offseason. Not great signs. 

Posted
1 minute ago, BrisbaneDemon said:

He is the lead clown around here mate, Ignore is an amazing thing ??

Another crying after a predictable loss.

Low footy IQ. (And probably low general IQ as well)

We will still make the finals, but i find the thrashing around for people to hate is quite amusing after a loss. This time it isnt me who is lookig for a target. lol.

Posted
3 minutes ago, ding said:

lol take your meds Chris. I have looked after more disabled people than you and Hardtack combined during my nursing career. You are lashing out after a loss like other "tards do.

Get over yourself nuffer.

Me too ding but it is an insulting term.

We dont have to like everyone

Posted
28 minutes ago, Forest Demon said:

We rarely lowered our eyes and went inside 50 meaningfully. Compared to Geelong who had less opportunities, but looked likely every time.

Seems basic but i have to agree we mostly blazed away.  Composure lacking once they hit the mid field with that next kick (when they get in the clear).  Only a handful of occasions where i saw lowering of eyes and hitting up (or trying to) a target.

Posted
Just now, defuture15 said:

Me too ding but it is an insulting term.

We dont have to like everyone

Fair call bloke. Respect.