Casey Demons v Footscray VFL

• Author
The Casey Demons hold a 7 point lead at the final break after Yllber Zijai's brilliant goal from the boundary line - 8.12.60 to 8.5.53

Goals Zijai 2 Fritsch Hulett 1 Kennedy-Harris Morris Weideman White 

Disposals Kennedy-Harris Munro 26 Maynard 22 Trengove Wagner 21

3 minutes ago, Chook said:

Why are they making him play a role that we have a 4-time premiership player playing? I mean, it's almost like they don't WANT Trengove to play AFL any more.

Like many of us, I really believe the club would love him to be able to play AFL again but begrudgingly I now accept he is not in our or any top 4 team best 22. 

if anyone is watching/listening to this game, how's kieran collins going for the dogs? i remember him being a big lump of a lad leading into his draft year and had hoped we might've got him.. there's been all this talk of lever and day, but how's he goin? obviously not great if he's in vfl..

1 minute ago, Rocky said:

if anyone is watching/listening to this game, how's kieran collins going for the dogs? i remember him being a big lump of a lad leading into his draft year and had hoped we might've got him.. there's been all this talk of lever and day, but how's he goin? obviously not great if he's in vfl..

Listening to the radio Rocky, sounds like he is playing a good game, keeping weideman quiet and is spoiling alot of our forward attempts this quarter

Zijai playing a good game, kicks his 3rd

13 point lead, goal to Mitch Cox, just into time on.

Game over?

• Author

Yes, it's all over and the Demons win by the lucky number 13 points. That makes it four wins in a row.

Peter Jackson VFL 2017

Casey Demons 2.3.15 5.8.38 8.12.60 10.15.75

Footscray VFL 3.1.19 4.3.27 8.5.53 9.8.62

Goals 

Casey Demons Zijai 3 Cox Fritsch Hulett Kennedy-Harris Morris Weideman White

Footscray VFL Smith 2 Campbell English Lipinski Mullenger-McHugh Redpath Tweedie Webb

Best 

Casey Demons  White Stretch Collis Maynard Kennedy-Harris Fritsch

Footscray VFL Young Campbell Collins Boyd Jamieson Webb

Statistics 

Liam Hulett 1 goal 4 kicks 2 handballs 6 disposals 1 mark 3 tackles 1 hit out 38 dream team points 
Dion Johnstone 5 kicks 5 handballs 10 disposals 1 mark 3 tackles 41 dream team points 
Declan Keilty 3 kicks 6 handballs 9 disposals 6 tackles 47 dream team points 
Jay Kennedy-Harris 1 goal 1 behind 19 kicks 14 handballs 33 disposals 4 marks 11 tackles 148 dream team points
Dean Kent 21 kicks 6 handballs 27 disposals 3 marks 2 tackles 90 dream team points
Mitch King 1 kicks 5 handballs 6 disposals 1 mark 3 tackles 8 hit outs 36 dream team points
Corey Maynard 2 behinds 7 kicks 16 handballs 23 disposals 4 marks 4 tackles 84 dream team points
Jake Spencer 1 behind 4 kicks 8 handballs 12 disposals 2 tackles 19 hit outs 58 dream team points
Billy Stretch 12 kicks 12 handballs 24 disposals 2 marks 8 tackles 99 dream team points
Jack Trengove 21 kicks 8 handballs 29 disposals 8 marks 7 tackles 131 dream team points
Josh Wagner 16 kicks 12 handballs 28 disposals 7 marks 2 tackles 101 dream team points
Sam Weideman 1 goal 4 kicks 7 handballs 11 disposals 4 marks tackles 3 hit outs 55 dream team points
Mitch White 1 goal 15 kicks 9 handballs 24 disposals 6 marks 1 tackle 88 dream team points

That's a few good games in a row for JKH, if anyone under performs in a role that he can fill they'd better watch out. 

Its sad what's going on with Trenners but he really does seem to be out of luck with getting back into the fold with us. You'd imagine he'll be moved on at years end. 

I hope we see him at least one more time out on the G in Red and Blue. 

1 hour ago, Chook said:

Why are they making him play a role that we have a 4-time premiership player playing? I mean, it's almost like they don't WANT Trengove to play AFL any more.

Vince & Lewis won't be playing forever for us.  They have maybe, 2 seasons left, Max.

Trenners is just 25.  keep him, rookie him, make him Catain of Casey, & an assistant coach.  And maybe, if warranted in future, then relist him, .

Just now, FireInTheBelly said:

I tell you what, if JKH can keep this form up and not get picked I may have to send a little letter to one S. Goodwin.

Why? Who does he push out of the side? 

The last time he was rewarded he did stuff all for 4 games. 

Just now, Wiseblood said:

Apologies WB, was taking the proverbial.....

Just now, FireInTheBelly said:

Apologies WB, was taking the proverbial.....

No worries mate, completely missed it!

3 minutes ago, Wiseblood said:

Last time though he didnt deserve promotion. Didnt he come in off the back of 1 game at Casey, and being injured the few weeks prior?

I wouldn't be against him coming back in for another crack, hes been in great form for three weeks in a row.

He was definitely gifted the games last time round, and IMO was picked for 2 games too many. I was just as angry as the dill that wrote the letter, but to do it is quite pathetic. He wasn't performing and there were clearly others ahead of him, but that's uncalled for.

This current FD have been almost bang on with the list so far (Hannan as the prime example) and they clearly rate him so I'm happy to give him more time. Like WB says though, who does he nudge out? Same with Wags. Those 2 on current form are clearly above VFL but who comes out? Tough for JKH when it looks like he needs midfield minutes, he's way down the list in that area, and ends up getting a gig as a small FWD.

Let's see what happens over the next few 6 day stretches, they'll probably both get a chance at some stage.

2 hours ago, Chook said:

Wow I could have foreseen that! Why on earth was he given another year?? Pointless!

1 hour ago, Pates said:

That's a few good games in a row for JKH, if anyone under performs in a role that he can fill they'd better watch out. 

Its sad what's going on with Trenners but he really does seem to be out of luck with getting back into the fold with us. You'd imagine he'll be moved on at years end. 

I hope we see him at least one more time out on the G in Red and Blue. 

Forget JKH!..... WHITE is the man who is pounding down the door!

2 hours ago, KC from Casey said:
Disposals Kennedy-Harris 33 Munro 32 Trengove 29 Maynard 28 Wagner 27

Like.