View in the app

A better way to browse. Learn more.

A full-screen app on your home screen with push notifications, badges and more.

To install this app on iOS and iPadOS
  1. Tap the Share icon in Safari
  2. Scroll the menu and tap Add to Home Screen.
  3. Tap Add in the top-right corner.
To install this app on Android
  1. Tap the 3-dot menu (⋮) in the top-right corner of the browser.
  2. Tap Add to Home screen or Install app.
  3. Confirm by tapping Install.

MATCH PREVIEW AND TEAM SELECTION - ROUND 6

Wouldn't it be nice to be 5 & 0 heading into Sunday's game, that was a very realistic possibility. But some unnecessary suspensions and injuries to key players we find ourselves at 2 & 3. Today we learnt the sad news that Jesse's father has passed away. Understandably Jesse will be away from the club and miss matches, he should be given as much time as he needs, however long that ends up being. In years gone by this would be an automatic write off of the season, players would simply put it in the too hard basket and the losses would begin to mount up. But I would like to think we've grown as a club, both physically and mentally. Questions about leadership were again raised over the last 3 weeks, and to be fair some of them were warranted. If there's ever been a time for our leaders to stand up and be counted it's now. We are in the midst of one of the most even seasons ever. Someone on SEN this morning made the comment "With the exception of GWS and Adelaide any team can beat anyone else on their day". Our season is far from over, we still have enough talent to win not only this week but the games in coming weeks. The boys must unite and hold the fort until Jesse is ready to come back. Finals must still be our goal, Gawn could be back by round 15-16 giving him enough time to be match fit come finals. Moments like these can not only define this season but shape us mentally for years to come. 

Edited by Bombay Airconditioning

15 minutes ago, Bombay Airconditioning said:

Wouldn't it be nice to be 5 & 0 heading into Sunday's game, that was a very realistic possibility. But some unnecessary suspensions and injuries to key players we find ourselves and 2 & 3. Today we learnt the sad news that Jesse's father has passed away. Understandably Jesse will be away from the club and miss matches, he should be given as much time as he needs, however long that ends up being. In years gone by this would be an automatic write off of the season, players would simply put it in the too hard basket and the losses would begin to mount up. But I would like to think we've grown as a club, both physically and mentally. Questions about leadership were again raised over the last 3 weeks, and to be fair some of them were warranted. If there's ever been a time for our leaders to stand up and be counted it's now. We are in the midst of one of the most even seasons ever. Someone on SEN this morning made the comment "With the exception of GWS and Adelaide any team can beat anyone else on their day". Our season is far from over, we still have enough talent to win not only this week but the games in coming weeks. The boys must unite and hold the fort until Jesse is ready to come back. Finals must still be our goal, Gawn could be back by round 15-16 giving him enough time to be match fit come finals. Moments like these can not only define this season but shape us mentally for years to come. 

Love your enthusiasm BA but sadly half a century of the opposite from the MFC leaves me with here we go again.

I would dearly love for you so say " I told you so on Sunday night"

4 hours ago, McQueen said:

I'm passing thru Melbourne following some business in Newcastle tomorrow and have booked tickets for me and my Dad, who will travel up from the Western District. Having an interstate membership only, I couldn't believe the cost of two tickets - one a pensioner concession and my own general admission totalling $115.00 in some pretty average seats!

Regardless of cost, I'm very pleased to catch a game of footy with the old man and I'm quietly confident that we'll pull this one off against the cheaters.

????

I hope your confidence (an mine) is better placed than it was on Anzac eve Steven.  

Actually, on reflection I reckon our confidence proved to be pretty well placed ........... it just didn't take account of s#!t luck.

We can manufacture goals provided we win the clearances. You can still do this if only able to compete at the ruck. Dont HAVE to win them ( ruck ) just get the ball. As my eldest suggests the danger for the Bombers ( who he follows ) is theyve struggled with their inside game. 

Big day coming up for Clarry and Viney. Jones needs to lower eyes and kick to whoever presents. 

Forwards need to negate their minders by constant presentation. Got to cut interference at contests.

We'll know by qtr time.

I'm glad its at Etihad instead of the G.

Means we can afford to go a bit smaller and faster.

A forward line of:

Harmes  Watts  Garlett

Trac  Pederson JKH

Still looks like it could kick a few. Mids tend to do well kicking goals at Etihad too.

Edited by mongrel

T. Mac going forward would be a serious option now, surely. Didn't he nearly win us the game against this mob a couple of seasons ago when moved there? 

At least he can match it with Hurley for strength since we have no one with considerable size left to go forward. 

If Daniher is going to have a day out it won't matter who's down back for us.

Edited by Demon77

I doubt they sacrifice T-Mac with him being the best option still on Daniher.

I can see them bringing Weiderman back in as the other tall down fwd.

9 minutes ago, Demon77 said:

T. Mac going forward would be a serious option now, surely. Didn't he nearly win us the game against this mob a couple of seasons ago when moved there? 

At least he can match it with Hurley for strength since we have no one with considerable size left to go forward. 

If Daniher is going to have a day out it won't matter who's down back for us.

That might equate to a Jetta, Hibberd, Frost, oMac Vince  Hunt down back ?

Edited by beelzebub

17 minutes ago, Nasher said:

We are now going in to this game with a makeshift forward line as well as the ruck. I'm still optimistic of a win as our midfield still looks strong, but we'll be pushing it uphill to a degree.

We aren't winning this game.   It will be a miracle if we do.

8 minutes ago, mongrel said:

I'm glad its at Etihad instead of the G.

Means we can afford to go a bit smaller and faster.

A forward line of:

Harmes  Watts  Garlett

Trac  Pederson JKH

Still looks like it could kick a few. Mids tend to do well kicking goals at Etihad too.

Yeah but who plays ruck?

Just now, Petraccattack said:

Yeah but who plays ruck?

Pedersen has to surely...aroubd 60% of game.. You'd think ?

7 minutes ago, mongrel said:

I doubt they sacrifice T-Mac with him being the best option still on Daniher.

I can see them bringing Weiderman back in as the other tall down fwd.

It is a big sacrifice, the club said they would get inventive this week so I just wanted to put it out there.

5 minutes ago, Petraccattack said:

Yeah but who plays ruck?

Any one of Frost, Pederson or Watts I guess

1 minute ago, Demon77 said:

It is a big sacrifice, the club said they would get inventive this week so I just wanted to put it out there.

Yeah I actually kind of like the idea of having another mid nominate for throw ins. You basically get another midfielder around the ball who can follow up better then the oppositions ruckman which is essentially why they like Watts in, but the suggestion of lewis isn't half bad. If he can read and position himself better then the ruckman it could work every now and then.

I think they could get very inventive.

3 minutes ago, mongrel said:

Any one of Frost, Pederson or Watts I guess

would be my thinking but with Pedersen taking the most of the workload and Jack and Frosty lending a hand

Pedersen could play front or back whilst "resting"    I mean...he can.

Like I've said for the past couple of weeks -

we should win this one

2 minutes ago, DubDee said:

Like I've said for the past couple of weeks -

we should win this one

Keep saying it DubDee you have to get one up eventually.

We will need absolute midfield domination for 4 quarters to win this game IMO, I am excited to see what tactics goody and the coaches come up with it's these sort of moments you become a good coach 

Just now, brendan said:

We will need absolute midfield domination for 4 quarters to win this game IMO, I am excited to see what tactics goody and the coaches come up with it's these sort of moments you become a good coach 

I would suggest it is occasions like this that we see how good a coach is.

However at the end of the day no one can make a silk purse out of a sows ear.

No doubt the most fascinating selection conundrum in years.

I'll be hanging onto my phone for the text message tonight ( it comes after beer o'clock so I'll be hanging onto a stubby also).

3 minutes ago, Bitter but optimistic said:

No doubt the most fascinating selection conundrum in years.

I'll be hanging onto my phone for the text message tonight ( it comes after beer o'clock so I'll be hanging onto a stubby also).

No Pinot Bbo?