Training - Friday 25th November, 2016

Cheers for the reports lads.

Gee top report from Deeko, Maccas bark is worse than his bite, although he did knock my hat off before training

Hogan again one the standouts along with Watts

Any questons will try to answer

2 hours ago, armstrong35 said:

Was working at the Essendon Football club today, let's just say they were very ordinary. Made work a lot better 

didn't realise you are a compound pharmacist!

2 hours ago, Satyriconhome said:

Did you ask Jeffie for an explanation for his late start to pre-season?

You better get off before it tips .... ?

Meant to quote BB first post in this thread and managed to miss ...

12 minutes ago, Satyriconhome said:

Gee top report from Deeko, Maccas bark is worse than his bite, although he did knock my hat off before training

Hogan again one the standouts along with Watts

Thanks Saty.

He definitely barked a few times at the boys and then gave them a pat afterwards. Was good to see. 

But when he gets that stare going towards you... wowwee. I'm a 32 year old and a solid 6'2" and still got a chill haha.

39 minutes ago, Red and Bluebeard said:

You better get off before it tips .... ?

Meant to quote BB first post in this thread and managed to miss ...

I just watch and point a lot. Concrete's not my bag !! :unsure:

Most of it's been covered today and I just had a quick look.

But the more I see of Mitch King the more I think he'll get there in a few years. Looks much stronger already and big across the shoulders. He tires after a bit but when they are doing kick to kick he starts off moving and kicking nicely for a tall man. He's got to be 202+ by now.

Trenners doesn't have the definition of some other guys but he looks lighter in the glutes. I think he's literally working his butt off so there's hope there.

A large rehab group today and a lot of players going in and out of drills. 

Frost and Hunt haven't fixed their kicking yet so it will be important to get them in space where their speed is still as impressive.

Watts in team drills where he can duck out on a lead and then spin and kick is deadly. If the backline skills pick up and he can start finding space and being hit up he's got another level in him.

Salem seems to have lightened off a little since the first week back, or maybe just got more of a tan, he looks very good. He took a set shot from the pocket that was as sure a kid as you'll ever see.

Hoges nailed one from the right forward pocket which is the side he struggles with. Just has to back himself and his straight routine and he'll get  more confidence on that side.

If he stays fit all preseason and his tank is vastly improved I think Dom Tyson's going to rack up some 40 touch games. We know he gets the ball in tight but he just seems to bob up in creative areas on the outside as well. 

3 hours ago, chook fowler said:

Please explain

very ordinary.. as in looked like Melbourne of old.
missing easy marks, as soon as there was some pressure they would kick the ball to someone not even 5 meters away from them, missing easy targets. Looked like players who were playing for the first time in their life

4 minutes ago, armstrong35 said:

very ordinary.. as in looked like Melbourne of old.
missing easy marks, as soon as there was some pressure they would kick the ball to someone not even 5 meters away from them, missing easy targets. Looked like players who were playing for the first time in their life

Mark them down as a certainty to beat us again then!

Sounds like almost everyone is up and going. Perhaps Oliver the one who can pick it up a bit.

2 hours ago, Demon Jack said:

- Petracca is so clean. He just doesn't make mistakes.

I don't really agree with this. He moves wonderfully. He handballs to space. But his kicking is all hip action and every second kick goes spraying passed the target. When he nails a kick it's a thing of beauty - hard, fast, straight, but it doesn't always go that way for him.

28 minutes ago, DeeSpencer said:

I don't really agree with this. He moves wonderfully. He handballs to space. But his kicking is all hip action and every second kick goes spraying passed the target. When he nails a kick it's a thing of beauty - hard, fast, straight, but it doesn't always go that way for him.

I was thinking the same thing. I think like Kent he rushes his kicks sometimes and kicks when not balanced. he missed some very gettable shots on goal last year. He is likley to spend most of his time forward again next season so has to improve his accuracy. If he does he will be a huge weapon next year. He'll make the package look like an envelope.

At the risk of being accused of hyperbole he reminds me in many ways of Gary Ablett snr. Freakish talent, x factor, a real swagger, imposes himself on the contest, takes a strong grab, is super strong through the legs and bum and is likely to play a similar role, that's to say a goal kicking half forward, who can rotate through the midfield. 

Hogan is the real deal and one of the best young players to come to Melbourne in a long, long time. But Petracca could be just as good i reckon, certainly just as influential. If he stays fit over this pre-season he could have a massive year in 2017 and with him Watts, Hogan and Kent (mot to mention the Weed and Garlett) up and about we will have a seriously potent forward line.

2 hours ago, Vagg said:

Did you ask Jeffie for an explanation for his late start to pre-season?

He actually brought a note from his mother. All good.

Dropped in briefly for the last half hour.

Quick ball movement drill was a thing of beauty - so clean and precise and me thinks decision making was even quicker than last year, although sometimes first glance in a while can be deceptive. Having extra quality/depth with Hibberd and Melksham and McKenna

Since last season Jack Viney is even more muscular - is this possible? He looked a bit like Naim Suleymanoglou as he did his 250m reps around the boundary with Dean Kent.

Both Weideman and Oscar are still in need of more upper body weight training - still scrawny. Both Hunt and Smith look stronger though.

Good to see range of skills drills and the Auskick one-on-one drill was a sensation as revealed earlier. Brayshaw just pipped Jones 2-1, O.Mac downed Weid 2-1. Bernie swept Tyson 2-0 with complete guts and desperation, Frosty managed to get ball to ground and won 2-1 against Hoges, Jack W was too tall for Harmes and won 2-0 and in the match-up of the day Salem was too classy for Petracca winning 2-0 with his one-hander a gem.

Boys looked happy and most looked really fit (about 12 were on light duties) and two Dons seem to have fitted in perfectly.

There was one player apart from Salem who stood out.

When it came to 1km trials, this player was told to rack off from the second group because they obviously knew he was too quick. He nonchalantly went over to the A group which comprised Bugg, ANB, Melky, Harmes, Hunt, Oscar and Jones. He sat at the back for the first lap and then decided to just step it up and whizzed around them all and then took off the gas and won it easily with a bit of a smirk. I suspect you can all guess who it was and everything he did showed he is fair dinkum and clearly our number 1 main man for next season - subject to injury. My guess is that Jesse will play as a mobile forward similar to Nick Riewoldt this year - a bit like the Carlton game this year where he lead up and was the pack-mark outlet all day. Note: I'm not usually a huge Hoges fan, but you could just tell he's primed and it's not even December.

When I asked about Jeff on Monday I got a straight bat, so didn't insult him by asking assume it was personal as club didn't make an issue

When I spoke to him after training same as the rest looking forward to the new season, looks really fit

On Hibberd, he is a really solid build so assume it takes a while to get the engine working properly

He joined in one or two of the drills

The Hibberd reports are a bit disappointing. You'd think he'd at least come in decent shape. 

Once again thanks everyone for the reports, very much appreciated. 

7 minutes ago, Deestroy All said:

The Hibberd reports are a bit disappointing. You'd think he'd at least come in decent shape. 

Have a look at the pic I put on Instagram of Hibberd,  it shows his indecent shape

They are trying to get everybody ready for day 1 training after Xmas break

9 minutes ago, Deestroy All said:

He didn't look that unfit and I thought he ran ok.

Someone said that Milkshake made a comment on the radio seeing he was fat or unfit or something. Thinking it's a bit of banter between the boys rather than fact imo

3 minutes ago, Satyriconhome said:

Have a look at the pic I put on Instagram of Hibberd,  it shows his indecent shape

Got a link or have I missed it?

Jeff looked a little stronger to me this year than last. I hope he's back on the right track. We could draft his long term replacement shortly.

1 hour ago, Satyriconhome said:

Not surprising you got that pic then Saty... :) 

Kidding don't ban me.

3 hours ago, DeeSpencer said:

Most of it's been covered today and I just had a quick look.

".......

Trenners doesn't have the definition of some other guys but he looks lighter in the glutes. I think he's literally working his butt off so there's hope there......

Dee I thought Trenners would have being doing squats all off season to build up his glutes! Isn't that where acceleration comes from? That is what is holding him back, that inability to changeup his speed to evade a tackle, make it to a contest. 

10 minutes ago, Cards13 said:

Not surprising you got that pic then Saty... :) 

Kidding don't ban me.

Saty must have got the exposure just right.

1 minute ago, Earl Hood said:

Dee I thought Trenners would have being doing squats all off season to build up his glutes! Isn't that where acceleration comes from? That is what is holding him back, that inability to changeup his speed to evade a tackle, make it to a contest. 

I'm not expert but I think Trenners best chance is as a Steele Sidebottom type outside runner who just goes all day, endurance is in his family after all. He's got the strength and smarts to get out of trouble in close, if he can just run the wings with enough of a motor to get the ball in space that might be enough.

8 minutes ago, Biffen said:

Saty must have got the exposure just right.

Hibbs obviously got his juuuussstttt rriiigghhtt.