Posted

Demonlanders will yawn that I'm on my old hobby horse again, but there was  an interesting incident yesterday involving Jeff Garlett doing a torp.

The ball ended up at our full forward line, but had to be relayed back to a player with a free outside 50.  Garlett had the ball right on the full back line. He effortlessly torpedoed the ball 65 m back to the waiting Demon.  Yet I'm sure that if Jeff had to have a set shot from 45, he'd pass it off, knowing he couldn't make the distance with a drop punt.

I think players should practise torpedoes,since there are occasions when they'd be the kick of choice.  e.g.  a set shot from 55 after the siren, or running from defence and spotting a forward 60 metres downfield requiring a kick over the back. Dunny occasionally lets one go from full back, and critics complain it often comes straight back. But in a situation when you're, say 3 goals down with three min to go, it's worth a "punt"( a torpedo punt!)

Coaches ban torps ,because they're  so liable to come off the side of the boot and create a turnover. However this unpredictability can be an advantage, creating "chaos" near the goals. Would anyone ever argue that turnovers   never occur with drop punts?

With current players' skill levels, and the large amount of time they have to practise skills, I think torps  should be part of our training programme.

I'm suggesting a "torpedo-inspired  recovery!"

Posted
4 hours ago, 3Dee said:

Doesn't Vince basically torp / thump it out everytime he's in a pack?

That's actually a punt, not a Torp.

A Torp kicked properly is a WEAPON 

Posted

Dunny could reach the centre circle from full back with a torp, as could Paul Wheatley.

But how about the long lost drop kick? Now there's a kick to bring drama back into the game, executed properly it was a weapon, executed wrongly and oh dear!!!

Posted
37 minutes ago, Dee Dee said:

Dunny could reach the centre circle from full back with a torp, as could Paul Wheatley.

But how about the long lost drop kick? Now there's a kick to bring drama back into the game, executed properly it was a weapon, executed wrongly and oh dear!!!

no, the real weapon was the daisycutter (aka the stab kick) :lol:

Posted
7 hours ago, Jumping Jack Clennett said:

Demonlanders will yawn that I'm on my old hobby horse again, but there was  an interesting incident yesterday involving Jeff Garlett doing a torp.

The ball ended up at our full forward line, but had to be relayed back to a player with a free outside 50.  Garlett had the ball right on the full back line. He effortlessly torpedoed the ball 65 m back to the waiting Demon.  Yet I'm sure that if Jeff had to have a set shot from 45, he'd pass it off, knowing he couldn't make the distance with a drop punt.

I think players should practise torpedoes,since there are occasions when they'd be the kick of choice.  e.g.  a set shot from 55 after the siren, or running from defence and spotting a forward 60 metres downfield requiring a kick over the back. Dunny occasionally lets one go from full back, and critics complain it often comes straight back. But in a situation when you're, say 3 goals down with three min to go, it's worth a "punt"( a torpedo punt!)

Coaches ban torps ,because they're  so liable to come off the side of the boot and create a turnover. However this unpredictability can be an advantage, creating "chaos" near the goals. Would anyone ever argue that turnovers   never occur with drop punts?

With current players' skill levels, and the large amount of time they have to practise skills, I think torps  should be part of our training programme.

Love it As a Torp specialist myself when I played I used to love barrelling 60-70 + M goals!! Lurved it!

Posted
1 hour ago, Dee Dee said:

#8 Tassie Johnson used to regularly reach the cricket pitch  (no centre square in his day) kicking in after an opposition behind.  He was the last regular exponent of the art that I can remember, and did it with such beauty.

Posted

Torpedoes are banned by coaches, yet they allow dribble "check side " kicks with players running into open goals.

Players love practising those fiddly skills like curvy dribble kicks from impossible angles. You see AFL players (and kids in parks) spending lots  of time having fun practising those things.

I contend that training and practising in the special skill of spiral punting should be a routine part of AFL  skills drills, which would be thoroughly enjoyed by the players.

I think it could be worth 2 or 3 goals a match if all Melbourne players were the best in the league at torpedoes.

Have a look at "Fork ''em's" You tube post above. See how inspiring those torps were !

Posted
17 hours ago, Dee Dee said:

Dunn kicked a torp in the St Kilda game that didn't come off and the coaching box went nuts.He hasn't played since. Don't expect that anyone else is going to take up the challenge.

Posted
16 hours ago, monoccular said:

#8 Tassie Johnson used to regularly reach the cricket pitch  (no centre square in his day) kicking in after an opposition behind.  He was the last regular exponent of the art that I can remember, and did it with such beauty.

Mono there was a more recent exponent of the art.  Danny Hughes used to use the drop kick out of full back with great aplomb.  Think he was pretty much the last guy at the MFC to use it.

Posted
1 hour ago, Vagg said:

Mono there was a more recent exponent of the art.  Danny Hughes used to use the drop kick out of full back with great aplomb.  Think he was pretty much the last guy at the MFC to use it.

I used to sit and marvel at Tassie Johnson's drops kicks and I've recently thought that instead of having the umpires interpret whether a behind is rushed or not make the full back have to kick a drop kick from any rushed behind it would resurrect  a lost art and coaches would be more inclined to keep the ball in play. 

Long live the taut instep

Posted
1 hour ago, Vagg said:

Are you sure that's right, Barrie?

I reckon Danny played after the drop kick had faded out.

But he could barrel them with a torp. And he was so tough!

Tassie did the big drops.

Posted
14 minutes ago, Jumping Jack Clennett said:

Are you sure that's right, Barrie?

I reckon Danny played after the drop kick had faded out.

But he could barrel them with a torp. And he was so tough!

Tassie did the big drops.

Hmm.  Putting doubts into an old, senile mind, now JJC!  LOL  I must admit I reckon I recall Danny using the drop kick on frequent occasions.  But, I could be wrong.  Can anyone (with a little clearer memory) help us out?

Posted

Very much doubt Hughes used any drop kicks.

• 2 years later...
Posted

Did any other Demonlanders hear Blight on SEN this morning with Gary Lyon?

Seedsman's after -siren torp goal has rekindled interest in my old hobby-horse (as it did when Hunt released a torp bomb way back).

Blight echoed some  points I've made before.

1. With a shot from 65metres after the siren, no-one can make it with a drop punt(assuming no wind). There is a chance with a well executed torp.Coaches ban torps because they're "low-percentage"...a risk. So no-one practises them. If they did practise them, they wouldn't be high risk. KIcking a drop punt from 65m after the siren is a zero-percent option. A big torp might only be a 5% chance, but it's a lot better than nothing.

2.They are fun to practise, and would add variety and enjoyment to training.

3.Even if a torp. "bomb" into the forward line comes off the side of the boot, it should catch opposition backs out of position....a "chaos"ball.  Yes...it might go straight into the hands of the opposition and cause a costly turnover. But how often do we see drop punts go straight to the opponents, but drop punts aren't banned.?

4. For kick ins, occasionally a signal should be made so our players mingle near the centre circle, the kicker should run his 15 m, then let it fly with a torp,which should land in a nest of our players,possibly forward of the centre.    But " it might result in a turnover ", it is argued. But these full time footballers have plenty of time to practise this skill....they're all talented athletes! A "duffed" torp should be the exception.

5.It's inspiring when a player roosts a torp as a "line-breaker". Remember when Frosty let fly last year? The whole team lifted.  Nay sayers will argue...but what about when he turned it over with duffed torps? That's my point....if they're encouraged to practise it, miskicks will be the exception!

Summing it up, Malcolm Blight and I think it's been negligent of coaches to overlook this potential weapon.

Come on Demons, let's have a "torpedo-led recovery".

Posted

Kicking a true torpedo punt requires great skill because the preparation in the hands, the ball drop and the kick have to be in perfect coordination requiring innate timing and execution. It is not as easy as and less forgiving than a drop punt, especially on the run.

I would identify the most stylish and consistent kickers and try to develop their skill starting with short kicks and progressing over time to longer kicks. Use it sparingly as a surprise weapon.

When the skill is mastered, low direct torpedos are an effective short or long pass because they cover the ground slightly faster. The downside is that their trajectory, especially at the end of their travel, can be more difficult to judge for marking.

Posted

Am surprised no team has used them for kick outs.

Posted
On 7/4/2016 at 11:21 AM, Jumping Jack Clennett said:

Some great observations, JJC, particularly the bit about 'torps ... no turnovers...' and for decades, we watched the best footballers seldom mess up a torpedo. What is more, for high-leaping players the ball stuck in two hands of choice very well. The torp does travel when required; the drop punt - over shorter distances - is more accurate, of course. However, my own favourite (being a leftie) was the stab pass - unbeatable in all conditions for all purposes under 50m - the stab did take a little practice but with that, was also terribly reliable in the hands of those so weaned. Bill Barrott was the best I ever saw at that one. 

Posted
On 7/5/2016 at 2:13 PM, Vagg said:

Hmm.  Putting doubts into an old, senile mind, now JJC!  LOL  I must admit I reckon I recall Danny using the drop kick on frequent occasions.  But, I could be wrong.  Can anyone (with a little clearer memory) help us out?

G'day Mr Vagg. I do not recall Danny doing the drop kick at all - he had a long torp and then went into his shell, kicking drop punts. It is most probably not the case, but are you confusing Danny with Tassy? Tassy did the drop every kick-in, well past the centre circle and usually, into the arms of Denis Clark or Hassa. 

Posted
3 minutes ago, Deemania since 56 said:

G'day Mr Vagg. I do not recall Danny doing the drop kick at all - he had a long torp and then went into his shell, kicking drop punts. It is most probably not the case, but are you confusing Danny with Tassy? Tassy did the drop every kick-in, well past the centre circle and usually, into the arms of Denis Clark or Hassa. 

Yeah, Deemania, I really thought Danny was a drop kicker, but got put in my place back when I originally posted.  So, I'm assuming I must just be delusional!  Ah well...

Posted
9 minutes ago, Jumping Jack Clennett said:

I don't think the torpedo short pass is a realistic option, but thanks for considering my(and Malcolm's) suggestions.

I dunno about that, at the precise moment of being sandwiched but two defenders, what was supposed to be a drop punt went horribly wrong for me that day on the Swan Hill oval, and turned into the lowest, wobbliest, horrible-looking farnarkling torpedo over a distance of about 25 metres, However, it hit the chest of the Full Fwd in the goalsquare and was converted to a goal with a simple body twist  I put that one down as something to practice in the future - but never did. We won, so I guess that was all that mattered. 

Posted
2 minutes ago, Deemania since 56 said:

I dunno about that, at the precise moment of being sandwiched but two defenders, what was supposed to be a drop punt went horribly wrong for me that day on the Swan Hill oval, and turned into the lowest, wobbliest, horrible-looking farnarkling torpedo over a distance of about 25 metres, However, it hit the chest of the Full Fwd in the goalsquare and was converted to a goal with a simple body twist  I put that one down as something to practice in the future - but never did. We won, so I guess that was all that mattered. 

Is it on You-Tube!?