Posted
8 hours ago, billy2803 said:

Going to be a let down - when my wife and I were expecting our first child, we nicknamed the foetus "The (Love) Bug".  Just after that Tomas debuted, so he sparked our interest and ended up in Dream Team's, etc.

Sorry it wasn't any better than that...!

Wow, that is weird.

Posted

I've become a huge fan. His positive far outweigh his negatives, and I really like what he brings. 

His chase down bump on Witts in the middle of the ground in the second quarter, and subsequent free kick was pivotal in keeping the momentum going. Real highlight for me. 

Posted
2 minutes ago, don cordner said:

just watched the replay on TV from Monday.

Pretty much all his possessions were rubbish.

NOT A FAN

Go away.

Posted
1 minute ago, don cordner said:

NOT A FAN

Yeah because shutting down one of their most dangerous mids, keeping him to 16 disposals whilst collecting 21 yourself is "rubbish."

learn the game mate

Posted
1 minute ago, SaberFang said:

Go away.

My statement was completely objective mate..

but I can be more direct and say what I really think if you like..

eg. I don't call him Bugg I call him a spud!

Posted
5 minutes ago, don cordner said:

but I can be more direct and say what I really think if you like..

eg. I don't call him Bugg I call him a spud!

Yeah, such a spud. Completely negating the Pies' second most dangerous midfielder, but let's focus on his disposal.

Fair dinkum, you haven't got a clue.

Posted
Just now, SaberFang said:

Yeah, such a spud. Completely negating the Pies' second most dangerous midfielder, but let's focus on his disposal.

Fair dinkum, you haven't got a clue.

Godfrey was good at negating top midfielders. what's your point?

Posted

His work rate is great. To shut Sidebottom down whilst still getting the 20 or so touches we need from a wing is great. And unlike most wingmen he's adept at going in to the clearances and tackling or winning contested ball.

Yeah his kicking is a bit hit and miss but his decision making by foot is usually solid. 

His main weakness right now is being one sided especially by hand. If he gets the ball running to his right he's more likely than not to spin round, slow momentum and get back on his left side. Tyson and Kent have the same issues, pretty standard for left footers. Interestingly Wagner can handball on his right and kick on his left so as long as he has an option he's not so bad. Viney just bulldozes forward.

If we end up with the depth of talent at wing/half back/tagger to force Bugg out of the side we'll have a very good side.

Posted

Sorta like that Sidebum went the early crow by giving him heaps of sht at quarter time, then Bugg wiped him for the rest of the game.

The Sidebum got a dose of the Tommy Bugg - somehow ... poetic! :wacko:

Posted
11 hours ago, billy2803 said:

Averages at just under 75% disposal efficiency in his 77 games to date.

Did acknowledge that I have no knowledge of his leadership abilities, and to be honest, I'm not asking him to be a leader like Kirk, just think their playing style is very, very similar.

Urgh. Come on, Billy.

Posted (edited)

Bugg in this role frees Bernie to play the attacking game he did on Monday.   Last year it was Bernie who did that job quite often, most memorably against his mate Dangerfield!

If Bugg can shut down the opp most dangerous midfielder he doesn't need a lot of possessions and Bernie (or someone else) can run rampant!  The opp can't shut down, Bernie, Nathan, Jack V, Petracca, Tyson and Oliver. Before long even if 2 or 3 of them get off the leash each week it will be a scary midfield.

Bugg is doing a fine job!  May it continue!

Posted (edited)
9 hours ago, AdamFarr said:

Urgh. Come on, Billy.

Point?

I did actually have a laugh on Monday.  According to the radio station I was listening to, at one stage Watts had had 5 kicks and was kicking at 25% efficiency.  Now, I'm not a mathematician, but if he had 1 good kick out of 5, that'd be 20%, or if he had 2 good kicks, that would be 40%.

Edited by billy2803

Posted
11 hours ago, The Song Formerly Known As said:

Yeah because shutting down one of their most dangerous mids, keeping him to 16 disposals whilst collecting 21 yourself is "rubbish."

learn the game mate

Not to mention 7 of Steele's touches came before Bugg put on the hard tag. Always more difficult to stop a player who has had a good start.

Posted
10 minutes ago, ArtificialWisdom said:

Not to mention 7 of Steele's touches came before Bugg put on the hard tag. Always more difficult to stop a player who has had a good start.

He was still Buggs opponent in the first quarter. Got beaten but lifted after that.

Posted
11 hours ago, don cordner said:

NOT A FAN

What did you think of Sidebottom's game?

Posted
58 minutes ago, billy2803 said:

Point?

I did actually have a laugh on Monday.  According to the radio station I was listening to, at one stage Watts had had 5 kicks and was kicking at 25% efficiency.  Now, I'm not a mathematician, but if he had 1 good kick out of 5, that'd be 20%, or if he had 2 good kicks, that would be 40%.

It's a rubbish statistic. DE is a flawed measurement of a player's efficiency, as there are too many factors that can slant it one way or the other.

Posted
3 minutes ago, Watts the matter said:

He was still Buggs opponent in the first quarter. Got beaten but lifted after that.

Aside from his goal i dont think i saw bugg follow him anywhere... so if that was the case then Bugg's first qtr was atrocious Steele was alone a number of times. But take nothing away from the rest of his game he played the rest of the role very well.

Posted

Bugg is a slight improvement on previous taggers like Godfrey and McKenzie, and his shutdown role on Sidebottom was important to our win. I don't mind Bugg playing as a hard tag on the opposition's best outside mid, but week in week out, I don't want a player with poor disposal like Bugg playing in the middle on a regular basis. 

We've achieved the same tagging results with the likes of Viney and Vince, but they can also hurt the opposition the other way. 

Posted
5 minutes ago, AdamFarr said:

It's a rubbish statistic. DE is a flawed measurement of a player's efficiency, as there are too many factors that can slant it one way or the other.

I would like a 'play' efficency stat. So if you start a play that results in a turnover your stats get effected as well as your teammates. Thinking of Tmac playing on in the first qtr trying to step around for no reason then handballing to Bernie under pressure who was tackled as he kicked, turnover, goal. Goes down as effective handball for Tom and Ineffective kick for Bernie when the fault was clearly with TMac.

Posted
15 hours ago, don cordner said:

Here's a bit of objectivity for you.

Shut down the player designated as the opposition's most dangerous player to shut down plus got 21 possessions at 66% DE. Had 3 clangers out of the 21 disposals.

What you think you're seeing and what is happening can be quite different. I thought a lot of Bernie's disposals went to the opposition. In fact he only had 4 clangers and his DE was 78%

Jones DE was 685 with 5 clangers. Felt like a hell of a lot more clangers than that.

Viney was 66% DE and sits on that every week. 4 clangers. 

Don't forget their main roles are to see ball, get ball, get rid of ball, Bugg's is to stop a player first, second and third and if he happens to get the ball great. Sidebottom had 17 disposals.  

Wouldn't objectively call that a rubbish performance. Much more concerned about Viney's DE than Bugg's.

Posted
7 hours ago, AdamFarr said:

It's a rubbish statistic. Dis is a flawed measurement inf a player's efficiency, as there are too many factors that can slant it one way or the other.

So many rubbish stats like that one I agree. The Hawks often dont rate that well In many of any of the publicly available ones, Including that one, yet they're winning the silverware.

They probably dominate kicking efficiency more often than not though which Is hidden In that stat.